We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lightner Farmhouse
Ranked #8 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Beautiful house that is full of history!! Eileen and Dennis were superb hosts!! We stayed in the cottage and loved it!! It's just right outside of town, so you have the privacy. I would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sorsha16258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for The Lightner Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband, mother and I stayed at the Lightner farmhouse for our little getaway. We had a wonderful time. Eileen and Dennis are wonderful hosts. Very friendly, breakfast was fantastic and the cookies were wonderful. Eileen packed some cookies for my mother for our journey on into Washington DC. We had a wonderful time! We hope to go back someday and we will stay with Eileen and Dennis. Thanks again for a wonderful 2 days.

Room Tip: Any room or suite will be well chosen. All rooms are beautiful.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My wife, daughter, and I stayed in the Walnut Cottage March 26, 27, 28, and left on the 29th. The cottage is separated from the main house by an attractive breezeway. The bedroom was spacious with a comfortable king size bed and a comfortable daybed that my daughter slept on. There was an electric fireplace that helped keep the room warm. Downstairs, there was a nice fireplace and a TV. The bathroom was also located downstairs. The place was very clean. It was nice to come back to our room everyday to homemade chocolate chip cookies. We were also offered hot chocolate and teas available in the breezeway. We also had a nice porch to sit on where we would play with Jezebel, their friendly black cat. This porch overlooked acres of attractive fields and woods which we walked. The innkeepers, Eileen and Dennis, were very hospitable and friendly. They served an excellent breakfast every morning and the coffee was fresh and abundant. Betty, their housekeeper, was an added delight! She was very knowledgable about the local ghost lore, and took us on a ghost hunt at the Sach's Covered Bridge. The ghost hunt is a must, if you are making this journey! We had a great time and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you desire a King Size Bed, The Walnut Cottage is what you want.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgtcurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My husband, son and I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Lightner Farmhouse. I can't say enough nice things about our visit----Eileen and Dennis were such gracious hosts. We only wish that we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo-Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Always feel right at home. Close to everything. Love it every time!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Cedar Room at the Lightner for our anniversary on November 4, 2011. Eileen and Dennis were very welcoming. They made an excellent breakfast and had delicious cookies available for us throughout the stay. Our room was very nice, comfortable, and had a electric fireplace that was a nice touch. We were even greeted by Jezebel the cat on our porch. We took the Paranormal Tour with Betty at night and it was great fun. Betty is such a truly nice person and we really enjoyed learning all about the ghosts of the house and talking with her. She took us to Sach's Bridge where we got some unexplainable pictures. I loved that we were able to use KII meters and other authentic ghost hunting equipment. Betty even gave us a CD with all of the pictures that she took. All in all it was a great stay and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Cedar room has it's own outside door and a porch.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midnight1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Just returned from an amazing three days and two nights in Gettysburg. The Lightner Farm B&B was just right for a fun, scary, halloween with my sister and two daughters aged 18 and 20. From the moment we drove down the driveway we were pulled in to the Lightner Farm B&B. The hosts Eileen and Dennis were very gracious and after helping us become familiar with the B&B and the history, they let us make ourselves at home. We enjoyed our roomy two bedroom suite in the attic. Without delay we were introduced to the "ghost cat" that lives in the Pine Suite. The following night (Halloween) we enjoyed a great paranormal investigation with Betty and her daughter Sam. We spent two hours exploring the whole Lightner Farmhouse, as we had the whole house to ourselves! We had several VERY exciting experiences that night and made sleeping a little un-nerving in the beginning but soon we all fell asleep on our comfortable beds. There were so many strange things that happened that it would take too long to explain them all but be warned, if you are looking for a really fun place to experience the paranormal, this is the place to stay. We throughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back again.

Room Tip: If you need extra room as we did with four adult women, the Pine Tree Suite works very well.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
5.7 km away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,072 reviews
5.6 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,548 reviews
5.0 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
886 reviews
5.1 km away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.5 km away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lightner Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lightner Farmhouse

Address: 2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7016
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $199 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lightner Farmhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lightner Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing