We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, good location, bit pricey for room and average service, warm room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elliott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Elliott
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, good location, bit pricey for room and average service, warm room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Would not have stayed here, but last minute decision as husband was not feeling well enough to keep driving. Nice hotel and location but not worth the $160 we paid. Room was warm without A/C, that interrupted our sleep. Nice bathroom, kinda crappy shower. Weird bar downstairs but really cool bartender Ingrid. Probably would not spend that much on this experience again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    126
    28
    16
    13
See reviews for
37
233
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed two nights and overall it was a positive experience and likely our choice when return. Excellent location with only two downsides, first is parking (especially when it is pouring). At $250 per night a valet would have been appreciated as walking many blocks in the rain was not appreciated not were the lack of umbrellas at the hotel. second is price. They are a bit steep for what you get, but the old saying, location, location,location is the driver. Sunday market right outside the doorway and walking distance to just about all we needed says it all!
LOVED the heated bathroom floors and little fireplace :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnystone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I enjoyed my stay. It was peaceful, and the beds truly are wonderful. The shower is fantastic (although half of the door fell off the roller and I had to get it back together while actually in the shower), and the heated bathroom floor is a nice touch. That said, it still felt a bit overpriced to me. The breakfast was disappointing. I've had better at a Holiday Inn Express. The weekend wine bar is nice, but pricey. One really cool feature is the ability to enjoy your wine on the rooftop, however there is no lighting so it's kind of dark up there. I think it could be a fabulous experience with some upgrades in the ambience department. The parking situation can be a bit dicey, especially on Sundays. The positive flipside is that the lack of Sunday parking is due to the street being used for a community Market. You literally walk out of the lobby into the market. I thought that was cool.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aguman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

The room had all of the amenities you'd expect and was extremely comfortable and clean. The bath had a heated floor, very welcome in the morning. The bed pillows were very comfortable, as was the bed and the room decor reflected the original hotel with reproductions. There was plenty of room for a computer and the hotel provided quality teas and coffee with a coffee maker. The hotel had a rooftop deck to view the Astoria Bridge, Columbia River, etc and was a block from the river walk to watch the sunset. The only negative was breakfast which was mostly carbs and no brewed decaf coffee although there was a tea bag type decaf available. Overall, the Elliott was a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: There are only 22 rooms and suites in the hotel but I requested a quiet room and received exactly th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoosierbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We had a great stay at the Elliot. The room we stayed in was actually a suite so we did upgrade but the room was very nice and spacious. I walked past a standard room that had its door open I do not think I would have enjoyed our stay as much there. The decor in the suite was very nice with flat sceen TVs in both the living area and the bedroom. The living room also had a fireplace that would have been greatly enjoyed if it was not a very hot weekend already. As mentioned in other reviews, this hotel does not have air conditioning but that would only be an issue on the rare hot day. The room did have a ceiling fan that did a decent job of keeping it cool. The room was quite and even with a Sunday farmer's market setting up in the early morning the noise was kept out by double pain windows.

The breakfast was just OK, definately below par for the room rate. The deck on the top floor has spectacular views and is great place to enjoy the sunset.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WCDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Texas
Level Contributor
259 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We've stayed at the Hotel Elliott a few times in the past, and it's still as great as ever. Since we knew we'd only be in the room to sleep, we decided to get the regular size queen room rather than one of the larger rooms. It is quite small compared to other hotels that cost the same amount per night. We were on the street side and it was noisier than usual...so I'd recommend trying to get a room on the other side.
However, all in all, this is a beautiful hotel which has been restored, and they do indeed have "wonderful beds".

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lggg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We recently stayed at the Hotel Elliott and unfortunately, the hotel did not meet our expectations for a $200 price tag. We stayed in room 408 which I would definitely not recommend, especially on a Saturday night during the summer months! The room did not have air conditioning (although there was a ceiling fan). Unfortunately the windows did not have screens, and due to the unbearable heat in the room, we were forced to leave them open all night. The hotel is right in the heart of the Sunday market, which would be wonderful if you have a room with a/c, but we were forced to listen to the set up of the market from 6am onwards!

One of the room 'features' is the heated bathroom floor, but if your room is an oven, that isn't exactly a welcome addition!

Our other main issues were that the bed in 408 is supposedly a queen, but is MUCH smaller than any queen I have ever slept in before. Lastly, the room did not have a wardrobe. I have never stayed in a hotel room before which did not have a wardrobe or sufficient hanging space for clothing. I went to speak to the front desk staff about this issue and the concerns we had about the heat in the room and the response I received was simply 'it's a boutique hotel.' As other people have commented, the staff seem the believe that the word 'boutique' is a way for them to get out any issues people have with the rooms!!!

In summary, the location of the hotel, the deck, and the wine bar are great. The breakfast is average, but the lady who works in the breakfast room is very friendly. I am sure the rooms with a/c, decent sized beds, and wardrobes are wonderful, but whatever you do, don't stay in 408!

Room Tip: Do not stay in 408. Call ahead and check your room has a/c and a wardrobe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gorricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1313, General Manager at Hotel Elliott, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us.
Meeting our guest’s expectations is a number one priority to us. One of the challenges with our “Historic” hotel is the lay-out and functionality of our rooms. We do offer a collection of suite rooms that vary in sizes and amenities. When planning your next trip to Astoria, give us a call and we will be happy to give you the details of our other room options.
We do appreciate your positive comments about our location, rooftop deck and the wine bar and thank for expressing those.
Thank you again for your input and we hope to have a second chance to meet your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.7 km away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.2 km away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#7 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
1.9 km away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#9 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elliott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elliott

Property: Hotel Elliott
Address: 357 12th St, Astoria, OR 97103-4119
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#5 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elliott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic hotel is located in downtown Astoria and has most of the modern day amenities and all of the old time charm. Features 32 guest rooms and suites-all luxuriously appointed with heated bathroom floors and "Wonderful Beds." Some rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Stroll out the door to restaurants, museums and the riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Elliott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott Hotel Astoria
Hotel Elliott Astoria, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing