We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
402
73
5
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
402
73
5
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room third floor within walking distance great location hotel opened best westerns ladies working the breakfast chocolate chip national cemetery steinwehr avenue train museum breakfast staff very clean hotel brew pub in town pickett's charge waffles
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 487 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2017

I visit Gettysburg four times a year or so. I've stayed in multiple hotels. This is a brand new hotel located next to the Lincoln Train building a stone's throw from the field of Pickett's Charge.

The good: Problem free check in and check out. Excellent free breakfast on the third floor overlooking Pickett's Charge with a nice view of sunrise. GREAT location with easy access to the second/third day battlefields. Easy walking distance to multiple options for food and gift shops. You can walk to the battlefield/national cemetery if you like. Plenty of parking in the back of the hotel. Property is brand new, well lit, and well kept. Rooms are fairly large. Fridge and microwave. Bed wasn't the best I've slept in, but it was very good. Staff was friendly, especially the women working the breakfast area. Breakfast is fairly extensive -- waffles, eggs, muffins, hot/cold cereal, juices, sausage (but alas no bacon). Big TV selection; they have Direct TV. Nice selection of drinks and snacks for sale in lobby. They have the place/rooms decorated with Gettysburg paintings. Multiple entrances and you can park very close to the door. (A big difference compared to hotels like the Wyndham in Gettysburg.)

One thing I REALLY liked: They have a place to fill up a water bottle (on first floor near the lobby at the drinking fountains). So bring along your water bottle.

The (not so) bad. Fitness center is tiny (one treadmill) and only open 6-10; I ended up running outside in the dark because I planned to leave before 7 AM. Still, there's a quiet residential area behind the hotel, or, if the sun is up, you can easily run on the battlefield. Also, the fitness center faces the street and morning sun comes through the windows; it can get hot in there. I was on the first floor, and if you leave your blinds/curtains open, people can see right into your room. The free internet worked, but it was a little on the slow side. The sound proofing isn't great; I could hear people walking overhead a lot or talking in the hallway.

The ugly. There was no ugly. I liked this hotel a lot and would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would not want to stay on the first floor again if possible.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alacrity1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Manager at Best Western Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thanks for your stay with us and for your thorough review that is sure to help other travelers! I'm pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Our fitness center equipment includes a treadmill, elliptical, stationary bike, weight machine, and medicine ball and resistance band sets. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2017

Great hotel and location. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful when ask any questions about location. Rooms were well appointed and clean. Hotel relatively new and very accessible to the local venues.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank d0uglasbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017

Great stay for our first time in that area. Centrally located to all attractions. The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff added to the hospitality we would gladly recommend this hotel and would go back

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank maryhC535ZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Manager at Best Western Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Thank you! We are so fortunate to have an exceptional staff of employees and look forward to hosting you on your return trips to Gettysburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017

Great location. Bed was extremely comfortable. Hotel is only 6 months old-so everything at the hotel in good condition. Free breakfast wasn't the best I've ever had but it was edible. Staff in the breakfast area was extremely helpful and friendly. Desk staff was pleasant. No complaints. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Manager at Best Western Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Thanks! You're right- we offer the best location in town. There's no need to drive when you stay with us. Our breakfast menu includes make your own waffles, eggs, sausage, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, assorted breads and pastries, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, juice and tea. If you are looking for more of a restaurant menu there are several restaurants within walking distance that serve breakfast. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017

Wonderful place to stay! The staff and breakfast were great!! The internet worked flawlessly. The location is perfect, located right in the middle of town. We will be staying here the next time we visit.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tammy-Donnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Manager at Best Western Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Thank you! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews