We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Wasington Township
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We have been traveling to Gettysburg for the past several summers and would not stay anywhere else! Our teenage boys love the proximity to all of the shops and the battlefield. We are able to let them wonder on their own. You are in the heart of everything! We even took advantage of the New Year's Eve festivities in Gettysburg this year and again stayed at the 1863 Inn. The staff has been wonderful each time and you can not beat the breakfast they make available to you. The rooms are clean and perfect for us as a family. The pool is also an added treat after a day of touring. We are part of the Loyalty program which saves money as well. Now planning our trip for the 150th celebration next summer!

Room Tip: We love staying in the front of the hotel so you can see all that is going on in town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for posting a review for us! We are glad that you enjoy your visits. Our Loyalty Program is very popular. We started the program to show our appreciation to our repeat guests. We now have over 1300 members. It does save you money every time you stay and there are no black out dates-if we have a room you get the rate! We knew when we decided to drop the Holiday Inn Franchise that there may be some hesitation to stay at an independent property. We continue to offer the same well appointed, clean rooms at a resonable rate. The Free breakfast is a big hit-great for families on a budget. You can't beat the location of the hotel. You can walk to most of the attractions which is a big plus as parking can be an issue. We hope that you will continue to think of us as your home away from home-your "Gettysburg Address!" Thank you again for the wonderful review. Please give us a call to check availability for next year. It will be a very busy, exciting time here. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    264
    113
    33
    11
See reviews for
304
313
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

It's old, and in need of renovation. The staff was friendly, and the internet worked...part of the time. If you're traveling with dogs though, this is the place to go. It's a very pet friendly hotel.
My room was clean, and the bed comfortable. That said, I can't complain because the price was cheap. I certainly got what I paid for.
Breakfast is mediocre. The saving grace is that directly across the street is a dinner, with a very good breakfast, at a reasonable price.
If I were traveling with dogs, this would be my choice. Otherwise, I'd select someplace else.

Room Tip: Traveling with dogs...this is your place. They're welcome all over the property. In fact, Gettys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travels46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us. We were glad to hear that the room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. You are correct when you say that the building is older. But the property is well kept. Our rooms are clean and well appointed. We have all the extra goodies that you have come to expect at a big name hotel. We have just completed a renovation project of 25 rooms-all new paint, carpet, bedding and drapes. Our maintenance and housekeeping staff does a wonderful job keeping our rooms clean and everything in good working order. We provide a clean, comfortable room at a decent rate. Our Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast is a big hit with our guests. We feel that we offer a wide variety of items both hot and cold. Usually you don't find a free breakfast with the selection we offer at a non-franchise hotel. We know how important it is to stay competitive with those bigger franchise hotels. We do not cut corners when it comes to customer service. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable stay. I do apologize for the sporadic internet signal. The hotel is poured concrete which can cause issues with the signal at times. We hope that you will consider us again for your lodging needs if you are back in the area. Have a wonderful summer and thank you again for the review.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed two nights at this hotel. Check in went quickly and the staff was friendly. We were in the Annex the last room. We opened the door and at first glance all looked good. When we turned on the sink in the bathroom their was a sewer/sulpher smell. Maintenance came and they said it was fixed. My husband and I went out for diner and when we came back the smell was still there. It was late and we were tired so we did not ask again for maint. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were the worst. They were foam with no cushion. We called and asked for feather pillows and told there were none. However the second night there they found some. At 12 PM our first night the people in the next room woke us up and were very loud. We called downstairs twice. The Front Desk clerk was frustrated we called again and said he was doing the best he could, seemed like he did not want to deal with it. Anyway we did not get a good night sleep. The second night was better as there was no noise and suddenly out of the blue we got different pillows. The location was ideal, the front desk friendly. We loved having a ceiling fan. Breakfast was ok. We would probably try a new place if we went to Gettysburg again. PS. We were told when reservations were made that it was quiet in our room but not true the walls are paper thin.

Room Tip: Not in the Annex as you can hear your neighbors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindafromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I apologize for any issues you may have had during that stay. Our goal is to make sure that all of our guests enjoy their visit. Apparently we fell short of that goal during your stay. I am not sure what the sewer smell could have been. There were no complaints from the other rooms in the building. They may have been flushing the lines in our area. As for the pillows-we do have a few feather pillows. They may have been used by other guests during your first night and available the second. I am sorry for the noise from the other guests. The Annex Building is stick built. Not as quiet as our main building which is poured concrete. I am glad to hear that the room was clean and the mattress comfortable. The mattresses are new in that building. Thank you again for the review. We use the information from these reviews to improve our service. We hope you will consider visiting with us again if you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We had car trouble in Gettysburg on a Sunday evening and had to find a place to stay that accepted dogs. This place is awesome. The desk staff was very accommodating. We were able to have a late check out on the day we left as our vehicle wasn't ready until later in the day. Then we hung out with our 2 dogs in the lobby for about 2 hours. The staff loved our dogs and the owners son, who has a business across the street came over to meet the dogs.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us. We certainly appreciate it! These reviews are very important to us. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We all love our furry guests! The owner, as well as his family, love animals and we are big supporters of our local SPCA. We host their annual fund raising Gala every year. We provide the food and the staff volunteers to serve the guests. We all enjoy it and it helps our local shelter.
We hope that you will be able to visit us again under better circumstance. Having car trouble away from home is no fun! We are glad that we helped make it a bit less stressful for you. Thank you again for the kind words! Have a great Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I am a frequent visitor of this hotel. Its clean, has a great staff, nice free breakfast and is in a great location. They are located within walking distance to many things like the visitors center, shopping and Jennie Wade house. They have a nice Loyalty Program. Its $2 to join and has great benefits for frequent visitors like myself. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn9879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We appreciate hearing that you enjoy your time with us. You are right-our "Loyalty Program" does provide great savings for our repeat guests! We have over 1300 members! We hope that you will continue to visit with us. There are so many things to see in Gettysburg. It is a beautiful little town and very friendly! We love our visitors here! Hopefully you will be able to join us for some of the events being planned for 2013-the 150th Anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg! It should be a most exciting time! Thank you again for the review. Those reviews mean so much to us. We look foward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I have been to Gettysburg many times over the years. I have stayed in several hotels and had a favorite at one time. This was before staying at the 1863 Inn at Gettysburg. The staff there is always friendly and will help in any way they can to make your stay comfortable. The rooms are clean and the stmosphere is welcoming. I am happy to say that this was not a one time experience. This same warm and welcoming atmosphere has been at the hotel over the past several times we have visited. The location of the hotel is withing walking distance of most of the attractions in the area. I would highly recommend that you stay at the 1863 Inn at Gettysburg the next time you are in the area. It is an experience you will always cherish.

Room Tip: Rooms on the extension are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that you have enjoyed your visits with us! We certainly appreciate it. It is very rewarding to know that we have done a good job! We have many repeat guests and love seeing them return time and time again. With so many other lodging options in our town we know how important it is to exceed our visitors expectations. We hope that you will contniue to consider us as your favorite stop over spot when you are in Gettysburg! We love to make people happy!:) Thank you again for the wonderful review. See you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The most comfortable, perfectly placed, professionally staffed hotel I've ever encountered. Positioned in the heart of the Civil Wars largest restored battlefeild, the 1863 Inn has always been the place to go when in anywhere near Pennsylvania. They not only are located in the center of the battlefeild but well within walking distance to local merchants, licensed battlefeild guides, outstanding resturaunts, and even have a pool for the hotest of days.....The staff have a clear knowledge of all local events and their locations. The rooms are super clean and comfortable, breakfast served is perfect for those who want to get out and see all the sites.....I stay there at least 4 to 5 times a year and will do so this year........Do not miss out on this hotel for the mostcomfortable, enjoyable, learning experience you'll NEVER forget.

Room Tip: All rooms are great..........the rooms in the back are away from street noise but the rooms in the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoy your visits with us. Guest satisfaction is our main goal. We provide a clean, comfortable room at a resonable rate. We are proud of our hotel and our staff. We realize that there are many lodging options available in Gettysburg. We know how important it is to stay competitive with the "big name" hotels. We offer all the extra goodies that our visitors expect-iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, free internet service, outdoor pool, refrigerator in each room, and our Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast! Plus the best location in town! Just park your car and walk to mostly everything. 2013 will be a very busy time here in Gettysburg-150th anniversary of the battle. We hope you will be able to join us for some of the events. Thank you again for the kind words. We look foward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.6 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
3.9 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,446 reviews
0.8 km away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,486 reviews
4.7 km away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
543 reviews
0.1 km away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#17 of 27 in Gettysburg
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Property: 1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Address: 516 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2605 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing