We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
342
101
11
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
342
101
11
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old school no elevator boutique hotel school building pub downstairs tall ceilings high school granite shower king suite the main hotel historic building parking lot rooms are large short walk historic feel first floor mini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 465 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2018 via mobile

Our family recently visited this hotel for two nights. Very cool building (converted historic school), high ceilings, nicely updated (especially bathroom), good location just off the main strip but still walkable (we easily walked to the town square with 2 young children and an infant). We had a 2 queen suite which was very spacious- perfect for a family. We loved the historic feel to this hotel, which is what we were looking for. Our concerns: our room faced the front lawn where huge spotlights shine on the building all night. The blackout curtains do work well but light comes out the top of the huge windows and it was too bright in the room for our family at night (they need those big box type of balances). My son and I both did not sleep well. Ask for a room facing back. Also, because it had been nice out, they shut off the heating system for the entire hotel which then also shut off cooling. It was so hot at night!! We were told to open an window since it was cool outside but we could definitely not do that on the 2nd floor with small children- plus our son sleepwalks at night and we need to always keep our windows locked. The front desk was very nice and I’m sure they would have accommodated a room change to a lower floor, however, with three small children, this would have been more work than it was worth. All in all, we had a nice time and would still stay again,

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NorthStar10696904617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal_Pointe, Owner at Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of the historic Federal Pointe Inn located in downtown Gettysburg. We appreciate you highlighting our great location and easy walk to Lincoln Square / center of Gettysburg. The 1896 school building was the perfect fit for an upscale boutique hotel conversion. As the owner, your feedback is important to me and am happy that your family had a nice time. I look forward to seeing you, if your travels bring you back to Gettysburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2018

We stayed in the Carriage House, it was very quiet, so much so you could hear people talking in other rooms or hear their tv. Other than that, the room and house was clean. Even though it was renovated it still has a historic feel to it. It is close to downtown Gettysburg, my husband and I walked to dinner and the shops. The Pub is a fun addition to the hotel, we got a night cap there, the bartender was fun, and we mingled with other guests there. It was a fun time and I would recommend stopping by for a drink! All in all I would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal_Pointe, Owner at Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for staying at the historic Federal Pointe Inn. We appreciate your review about our Carriage House, our clean rooms, our location in downtown Gettysburg and most of all..... Your fun time at our pub! Again, many thanks for staying with us and recommending Federal Pointe Inn in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018

This hotel is created from an old school. The rooms are very large and decorated beautifully. The staff is exceptional and the rooms are both clean and very comfortable. It is located in a great location. There is a large selection of restaurants within a short distance and some within walking distance of the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, but would suggest a room be selected away from the main road. This did not bother us, but light sleepers could find this to be a problem.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal_Pointe, Owner at Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of Federal Pointe Inn in downtown Gettysburg! As the owner of Federal Pointe Inn, I am honored with your incredible comments about the very large and beautifully decorated rooms, the clean comfortable rooms and the great location of our Gettysburg boutique hotel. Federal Pointe is close to many shops, restaurants and attraction. I look forward to having you stay at Federal Pointe Inn in the future, should your travel plans bring you to the Gettysburg area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

Very nice hotel with very friendly staff. Beautiful large room, clean and large bathroom. Situated in a beautifully restored old school. Perfect! We would recommend this place! Gettysburg is a nice old tien, hotel is close to center.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Erwinv91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

We stayed in a King suite. The room was a good size, the bed and tub were awesome. It was pretty quiet the whole time we were there even though it's in town. There isn't breakfast but they do provide coffee, tea and water. Plus scones in the afternoon. The room had really high ceilings and windows which was cool and you could see where there was a chalkboard when it was still a school. I would definitely stay here again. A nice, neat and convenient place to stay while in town.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kbrob487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews