We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lightner Farmhouse
Nearby Hotels
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
US$209
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$167
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn by Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1863 Inn of Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$155
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
294
34
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
294
34
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalnut cottagecivil warfield hospitalpine roomgathering roomrocking chairsunion soldierscookiesresident catbed and breakfastghost huntingtrundle bedhistoric propertyprivate porchhome away from homegreat hostsgreat history
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 335 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Dennis and Ellen will make you feel most welcome and send you off with an excellent meal, maps, suggestions, coupons... as you start your adventures in Gettysburg.

The house is beautiful, private and yet you get to meet great people from all around the U.S.
This historic home is located is close to everything and you can't get lost with their maps and advice. Worth it-very reasonable and personable compared to a routine motel.

Janice Davey

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We spent two nights at the Lightner Farmhouse. Eileen, Dennis, and Betty were so friendly. Staying in the middle of the week in April, we had the whole place to ourselves the first night. We stayed in the Pine Tree Suite and there was plenty of room for all three of us. The basement room with the bar and sofas were perfect for enjoying a bottle of wine at night. Homemade cookies and tea were always available. Breakfast was not only fantastic both days, but Eileen and Betty also talked to us about our visit and things to do, and it felt like having breakfast with family. Our paranormal tour with Betty was very exciting. The Farmhouse is just far enough out of town that it was quiet and not touristy but was only a couple of minutes from the entrance to the Visitor Center and battlefield. We will be back to Gettysburg, and this is where we will stay. The only word of advice is the heater was rather loud in our room, which you can expect in an old place like this. If you're a light sleeper, you may want to bring ear plugs. It didn't bother me in the least, but it woke my mother up several times at night. That being said, the ambiance, the innkeepers, and the breakfasts were more than enough to even that out. Loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Beautiful house that is full of history!! Eileen and Dennis were superb hosts!! We stayed in the cottage and loved it!! It's just right outside of town, so you have the privacy. I would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sorsha16258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My husband, mother and I stayed at the Lightner farmhouse for our little getaway. We had a wonderful time. Eileen and Dennis are wonderful hosts. Very friendly, breakfast was fantastic and the cookies were wonderful. Eileen packed some cookies for my mother for our journey on into Washington DC. We had a wonderful time! We hope to go back someday and we will stay with Eileen and Dennis. Thanks again for a wonderful 2 days.

Room Tip: Any room or suite will be well chosen. All rooms are beautiful.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2012

My wife, daughter, and I stayed in the Walnut Cottage March 26, 27, 28, and left on the 29th. The cottage is separated from the main house by an attractive breezeway. The bedroom was spacious with a comfortable king size bed and a comfortable daybed that my daughter slept on. There was an electric fireplace that helped keep the room warm. Downstairs, there was a nice fireplace and a TV. The bathroom was also located downstairs. The place was very clean. It was nice to come back to our room everyday to homemade chocolate chip cookies. We were also offered hot chocolate and teas available in the breezeway. We also had a nice porch to sit on where we would play with Jezebel, their friendly black cat. This porch overlooked acres of attractive fields and woods which we walked. The innkeepers, Eileen and Dennis, were very hospitable and friendly. They served an excellent breakfast every morning and the coffee was fresh and abundant. Betty, their housekeeper, was an added delight! She was very knowledgable about the local ghost lore, and took us on a ghost hunt at the Sach's Covered Bridge. The ghost hunt is a must, if you are making this journey! We had a great time and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you desire a King Size Bed, The Walnut Cottage is what you want.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgtcurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews