We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn by Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Gettysburg)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1863 Inn of Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Courtyard Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
166
24
7
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
24
7
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestseternal flameliving roomjefferson roomauto tour routecookiescivil war buffbreakfast was amazingdietary restrictionswonderful hostsfrench toasta wonderful stayin towngettysburg areachristinecooperbattle
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 206 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Read the fine print, no TV or refrigerator in your room and steps to get to every bedroom. There are other B&B's on the battlefield they are not the only one. Some may be in or near town but they are still considered the battlefield. Location a little to quiet for my liking,kinda like a library. I like a little excitment after all it was a vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2009

I stayed in the Colonel Devin Room – bright morning sun and battlefield views, huge private bathroom. Amiable hosts, great breakfasts and no better location than Double Day Inn.

It is the ONLY B&B right on the battlefield. It is quiet and peaceful (amazing to use that word in that setting - but it is peaceful now) and I recommend this inn for those who want to sit outside and ponder this history changing place from long ago.

You can early morning walk or bike along the battlefield on both sides of this B&B (first day battle). The innkeepers are more than happy to store your bikes when required. They are very helpful and can provide some insight to the area you won’t find in the travel brochures! I would be happy to visit this inn in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BedandBreakfastLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Peace, quiet, serenity and battlefield monuments right across the street...what more could a Civil War buff want? To top it all off, the Doubleday Inn is nicely furnished, supplies a very tasty breakfast, and has a wonderful greeter (Molly, their golden retriever). The Inn Keepers (Christine and Todd) were warm and helpful both via e-mail and in person. They helped us arrange Segway Tours of the Battlefield and gave us great advice on things to do around the area. We had 2 charming rooms during our stay (O'Neil and Paul). While we didn't have any ghostly encounters in the Paul room, visitors should be warned that navigating the staircase down to the large bathroom can be tricky. The Inn also supplies free internet access and a computer/printer to print out boarding passes if necessary. A great bonus: the Inn has a Historian on Wednesday nights who talks about and answers questions about this epic battlefield. That experience alone made our selection of the Inn worthwhile!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woostein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Stayed there Oct. 2008 for the first time and forgot to post my review; going back later this year so decided to catch up! Located right on the battlefield, quiet and peaceful, beautiful grounds, excellent hosts and we loved their dog Molly. Breakfasts were ample and delicious - the baked honey crisp apple recipe was to die for. Our hosts arranged a private tour with a Licensed guide and they also had a historian visit one evening; he spoke for a couple of hours - so informative and gave us opportunity to ask questions. We enjoyed sitting in the living room in the evenings visiting and reading - very homey and inviting. Our room was small but immaculate with a huge private bath - no tv - that was a good thing and we knew about that in advance - bring your laptop or other media if tv is important to you. My only suggestion would be to have locks on room doors so when you leave you can lock stuff up (locks from inside when you are in room, but not when you leave) - but there were no problems as guests respected closed doors. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pandg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Doubleday and had a wonderful time. The room (O'Neill) was meticulous, but a tad small. My husbands feet were hanging off the bed (he is 6ft) and the shower was way tight for both of us. For the price, I am not complaining, just maybe they should mention that this room is tiny on their website. The Inn keepers Christine & Todd are extremely helpful. Upon arrival, we got a car tour CD to go through the battlefield with. This was really a great way to get a grasp of the history at each location. They had a historian do Q&A's on Sat night, and I believe he is there twice a week. To top it off, they had a wonderful breakfast with every detail covered (delicious food & candlelight). They also had the cutest golden retriever Molly. The location is stellar and the innkeepers were very sweet and accommodating. If we ever get back to Gettysburg, we will hands down stay here.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kellyjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews