We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real thing”
Review of Silk Road - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Silk Road
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Reviewed September 21, 2014

Who would have guessed you could find Uzbek food next to a Dominos? But we did! We were the foreigners, but loved the dishes and atmosphere with families coming here to follow their traditions. Uzbek took, but BYOB... As did the Uzbek families gathered to share numerous plates of traditional food. Great Shshlik, salads (fresh, crisp and fast), soups and plov! Lovely finish with sweet dessert and tea. Just the lack of AC was a bit too traditional for me.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clementine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 6 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

My first experience with Uzbekistani food. Delicious soups, kebabs, and wonderful bread.
A very informal place in a storefront, with pleasant staff who try hard to make you feel comfortable. It's actually a bit like eating in someone else's house. Not pretentious at all, but actually the dinnerware was very attractive. Food was quite good.
It's a BYOB place. (95% of Uzbeks are Moslems, and Moslems don't drink alcohol). The waiter, a 19 year old, told me he was born in Turkey and lived in Russia and in Uzbekistan. He spoke perfect English, and said he speaks Turkish, Russian, Uzbek and some other dialect.

Date of visit: January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank baltlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We went with a two other couples and were pleasantly provided with an array of salads.
One was a carrot salad, one was similar to a feta salad, another was a cheese with croutons.
The fascinating part was they were all very different than what we are used to spice wise but very tasty and enjoyable. We could have stopped there but next came lamb chops and wow were they good. The seasoning was superb. The food kept coming and next we had an assortment of kebobs, chicken and lamb and again they were super as well. You do need to bring your own wine if you want some though. We are definitely planning on going back. Make sure you are hungry.

Date of visit: June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alleluia355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
Reviewed January 10, 2008

Great fast food. Very healthy with many vegetarian options. Cheap and good of lunch during work hours.

Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Haha, it's actually improved!

Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Silk Road also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing