We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it if you have time”

Baltimore Museum of Industry
Ranked #22 of 229 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Baltimore Museum of Industry celebrates the innovators, entrepreneurs and workers who propelled this port city into the industrial age and beyond. From garment making to airplane manufacturing, food canning to video game design, visitors to the museum will discover how Baltimore's pioneering spirit built the region's manufacturing might and continues to shape Maryland today. Located in an 1860s oyster cannery on a five-acre waterfront campus, the BMI offers dynamic exhibitions, live demonstrations, engaging tours and hands-on activities for guests of all ages.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth it if you have time”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

A little treasure. Interesting and low cost side trip for family. Could go to Ft. McHenry same day.

Helpful?
1 Thank BelAirTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    79
    21
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Local Gem”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

If you are interested in the history of the industries that built baltimore this is the place for you! Machines and items of the past that you will not see anymore are preserved there.
Older folks, like me, saw things that we remember from our parents and grandparents time.
As far as children? Well there was a school tour while we were there and we heard things like "wow look at that", "what's that for".......it seemed to peak the kids curiosity. So little kids no,,,,older ones maybe. By the way in the kitchen room they have a Mixmaster mixer, I still have one that was my mother's, and my son wants to keep it....imagine that?

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank iamskybluepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No Wonder This Museum Has Free Days”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This is definately a average and excitement-lacking museum. The tour guide had no expression and kept embarrassing everybody. Only architects and engineers who live near Baltimore would look at this place and think, "This place is a Wonderland!". Such a letdown. The only bright side of this museum are the funky things in the gift shop.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank BluePhoenix24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting and informative. Shame that most exhibits lacked detailed information.”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Allow enough time for a search for all the exhibits. You will need to find a rare employee or return to reception if you need further information.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank walthamforeste17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Surprise on the Baltimore waterfront”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My husband and I went here with another couple; I wasn't expecting much, but I was very pleasantly surprised at how interesting the museum is, even if you didn't grow up in Baltimore (as my husband did.) The site, in an old seafood processing factory, has a great view of the harbor and several outside exhibits. Inside, there are many more, ranging from a working blacksmith shop to neon sign manufacturing. One of the best was the print shop, with hand-operated presses as well as working linotype machines. The volunteers were expert printers who spent a lot of time showing us how everything worked. Definitely worth an afternoon.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank eastporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baltimore Museum of Industry also viewed

 

Been to Baltimore Museum of Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing