We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Cannery Pier hotel was a perfect base for the start of our trip down the Pacific highway. The service was second to none and the spacious room and beautiful communal areas were so close to the river you could have reached in and grabbed a fish, like a bear. We very much enjoyed our stay in Astoria, largely thanks to the efforts of the hotel staff to make us feel so at home. It is a beautiful hotel in a charming town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

921 - 927 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

We only managed a one-night stay at Cannery Pier Hotel, but it was very nice. The room was large and, of course, right on the water. Even had a fireplace and little deck. Staff was great. We'll be back, but I'll bring my own pillow. The bed was really comfy, but the lumpy polyester pillows were a disappointment.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chilegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannerypierhotel, General Manager at Cannery Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for bringing this pillow issue to our attention, an issue we have just addressed recently in another Trip Advisor comment. We apologize for not having enough feather pillows during your visit with us. We now have a complete selection of pillows of all types for our guests. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have stayed many times at this hotel. The staff especially SPENCE are absolutely wonderful. The rooms are well appointed with a great tub. The continental breakfast has a great variety (but coffee is just ok so I had tea instead) and the views are what make this hotel. The one area needing improvement are the pillows we asked for feather but there was only one available in the entire hotel? This greatly affected my sleep as well as my husbands since the pillows we were given were incredibly lumpy and uncomfortable. Really wanted to give 5* but considering the uncomfortable nights sleep had to give 4... the beds however are wonderful. overall great hotel and would recommend as best in astoria.

Room Tip: like first floor closer to water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannerypierhotel, General Manager at Cannery Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

We are deeply apologetic that we did not have enough feather pillows on hand during your visit. We now have a complete selection of pillows of all types of our guests. We are continually updating and upgrading our hotel to provide our guests with the extraordinary experience they have come to expect from us. We have taken your comments to heart and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The value of the Cannery Pier Hotel really depends on ones expectations.

#1. Stayed on a Friday and the rate was above two hundred dollars for the night.
#2. We usually stay resorts like the St. Regis, Cosmopolitan, Mandarin Oriental, and Palazzo - all cost "LESS" and offer far more for your dollar.
#3. Nothing horribly wrong with this Hotel - but ask to see a room BEFORE booking - then visit its nearby competitors and save yourself $100 a night.

Service was excellent but like other reviewers mention, nobody really knows why the Cannery Pier Hotel charges up to $100 a night "more" than the surrounding hotels. The hotel and rooms, while quiet, are not really that clean and are only a minor upgrade from what you would expect at a Holiday Inn, or Sheradon hotel.

The walls in the Cannery Pier Hotel rooms are painted an icky yellow urine color and the carpets are worn and stained. The workout room is small offers few machines (3 or 4) and stuffy (open the window and use the fan) because it is located next to the sauna room.

As for location and view - it is great, but ALL the water front hotels in Astoria offer a similar view of the water and bridge give or take a few hundred yards. Again not worth the money.

If the Cannery Pier Hotel drops in price $100 a night to $150 or less - sure give it a shot. Other wise save your money and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Not a good value - ask to see a room BEFORE booking - then visit other nearby hotels. Save your mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JasonTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I'm so happy we checked this hotel out. I love it. We were pretty "weathered" from a day at the oregon beach and instantly when we came in were received by a very warm staff inviting us to their wine and cheese they offer every evening. Later that evening they baked cookies and put them out for their guests. The wonderful smell brought me down in search of the source from the 3rd floor.
The staff were all very friendly,down to earth, accommodating and most important happy! Which just shows how important it is to them that their guests have a above experience. I wish I had caught the mans name but he was so wonderful and seemed to be jack of all trades. We think the manager maybe or owner? Someone who loves that hotel. He was beyond good at making sure everyone was having a good experience and in such a understated humble way that u might not even notice how hard he worked to give the guests that experience.

They even set us up in a wonderful king size suite with fireplace, a balcony overlooking the Astoria bridge and the mouth of the Columbia special- for our anniversary. The room was very nice. Awesome huge clawfoot bathtub that was amazing. Our experience from our room has left us wanting a king size bed and the exact bathtub for our next investments. The hotel is clean and they have remodeled it in a very nice understated way that stays in the theme of our beautiful pacific nw and doesn't take away from the natural beauty. Oh and their CH vintage car that was a '52 cadillac was very cool and all original inside. We didn't use the creative car service but will next time. Also the food they offered was great. The cont.breakfast was even more than I have had anywhere else I've stayed. We were late grabbing anything(after 10am) and they still had really good fruit, maple donuts and Danishes left etc. I've never encountered that that late in the morning.(or hardly ever anytime).
I have really only good things to say. Even their shampoos etc are the pharmacopia organics brand which I love.

The only complaint my husband and I had was that we weren't staying two nights. We will be referring our friends and family as well as coming back for years to come!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimcheelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Not exactly inexpensive but a nice treat during a 2 day torrential downpour. Large room with views of the water and binoculars to bird watch. Antique Cadillac and driver available to drop you at local eateries.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Very quiet and relaxing hotel, all rooms seem to have a nice view onto the water, with bridges and boats passing by. We brought our dog, and we loved that the hotel made that so easy. There's a generic buffet breakfast in the morning, which we skipped (head over to the Columbian or the Blue Scorcher instead!), and apparently some wine in the afternoon, which we also skipped. Everything about the room was great--my only complaint would be that the hotel is not really walkable to downtown Astoria. Would definitely stay again...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
1.0 km away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
763 reviews
3.7 km away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
1.8 km away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#7 of 14 in Astoria
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: $237 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier
Cannery Pier Hotel Astoria, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing