We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
104
50
11
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
50
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews screen door regular room mcdonald observatory small pool excellent breakfast and lunch nice market normal hotel rooms road noise road trip lodging options big bend beds were comfortable ft davis enjoyed our stay west texas in town morning coffee
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 170 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2016

I don't want to give this hotel a negative rating because it was clean, they were friendly, the bed was comfortable, etc. It was also old, dated and the bathroom was tiny, our knees hit the door from the commode. It served us well, we got a good nights rest. When traveling in this area there are not tons of choices, no Best Western's, etc. this hotel got the job done.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randallsvtc, Owner at The Stone Village Tourist Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2016

We appreciate all our guests and strive to create a good experience!

Travel Tip- The Renovated Motor Court is just that- a 30's era building that was gutted and put back together, so yes, it is dated.
Room #4 is the smallest of all the traditional motel rooms. The bath is a European style...also called a water closet (very tiny) in some parts of the world. This room is also the least expensive at $75/nt which makes it ideal for someone passing through.

Room #8 is a large 2 Queen room with toilet and walk-in shower. Not much room in terms of space for changing clothes, but the majority of our guests (4 or more occupancy) don't seem to mind. Very large floor space makes it ideal for 5-6 people w/rollaway.

When booking here for the first time, it might help to call to get a better description as the photos can be deceiving in terms of perspective and space.

Thanks Leah for your patronage! Hope to have you try one of the other rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2016

Fort Davis is definitely worth a stopover, and this place was ideal. It's not glamorous or trendy, but it's comfy, clean, and has everything you need -- even a pool! We stayed in the queen suite, which has a microwave, coffee maker, and mini fridge. It also had cable with HBO, which was a nice treat to relax with a movie after a long day of hiking. It's an easy walk to the shops in town, and there are interesting rock formations just a couple blocks away. It's also dog friendly!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2016 via mobile

We had 2 rooms in the back for 2 nights. Not perfect but we really enjoyed our stay. Decor was pleasant; bathrooms were fairly modern. Plenty of hooks. The courtyard and pool area are quaint. I loved the Adirondack chairs (although I prefer not looking at my car). It was convenient to pull right up to the room. The rooms were well sound proofed too! Office staff was very friendly and gave us an immediate positive impression of the town). We walked in to town every night. Fort Davis is such a pleasant town. While we didn't stay in camp rooms, they did look quite comfy.

Recommendation: replace the showerhead. It was a bit rough (#7).

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank txbucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2016

It is like back in the 50's styling, but it served us well. We were tired and it offered us a clean room (we stayed in the new part facing the highway so it was noisy until dark, then it got completely quiet) small fridge and microwave, tv and wifi. Shower, toilet area is tiny and cramped, but the bed was comfortable and at that point that's all that mattered.

Room Tip: The older part is set off the road around the pool. The "newer" part faces the road, but you can park right in front of your room.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank midlandtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2016

The front desk staff was very friendly and it seems they put a good effort to making the rooms clean and presentable, but despite their efforts, it just can not make up for the dated look and feel of these accommodations.
-Despite 3 separate calls to the front desk to confirm the Wi-Fi password we could not get access
-The AC/heater did not work (and it was cold in Dec!)
-The TV remote barely worked and only from 1-side of the room.
-The room WAS right on the Main Street and contrary to the site description, it WAS noisy, even with little traffic, you certainly heard every truck & RV pass by.
Hate to sound harsh but just want to be open about our experience. We were disappointed, and walking around the town, wished we'd have chosen one of the quaint B&Bs...

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the Main Street unless you can sleep through lots of street traffic...
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Indie989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall K, Owner at The Stone Village Tourist Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2016

Dissapointment is not something we strive for and this guest obviously had needs that we failed to meet. To me, it's always unfortunate, and sometimes unavoidable.
When choosing Stone Village Tourist Camp, or any property, always ask to see the room and check to be sure the amenities meet your requirements.
I and my wife, from time to time do travel and as owner's, we're sensitive to the business model and if there are glaring problems, we make it know immediately to the management so they have the opportunity to correct the problem or provide an alternative solution.

I don't dispute this review other than the heater issue. Not sure what was going on with that, but the heater did and does work.

Travel Tip-bring earplugs, sleeping mask when traveliing in West Texas. There are either highways or trains in many of the destination towns out in the Big Bend area.

Again, I apologize to the reviewer for the poor experience. We will try to do better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews