We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced”
Review of The Porch

The Porch
Ranked #9 of 21 Restaurants in Fort Davis
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Description: Fort Davis's only coffee house serving espresso, lattes, tea, house baked pastries, quiche, panninis. Light breakfast served Thursday - Friday. Buffet breakfast on the weekends from 7:30 to 10:00 am. Lunch options include a variety of panninis, salads, house made soups, quiche and desserts.
Restaurant details
Description: Fort Davis's only coffee house serving espresso, lattes, tea, house baked pastries, quiche, panninis. Light breakfast served Thursday - Friday. Buffet breakfast on the weekends from 7:30 to 10:00 am. Lunch options include a variety of panninis, salads, house made soups, quiche and desserts.
Reviewed January 14, 2018

We went for breakfast, but were disappointed. Most hotel chains serve a better breakfast buffet and the price is included in your stay.

Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 32 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2018

Cute place with great decor. The breakfast buffet was quite good...nothing innovative or trendy, but plenty of the basics. The bacon was especially tasty!

Thank RedPondRanch3080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2017

We went to the Porch instead of the Drug Store and it was better. (Drug Store only has turkey sausage-ugh and their special hash browns were terrible) The bacon and eggs at the Porch were very good. The staff was inexperienced and we had to ask for things which we got. The biscuits were hard and the muffins were gummy and had no taste. The coffee was not hot and weak.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bluebonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017

Since the Drug Store was closed on Saturday morning we went to the Porch for breakfast. Mistake.
Overpriced breakfast buffet. No tea! (in a breakfast place!) No silverware. No coffee creamers - even when my wife inquired of the staff in Spanish. Poor value and poor service.
Thank goodness the bacon was good.

Thank tridcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at The Porch, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

I am sorry that you were not pleased with your breakfast at the Porch. We certainly do offer hot tea, although it is not included with the breakfast buffet. Our buffet is quite extensive, with eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, pancakes, gravy, fresh fruit and freshly baked muffins available. We think that $10.95 is a fair price. If we temporarily ran out of silverware or cream due to the large crowd we usually have on Saturdays, our English speaking server would certainly have been happy to replace any missing items! We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2017

We went for brunch as the drugstore across the way was closed. We are glad that we did as we thoroughly enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Food and service were GREAT!

Thank gracielatercero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Porch also viewed

 

Been to The Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing