We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming in with amazing garden!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose River Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Astoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming in with amazing garden!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

My sister and I stayed here for a night while traveling through the area, and we both loved it. The house has a great view of the river and town, and the owners' keep an amazing garden. We had the attic room, which was nice and roomy for the two of us (and we both had our own room within that room, which was a plus.) Both beds were comfy, the shower and claw foot tub were good, and the house was immaculately clean. The sitting area in the room was a nice bonus. We both loved the collectables decorating the place too. The owners were also nicely accommodating of my dislike of eggs when it came to breakfast (though my sister loved the quiche). Astoria is nice too, we both wish we had scheduled more than 1 day there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brickofcontrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    25
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
98
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at the Rose River Inn in October of 2011 and had an absolutely wonderful time! The Inn is very charming, immaculate and the view is awesome! The hot beverages on the stairs when you wake up - the best! Fresh fruit and freshly baked quiche for breakfast - yummy! And, the view of the water and the ships while you eat- amazing! Pam and Dave are the ultimate hosts. Not only are they very knowledgeable about the area and its history (the Inn itself is 100 years old!), but they make great recommendations for food and beverage stops. Astoria is beautiful! The column (the view is unbelievable!), maritime museum, lighthouse - so much to do and see. We've stayed at other Bed and Breakfasts, but this one tops them all!! We're already planning another trip. Looking forward to seeing Dave and Pam and the Rose River Inn again soon. Manny & Cheryl

Room Tip: The room with the sun porch and view of the harbor is well worth paying extra for! All the rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

The Rose River Inn is a cozy and charming craftsman home nestled up the hill from downtown in walking distance. Pam and Dave were extremely polite and were available for any needs providing literature, directions and suggestions. Our room had a comfortable king sized bed and big claw foot tub with a European style shower (with a tub like that why waste it on a shower!). We enjoyed the selection of over 600 movies alongside the fireplace in our room. Breakfast served at 8:30 with the other guests all talking about our adventures over assorted fruits, coffee cake and a wonderful casserole. The lower level of the house has a large living room to sit and relax with bright windows to view the flower filled garden and the Columbia River. The price is quite reasonable considering the week before I stayed at a hotel in Portland for $50 more and wasn't near as comfortable, charming, no breakfast available and noisy people up and down the halls all night. We are looking forward to visiting The Rose River Inn again and staying more than one night. It was tough to leave after such a relaxing visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTravelingTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
191 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Pam and Dave were incredibly nice and very helpful. We stayed on the top floor. Had a huge room and a nice cozy nook where we had a glass of wine before walking downtown. As we were leaving for our evening meal, Pam and Dave were busy covering all their flowers and roses with netting. Dave told me they had deer that love to munch on the flowers. Sure enough, the next morning Dave spotted a deer across the street. Breakfast was great - started with a large bowl of fresh fruit and we then had a Mexican egg dish with guacamole and tortilla chips on the side. Unusual and tasty. It was then followed by a warm light and airy chocolate brownie dusted with confectioners sugar. Great way to start the day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laney98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We have stayed at this B&B a couple of times now. Pam and Dave are very attentive and friendly. They share tales of the history of the area. Breakfast was well balanced with a large serving of fresh fruit, fresh eggs, fresh veggies and sweet cake. When Pam overheard me tell new friends that I didn't like mushrooms, the next day she served up my breakfast minus mushrooms. Another night I was a little cold so I used a throw blanket on the bed. When we came back after a day out, my bed was made up and she had given me a big snuggly comforter to keep warm with. The yard is bursting with beautiful flowers and the weather was nice enough for me and my sister to visit outside. The bathtubs are roomy and inviting. Three of us staying at the inn that weekend endulged in relaxing soaks. The rooms and common areas are super clean. The brewery down the street has good beer and good food. No need to drive downtown. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jowalnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Dave was friendly enough but Pam was aloof from the start (she reminded me of my 9th grade Latin teacher). We asked about hiking trails and she simply referred us to the literature in the living room. When we changed our plans from 4 nites to 3 because of weather and family issues, she became cold and rude; we never felt welcome (a smile and thank you would be nice). As we checked out and gave her feedback, she finally mentioned that reservation changes required a 1 or 2 wks notice. If she'd simply told us that initially, we would have stayed the 4th nite. Breakfasts were quiche, quiche and quiche...in modest portions. The home was very clean and had interesting antiques. The bathtub looked inviting but it's not ok for folks with back, knee or shoulder problems...way too hard to get in/out.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rco000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed one night at the Rose River Inn and found it absolutely perfect. We were in one of the rooms facing the Columbia River and the views were great. The Inn keepers were very helpful; referred us to a great restaurant and really cool antique store in town. Breakfast was very nice; we ate way too much because it was so good. And the house....what a really cool old house in great shape. We would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2.0 km away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.2 km away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#7 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#9 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose River Inn

Property: Rose River Inn
Address: 1510 Franklin Ave, Astoria, OR 97103-3718
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftman style house, walking distance to the downtown and Columbia River. 5 rooms all with private en-suite bathrooms, some with river views. Full breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Rose River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose River Inn Astoria, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing