We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Accomodation with Beautiful View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodges at Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodges at Gettysburg
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Farmingdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Accomodation with Beautiful View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

On a lark we scheduled a quick get away to Gettysburg. On the basis of some online reviews, we chose to stay at the Inns of Gettysburg. It was a fabulous choice. On entering the site we were a little nervous....it looked a little desolate due to the lack of rain this summer, and we were the only ones we could see who had checked in. We knew we would be about 10 minutes from town, but were not prepared for how rural the area was where the Lodges are located. We got a little nervous as we drove into the site, but were immediately put at ease by the welcoming staff. You can't imagine how delighted we were with our beautiful, individual lodge. It was beautifully appointed with all the comforts we needed...coffee pot with coffee and tea, microwave, dishes, dishwasher, very comfortable bed. The view over the hills is stunning. To our surprise, when we woke up in the morning it turned out that we did, in fact, have neighbors:) There are about 22 little lodges on site and each one is slightly different. We stayed in one meant for 2 people, but I can easily envision a whole family staying very comfortably in a larger lodge. It was everything we could have wished for and the staff is exceedingly friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeB361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thanks so much for the great review here on Trip Advisor! IT is such a beautiful place and are glad you agree and enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to have you back! Please FAN us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    96
    36
    15
    5
See reviews for
153
171
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Delaware
Level Contributor
150 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the Lodges at Gettysburg for a weekend getaway. We had searched hotels in Gettysburg, but none had decent reviews so we gave this a try. I cannot stress how amazing these lodges were. They are newly constructed, and located in a beautiful, peaceful area. Each lodge of the approximate 25 lodges are named after a state.
We stayed in the NY room which had a main room which was the bedroom, a bathroom and a seperate kitchen area. The furniture was nice and sturdy, definately nothing cheap. The bathroom was spacious, and had a BEAUTIFULLY constructed stone tile shower. The kitchen area had a small table, a refrigerator, and sink. It also had plates, glasses, silverware, storage/mixing bowls and other kitchen items. The kitchen did not have a stove or oven, but you could easily bring an electric griddle and cook in the kitchen if you wanted to. The back of our lodge had a small porch area with adirondack chairs.
Our room temperature was incredibly comfortable. The air conditioning worked well and wasn't too noisy. There was also a ceiling fan with a remote control.
Breakfast was included in the lodging. It consisted of bottled juices, donuts, assorted pastries, and fresh fruit. They make breakfast available after 7pm, so you are able to get your breakfast items the night before, so you don't have to get up early the next morning to get it. If you don't want to get your breakfast in the morning, it is also available in the morning.
Entertainment wise, they have a pond on site, where there is patio furniture and a fire pit located around it. You may also get fishing rods from the main building to enjoy some catch and release fishing in the pond.
If you are planning a trip to Gettysburg, this is definately a better alternative than the hotels in the Gettysburg area. It was clean, comfortable, and definately worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxygurl761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thanks so much for the great review here on Trip Advisor! We agree that we are better thank a Hotel and do anything we can to make our guests feel comfortable and at home! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to have you back! Please FAN us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Having led hundreds of corporate retreat groups over more than 25 years, I have developed demanding standards for facilities used for this purpose. The Lodges at Gettysburg is easily among the very best I have used. Though the facility had only been open for business for five days when I brought a recent group there as a trial, the experience was truly delightful. The quality of the rooms, the variety of activities offered, the magnificence of the views, and the convenience of the location make the Lodges a preferred site for our future groups to the Gettysburg area. The warmth of the staff and eagerness to please and satisfy every one of my clilent's whims was a special bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for the lodges witht he clear views of the valley to the east (toward the battlefield)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thanks so much for the great review here on Trip Advisor! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to have you back! Please FAN us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Lodges last Sunday night and wished we had been able to spend more time there. It is really quite unique and special and such a nice change of pace from a cookie-cutter hotel room. The complex is located on a hill off by itself so is amazingly quiet and private. We were both struck by the attention to detail in the room itself. We stayed in the Michigan which had a lovely kitchenette with plenty of basic supplies and a small table. The vaulted ceilings help the room feel spacious and the lighting fixtures, ceiling fan, area rugs, and furnishings give it a warm and homey atmosphere. The slate-tile-enclosed shower was really beautiful. We especially enjoyed sitting in the Adirondack chairs on the front porch overlooking the valley. The main lodge is gorgeous and would be a fantastic place for any event. The first wedding had been hosted the night before we arrived with chairs still set up by the large pond. Our experience was memorable and hope that yours can be too.

Room Tip: Not all units appear to have a great view, but there's plenty of room to roam and the privacy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjhansen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Beautiful setting! Away from the city, but well-worth the few extra miles. Very quiet, peaceful, relaxing setting on top of a hill overlooking battle grounds. The cabins are brand new and beautifully furnished! Also, hardwood floors, granite countertop in kitchen, large slate walk-in shower. Large flat-screen TV on wall. We stayed with our 2 college-aged kids, they loved it, too. Just a few "complaints" - No ice machine, so we had to buy bagged ice every day. Also, no bottle opener in the cabin. Coffee creamer was a dry powder in a packet, no milk or half-n-half. Breakfast was continental that you can pick up at the lodge and bring back in a basket to your cabin - croissants, danish, muffins, bottled juice. Very nice! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Let me just first say that I can't think of one negative thing to say about this place. My wife, daughter and myself stayed for two nights in Aug, 2011 and had a excellent time and stay. I'm a very picky person when it comes to accommodations and usually stay at places such as Hyatt's or similar. This place was Very Clean and looked bran New, the staff was friendly & helpful. The bed was comfortable, and even the views were Great. Outstanding would be the best way to describe the lodges at Gettysburg. I would not hesitate to return, it was our first time in Gettysburg and we really had an Awesome time visiting. We can't wait to return, MC Phila, Pa.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

While planning a quick getaway, I came across this beautiful alternative to the usual chain hotels.The Lodges of Gettysburg are just that, individual lodges that are rich with amenities and features. Don't let the "lodge" title fool you. These are newly constructed, modern facilities with all the conveniences of any of the best hotels. Some are the size of a small house, all are more than spacious.The furnishings were beautiful with some being actual antiques! The vanity and kitchen counter were high quality granite and the hardwood floors throughout gave the feel of warmth and elegance. The bathroom was large with a walk-in slate shower and closet. An electric wood stove tucked in the corner was a nice touch and added to the decor.

The lodge we occupied (Virginia) had a small kitchen with all the attachments you would need, including wine glasses. Which come in handy when you are sitting in the Adirondack chairs on the back porch watching the sunset over this beautiful valley or enjoying morning coffee. A separate bedroom was just off the main BR which we didn't use. It was equally as nice as the the main room.

Located just outside the boundaries of the Gettysburg battlefield, the Lodges are far enough away from the tourist trappings and bustle of the area but close enough to everything you need, like restaurants. The short ride from town (10 Min.) to the Lodges is beautiful. Passing battlefield monuments, pastures and farms really makes you appreciate where you are. While taking the self-guided battlefield tour, we ducked back into the lodges for a quick break. It was literally 5 minutes away from the national park route. A beautiful lake on the property makes for a tranquil setting and they offer fishing poles for anyone who might want to try their luck.They are putting the finishing touches on the property, don't let that deter you.

They have a reception area in the main building for events but no restaurant yet. We got the tour from the most helpful young lady at the desk when I went down for the complimentary continental breakfast. She gave me the history of the property and the plans. I don't recall the exact plans but I believe it involved wine tasting which will make the Lodges even more attractive. There are a few wineries in the area already which have tasting rooms downtown.
The setting of the Lodges will make it a stop on anyone's wine trail.

Once the Lodges are better known, they will certainly do a terrific business. They are an excellent value for top quality accommodations. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PeggyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
11.6 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
7.3 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
8.2 km away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
8.1 km away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
12.4 km away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Property: The Lodges at Gettysburg
Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-6925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located just under 70 miles from Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Its private modern lodge accommodations are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces, hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing