We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$128
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn by Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Gettysburg)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1863 Inn of Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$169
US$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
41
73
37
39
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
73
37
39
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishing pondgreat campgroundseasonal camperslarge sitesfire pitloft cabintent sitesfull kitchenfront porchgreat weekendgettysburg attractionsthis past weekendvisit gettysburgpoolsbathhousehalloweenpans
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 232 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

My Husband and I decided to do a short camping get away for the 4th of July weekend. We heard Drummer Boy is a huge camp ground but is nice. I will say when I walked in the door for check in, everyone jumped to help me. They were very busy so this was especially nice. We made our way to our site. (50). The site is large and they have spread crushed stone on the roads and the sites. We had plenty of room to back in. Unfortunately when I jumped out of the truck I was immediately struck with the smell of septic. We also had some serious leveling to do.

Everything we were told about the size of the campground is true. You really need a golf cart if you have children and have one of the lower number sites. The activity pool is way too far to walk to with little ones. The activity pool is where the water slide is.

We encountered a few things that had more to do with parents allowing their teens to be unsupervised so they clogged the men's room and run around after quiet hours yelling and screaming. Although security did seem to take care of the loudness matter the next night.

I try to be honest with my reviews and give both the positive and negatives I experience. So to sum it up, we enjoyed our stay and I believe we will return. The staff gets high kudos! They are great! The camp grounds are clean enough with room for improvement in their buildings but the grounds are great. They have a huge number of seasonal campers from the general area.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jasper140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrummerBoyResort, Manager at Drummer Boy Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Hi Jasper. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review from your stay. We are thrilled to read all of your positive feedback! Since you enjoyed your visit so much, we hope that we'll see you again soon. Thank you and Happy Camping!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile

We've camped here for our family reunion several years in a row. The beauty of this place is the wide range of options; tent sites, trailer sites, cabins and cottages, all offering different price ranges and levels of amenities. Some of my older aunts and uncles have no desire to camp, so the full service cottages serve them well, while others of us prefer to tent it. The larger cottages are nice. We have always found them clean and well cared for. The camp sites are ok, but not exactly large by any means. The bath houses are average, slightly grimy toward the evenings but this seems typical for most campgrounds. There are two pools. One with a slide (you have to pay extra to use the slide). The one pool offers a nice gradual incline wadding feature which is great for little kids. They loved it! There is also a little playground that the kids enjoyed. Fishing is also available although not a ton of fish were caught.
The location is very convenient to downtown Gettysburg and the memorial museums.
The staff is readily available and have always been friendly. I didn't notice a large amount of golf carts "flying around" as other reviewers have stated. Just usual maintenance driving around to clean or check things.
Our only real complaint and reason for looking into a new location for our next reunion is the price. It is a little pricey to stay here but if that's not a factor for you, come and you will enjoy your stay!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Oliver1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrummerBoyResort, Manager at Drummer Boy Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Oliver, Thank you for all of the positive feedback about our resort. We are happy to have been a part of your family's amazing reunion memories! Our pricing reflects our amenities, activities, and accommodations - we have SO much to offer! We hope to see you back at our resort again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2017

Stayed at one of the cabins. Have been boing so for five years. The staff is great, the cabins are very nice. I plan on going back. Great place to stay. Never had an issue. The staff was very nice and take the time to address concerns.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrummerBoyResort, Manager at Drummer Boy Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017

Hi Steven! We are thrilled to read your positive review. Thank you for taking the time to give us 5-STARS! We hope to see you back again soon - happy camping!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile

Very clean, quiet spacious campground. Yes there are a lot of golf carts but that is because the resort is so large. Everyone is so friendly! Very close to all attractions in Gettysburg.

We were in the far back of the campground, site 333. Could barely hear the highway & so quiet.

Only drawback is the store and cafe are way in the front of the resort. But, we like to walk and see all the units so not a big deal for us.

They had ghost story tellers, pool party and reenactments while we were here. Very enjoyable!

We camped in a 5th wheel. This was well worth the money!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Hiner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrummerBoyResort, Manager at Drummer Boy Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017

We are so happy that you have such wonderful feedback from your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to leave this awesome review - we really appreciate it. We hope to see you back at Drummer Boy again soon! Happy Camping!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2017 via mobile

I grew up camping but my husband did not so we don't. How to camp without having to buy all that gear? You go 'glamping'. We rented a cottage at this campground that was as if they dropped a hotel room in the woods! Kitchenette, full bath, flat screen, heat/AC in a log cabin small house. We had a lovely front porch complete with bench swings. Being in a campground, unlike a hotel, you get out walking and sitting outdoors by the fire. You have access to all activities the campground offers including 2 pools.
The ONLY drawback were the beds. Basically they took a slab of wood, framed it with logs and placed a mattress the thickness of a stadium cushion. ☹️ Bring a foam top or air mattress and schedule a chiropractor visit for after. Other than that it was an awesome weekend and everyone should go if just once.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrummerBoyResort, Manager at Drummer Boy Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

Thank you for the great review, Lynn! We are so happy to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your stay at Drummer Boy. We appreciate all of your feedback! Hope to see you back again soon! Happy Camping!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews