We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil refuge in a somber locale.”
Review of The Doubleday Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Doubleday Inn
Ranked #11 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glendora, Ca
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tranquil refuge in a somber locale.”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I hope Todd and Christine see our review. Along with almost all of the people who have reviewed this inn, we would not have missed the opportunity. It is not the Ritz Carlton, and that may explain why it is so special. Sure it is old and shows its age but don't we refer to vintage as a plus? When you sit in the living room in the evening with other guests (and often the owners, too) and Molly, the resident Golden Retriever-therapist, sharing experiences and each others' bottles of wine, it hardly gets any better than this. Sure you could sit in Holiday Inn Express for less but you would hardly be likely to visit and get to know the other guests.

The setting near the eternal flame, near the site of the initial engagement that led to one of the most decisive three days in our nation's history is, to say the least, somber. We came back to visit Gettysburg again and brought Tropical Storm Lee with us (we have a way of bringing hurricanes and storms along on our trips). Despite the gloomy skies, frequent rain, and soggy ground, we accomplished almost all of what we wanted on this trip. Doubleday Inn made it that much nicer.

Breakfast each day was very tastefully prepared and served. Great conversation and fellowship and insight about the Gettysburg area was plentiful.

We stayed in the Bell Jefferson and except for the challenge of the tub, it was great. Certainly we have had far nicer rooms in many hotels but the charm of the inn is such that we overlooked the shortcomings.

Only one cautionary note: don't rely on Todd to accurately relate the weather. Only kidding, but he assured us that the TV weather showed clearing to the east as the rain moved west. Headed to Lancaster when we left and drove through some of the hardest rain either of us have ever seen--caused record flooding across a great deal of the state.

In sum, try the Doubleday. You may may find you have friends you never knew you had.

Room Tip: We didn't see all of the rooms but ask Christine; she can give you a real feel for the differenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OGoneAgain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    21
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
113
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My husband (who is a Civil War buff) and I needed a break from the rain and flooding caused by Hurricane Irene and decided to spend a few days in Gettysburg. Since our time was limited, we chose to stay as close as possible, and The Double Day Inn sits right on the battlefield.

We were immediately impressed by our Inn keepers, Todd and Christine who were welcoming and friendly. Todd showed us to our rooms, gave us good information on how to spend our time viewing all the attractions and excellent recommendations for food and dining. I had emailed Christine that I would prefer Gluten free products, and she was very accommodating. As a guest of the Inn, you are given the 2 hour auto self drive tour for the extent of your stay, and that is definitely an added value. There is also a book in your room on Gettysburg's ghost activity, in which The Double Day Inn plays a part. Both Christine and Todd are extremely knowledgeable about the Battlefield and have reference books and anecdotes in tow.

The Inn itself has a warm, cozy, family feeling and because of its location, it draws people who share an interest in history. On Wednesday and Saturday evenings, Charlie Kingston, a licensed historian, visits for 2 hours to answer any questions you might have. Curled up in comfy chairs, it was a lovely way to meet your fellow travelers and to compare notes and adventures.

We stayed in the Iverson room which has views of the battlefield, and you can't help but feel the ironic peacefulness as you see the mist over the fields, monuments and ridges.
The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and there was central air. It was very quiet and relaxing. It seemed a bit odd to have the closet in the bathroom, but that's what made it homey, not prefab. The only quirk, if you like to take baths, is that the tub had no right ledge, so you had to balance yourself with certainty to get out. Shower people have no issues, and I'm sure there are other baths with more leverage.

In the morning, it's the kind place where you get dressed for breakfast and come down the stairs in your socks to see who is up. Coffee was good, the breakfasts were filling and there was always interesting conversation flowing. Definitely a good Inn experience with lovely Inn Keepers who make your stay pleasurable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePutnikovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Matt and I visited Gettysburg during the last week of July this year. This was our first stay in a Bed & Breakfast, and I'm afraid any other B&B we encounter in the future is going to have a lot to live up to!

Getting to the Doubleday Inn was very easy. Upon arrival, we met Todd at the front desk, who proceeded to give us fantastic information about the best way to tour the battlefield and get the most from all of the programs that the National Park Service offers. Best of all, he let us borrow his copy of the Gettysburg Audio Tour.

It was nice to have a little snack (chocolate chip cookies!) before we headed off to tour. Todd knew a lot about local restaurants, and there was a basket of menus in the living room if we wanted to peruse for a bit before deciding on dinner.

We stayed in the Cutler Room that night, and it was so cozy. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. I liked the little sitting area. Nice fluffy towels and a hair dryer were provided, as well as soap, shampoo, etc. The bed was so comfortable, and it was so neat to wake up with a view directly over the battlefield!

Christine served us breakfast in the morning. No exaggeration--my mouth waters now just thinking about it! I have never been able to get Matt to eat breakfast casseroles, but he loved this one! I don't think we left more than a few crumbs on our plate.

After breakfast, Christine and Todd discussed the next leg of our trip with us. We were headed to Mt. Vernon and then Washington D.C. for the remainder of the week. They gave us great tips for those next few days. One great suggestion was that we visit the Hotel Tabard Inn. We went there to celebrate our engagement--Matt proposed to me that week!

The Doubleday Inn is a beautiful, comfortable place to stay. We wished we would have had time to stay and enjoy the beautiful porch and backyard area. As we drove away, we agreed that we would be back, and that there's no reason to look elsewhere for a place to stay.

Thank you, Christine, Todd, and Molly, for helping us create a wonderful memory!

Room Tip: Try reserving online rather than over the phone. We got a discount for doing so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AFB1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gooddog1%
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I booked the Bell Jefferson room for our 17th anniversary getaway. My husband and I love Gettysburg and now we have one more reason to love it- The Doubleday Inn! The Inn is beautifully kept by two gracious innkeepers! The Bell Jefferson has an incredible view of the battlefield from its bank of windows. We felt so very privileged to be housed right on the battlefield! Sunrise and sunset are very special times! Although we did not take advantage of the visiting historian (it WAS our anniversary), other guests shared how very impressed they were with this "perk!"

Breakfasts were absolutely delicious and well portioned-not too much, not too little! And the cookies each day were a delicious treat!

It was a beautiful, quiet (we love that fact that there are no phones or tv's!), romantic and completely enjoyable weekend! We will be back- please tell Molly!
P.S. I did slip her a little bit of my breakfast! It was those big brown eyes!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deecricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This was our first visit to the town of Gettysburg. We were not disappointed! As many have previously mentioned. the inn is located ON the battlefield. The view is amazing and the road is generally quiet. Our hosts were professional, helpful and courteous. Molly-the golden retriever mascot-was quite sweet. Breakfast was a gourmet treat and the cookies in the afternoon were deliciously home baked. Overall-the inn was clean and comfortable in a spectacular location.

It was a wonderful, but not perfect experience. The walls are thin and voices carried. Water pressure was poor and the showr/tub with its high sides was a bit frightening to climb in and out of with nothing for support. The Paul room had a difficult configuration as you have to pass through the bathroom to enter or exit the room. Other issues were not the responsibility oif the innkeepers. Our experience was a bit dampened by a lack of interaction with the other guests. We were the only family and were lodged with all other adult couples (many of whom appeared to be avid history buffs). We were excited by the historian who visited, but were soon disappointed as other guests dominated the presentation with their views, cutting off and confronting the speaker's expertise.

Overall, however, I would love to return-both to this inn and to Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Problems with the Paul room:low ceilings, downstairs bathroom which acts as an exit/entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dznydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This was our first over-night trip to Gettysburg and we'll definitely be back for a weekend stay. The Doubleday Inn was very beautiful and had that B & B charm that my husband and I are finding more difficult to encounter these days. We didn't miss the TV one bit. Christine was extremely helpful in providing us with maps and where to park. She emailed me back almost immediately when we were planning on arriving early and was there to greet us. I can't explain how powerful it was to see the battlefields right out our window (we stayed in the Bell Jefferson room). The views from the home were spectacular, we only wish we had some more time to sit out on the balcony or patio with a bottle of wine to enjoy it! Breakfast was also fantastic! We really enjoy when the innkeepers actually make the meal, serve it (lovely dinning room table), and stick around to chat. The French Toast was delicious. The Doubleday Inn is definitely what we've come to expect in a great bed and breakfast : a warm, beautiful home, welcoming, helpful innkeepers, and a great breakfast!

Room Tip: Doubleday Inn has a great website, check it out for possible deals, location is worth the money and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBgirlMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My sister and I had only one weekend to spend in Gettysburg. Luckily we were able to reserve a room at the Doubleday Inn on the battlefield. This is a well-organized operation owned and managed by Christine and Todd Thomas. Our room was spotlessly clean, quite comfortable, and supposedly haunted by a friendly ghost; but alas, there were no night apparitions during our visit.

In the morning we woke to a misty, tranquil view of the battlefield. After a quiet walk, we enjoyed a scrumptious breakfast prepared by Christine and Todd. Anxious to see more of the Gettysburg area, we left the Inn early, but we surely hope to return another time. The Gettysburg National Military Park with the new Visitor's Center was an exceptional experience. Combine The Park with a night or two at the Doubleday for a rewarding journey. The Doubleday Inn website is very good, and has many suggestions to help plan your trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennsylvaniaViolets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.5 km away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,023 reviews
1.4 km away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
368 reviews
2.2 km away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
4.3 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,477 reviews
2.1 km away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Doubleday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Doubleday Inn

Property: The Doubleday Inn
Address: 104 Doubleday Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8519
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Gettysburg Bed and Breakfast located directly on the National Battlefield! You are literally "up above it all" here on Oak Ridge, overlooking both the Battlefield and the town of Gettysburg. With just 9 rooms and onsite owner/innkeepers, we offer a TRUE B&B experience with exceptional service and personalized attention. Offering gracious accommodations to discerning travelers for over 20 years, we invite you to come see for yourself what all the buzz is about! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Doubleday Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing