We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gettysburg National Military Park Museum & Visitor Center
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Gettysburg
from US$8.95
More Info
from US$35.00
More Info
Reviews (5,143)
Filter reviews
5,143 results
Traveller rating
4,231
703
140
34
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,231
703
140
34
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visitor center civil war gift shop great place to start narrated by morgan freeman first stop cyclorama painting degree painting book store starting point gettysburg museum short film bus tour on display pickett's charge eisenhower farm history buff
Filter
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 5,143 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

My wife and I were in the area and decided to stop in and see what the Museum had to offer. Since the Civil War has always fascinated us as a historical event, there was much to learn from this venue.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank LordThomMohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GettysburgFoundation, Gettysburg Foundation at Gettysburg National Military Park Museum & Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Hi, LordThomMohr. We're so pleased you stopped in and had a positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I would recommend starting your day in Gettysburg here. You can take the free bus around to a few stops, or ride the circle. I was amazed how spread out things are. Also save time for the book/souvenir shop. Tremendous amount of items for most budgets & tastes. The guides are knowledgeable about whAt type of tour would best suite your interests. There are also a few free exhibits before you need a ticket, which was just enough for me. I wanted to get out & about .

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank mswanson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GettysburgFoundation, Gettysburg Foundation at Gettysburg National Military Park Museum & Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Hi, mswanson01. Yes, we also recommend that visitors starts their day here. They'll get a refresher on the battle and choose the right trip type for the battlefield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Way to over priced as well as most of Greedysburg, this town has become nothing more then a rip off of people looking for nice weekend, you now have to pay to park on every street.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank hatcreekcattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GettysburgFoundation, Gettysburg Foundation at Gettysburg National Military Park Museum & Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Hi, hatcreekcattle. The Gettysburg Foundation is a non-profit philanthropic, educational organization operating in partnership with the National Park Service (NPS) to preserve Gettysburg National Military Park and the Eisenhower National Historic Site, and to educate the public about their significance. The Foundation provides NPS with funding to preserve the Gettysburg battlefield, care for its monuments, acquire historical artifacts and educate visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

If you love American history and especially interested in the Civil War, this is a great place to spend half a day or more. From the introductory videos to the cyclorama to the 16 rooms of history and artifacts, there’s a lot to do. All the exhibits are tastefully done and extremely well curated. This provides great backdrop to going onto the battlefield tour.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank T8474ZLdavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GettysburgFoundation, Gettysburg Foundation at Gettysburg National Military Park Museum & Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Hi, David. Thanks for visiting and sharing your thoughts with future visitors. There certainly is a lot to do. We recommend setting aside at least a couple of hours to see the whole thing. And, we agree, that guests will be well-prepared for their Battlefield tour after visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

This was my first in what we intend to be a yearly trip with my wife and daughters. Peggy in particular was great and gave us a free map and went through it with us, pointing out different little known things that would help keep my daughters interest. The center was clean, organized and a great start/stop point for a day at the battlefield. The food at the cafe was also good but a bit over priced. We were very happy overall with our experience here

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank ohio08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GettysburgFoundation, Gettysburg Foundation at Gettysburg National Military Park Museum & Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Hi, ohio08. We're happy you had a positive experience. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews