We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Gettysburg!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lightner Farmhouse
Ranked #8 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Powhatan, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Gettysburg!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Even though our stay was overnight, we will remember it always. The "farmhouse" is beautiful and well maintained. The historical significant is another big plus. Our room-The Cedar Room-was directly off the side porch; which quickly became our favorite spot. We enjoyed rocking in the chairs while watching the sun go down on a glorious spring day, kept company with Jezabel, the family cat, and got away from all those annoying tech devices that are everywhere today. We also enjoyed our morning coffee there before resuming our travels. However, the most important aspect of our experience were our hosts, Eileen and Dennis. The are so welcoming and friendly. They made us feel very comfortable and just like we were visiting family! Definitely recommend staying here...but just make sure to save a room for us!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    32
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
67
169
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Forest Grove
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Dennis and Ellen will make you feel most welcome and send you off with an excellent meal, maps, suggestions, coupons... as you start your adventures in Gettysburg.

The house is beautiful, private and yet you get to meet great people from all around the U.S.
This historic home is located is close to everything and you can't get lost with their maps and advice. Worth it-very reasonable and personable compared to a routine motel.

Janice Davey

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We spent two nights at the Lightner Farmhouse. Eileen, Dennis, and Betty were so friendly. Staying in the middle of the week in April, we had the whole place to ourselves the first night. We stayed in the Pine Tree Suite and there was plenty of room for all three of us. The basement room with the bar and sofas were perfect for enjoying a bottle of wine at night. Homemade cookies and tea were always available. Breakfast was not only fantastic both days, but Eileen and Betty also talked to us about our visit and things to do, and it felt like having breakfast with family. Our paranormal tour with Betty was very exciting. The Farmhouse is just far enough out of town that it was quiet and not touristy but was only a couple of minutes from the entrance to the Visitor Center and battlefield. We will be back to Gettysburg, and this is where we will stay. The only word of advice is the heater was rather loud in our room, which you can expect in an old place like this. If you're a light sleeper, you may want to bring ear plugs. It didn't bother me in the least, but it woke my mother up several times at night. That being said, the ambiance, the innkeepers, and the breakfasts were more than enough to even that out. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fisher pa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Beautiful house that is full of history!! Eileen and Dennis were superb hosts!! We stayed in the cottage and loved it!! It's just right outside of town, so you have the privacy. I would definately stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorsha16258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband, mother and I stayed at the Lightner farmhouse for our little getaway. We had a wonderful time. Eileen and Dennis are wonderful hosts. Very friendly, breakfast was fantastic and the cookies were wonderful. Eileen packed some cookies for my mother for our journey on into Washington DC. We had a wonderful time! We hope to go back someday and we will stay with Eileen and Dennis. Thanks again for a wonderful 2 days.

Room Tip: Any room or suite will be well chosen. All rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speers, Pa.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My wife, daughter, and I stayed in the Walnut Cottage March 26, 27, 28, and left on the 29th. The cottage is separated from the main house by an attractive breezeway. The bedroom was spacious with a comfortable king size bed and a comfortable daybed that my daughter slept on. There was an electric fireplace that helped keep the room warm. Downstairs, there was a nice fireplace and a TV. The bathroom was also located downstairs. The place was very clean. It was nice to come back to our room everyday to homemade chocolate chip cookies. We were also offered hot chocolate and teas available in the breezeway. We also had a nice porch to sit on where we would play with Jezebel, their friendly black cat. This porch overlooked acres of attractive fields and woods which we walked. The innkeepers, Eileen and Dennis, were very hospitable and friendly. They served an excellent breakfast every morning and the coffee was fresh and abundant. Betty, their housekeeper, was an added delight! She was very knowledgable about the local ghost lore, and took us on a ghost hunt at the Sach's Covered Bridge. The ghost hunt is a must, if you are making this journey! We had a great time and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you desire a King Size Bed, The Walnut Cottage is what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgtcurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield,NJ USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My husband, son and I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Lightner Farmhouse. I can't say enough nice things about our visit----Eileen and Dennis were such gracious hosts. We only wish that we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
5.6 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,444 reviews
5.6 km away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
371 reviews
5.7 km away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.5 km away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
355 reviews
5.6 km away
The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lightner Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lightner Farmhouse

Property: The Lightner Farmhouse
Address: 2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7016
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lightner Farmhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lightner Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing