We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum--and it's free!”

The Walters Art Museum
Ranked #3 of 229 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
New Jersey, US
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great museum--and it's free!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Went with my husband and 2 children (ages 10 and 8) during a day trip in Baltimore and loved it! It's free, and although it's not too big or daunting, there's enough variety in the artwork to keep it interesting. I've been to the Louvre and the Met, and I must say the Walters Museum was like a David compared with those two museum Goliaths. :)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrancesNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    954
    198
    25
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and intriguing.”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stressfree and relaxing , was my experience while looking at the paintings.

Helpful?
Thank bubblesofjoy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“walter's is worth investigating”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Feels like stepping outside of America, lots to view and admire, especially since it so tied to english heritage. Just a hop from Baltimore Arts musuem, is not to hard to find, but parking on street is limited, so prepare to walk. It's free, and is worth it! My college student hates looking at impressionistic art, but she liked the Walker based on it's style and not just a bunch of painings on bare walls.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank cooffwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful collection- admission by donation”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Parking was easy in the lot across the street. More that I could see in a day- vast collection from throughout the world. Painting, sculpture, objects & artifacts. From what I saw, I liked best a temporary exhibit of The watercolors of Léon Bonvin (which ends May 20, 2012). Absolutely worth a visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Denaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutztown, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Enjoyed the The Ancient Americas Show, up until May 20th, 2012. The staff was very friendly.
They have picture window upstairs the Walters where you can watch art restorers at work, and they even encourage visitors to ask questions of the restorers. That is something cool I haven't seen before. Much of the museum collection is online, so you might familiarize yourself with the artwork in advance.
We attended a forum in the lecture hall, which was free with admission. The acoustics and seating were first-rate.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinmpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Walters Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Walters Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing