We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fabulous walking tour!

Jonathon gave us an excellent overview of the architecture and history of the Savannah Historic... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
J6427IJjenniferh
,
Lockport
Saturday tour

This tour was all we could have asked for and better than we expected. Jonathan knew the answers to... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Curious766636
via mobile
Read all 603 reviews
  
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
590
11
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
590
11
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jonathan stalcup walking tour architectural information great tour visual aids architecture tour better understanding subject matter his passion savannah history his knowledge highly recommend the tour enjoyable tour highlight of our trip great overview beautiful city trip to savannah
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Jonathon gave us an excellent overview of the architecture and history of the Savannah Historic District. His knowledge is vast and he was able to answer all questions as well as teach us new things. This tour is a must for anybody interested in architecture, even those like me whose knowledge is rudimentary. Highly recommended!

Thank J6427IJjenniferh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This tour was all we could have asked for and better than we expected. Jonathan knew the answers to all questions, was engaging, and an overall great host. We will definitely book again if we ever go back to Savannah.

Thank Curious766636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Jonathan was incredibly knowledgeable and informative. So much information and very clear. Open to questions and just a wealth of knowledge, spanning history, individuals, and other locales... I would absolutely recommend his tour!

Thank Cativa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Jonathan was informative and amazing. He knew so much about all different topics and was able to speak to those during the tour which made it even better! I’m not an architecture buff and I LOVED this tour. Highly recommend!!

Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the best tour ever. It is so funny and fresh..Never a dull moment and the morons are a national treasure.

Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I toured with Jonathan our first morning in Savannah. We are involved in real estate and development in Los Angeles so of course were very interested in the cities architectural detail. Jonathan knows this city, its history, and architectural styles so well! We loved taking the trip first day because as we explored the city on our own on consecutive days, we were able to spot many of the details, building techniques and details he mentioned. A little obsessed with "tabby" at the moment ; ). He brings an energy to the tour and city in general that we enjoyed very much. A "must" tour!

1  Thank allisonsavvytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018

We really loved this tour. While we are not architects, or anything close, we do find it fascinating to learn about it, hence we tried this tour. Jonathan did not disappoint. It was clear from the beginning Jonathan knows what he is talking about. He is super smart and you can tell he has a passion for architecture and for Savannah. He did a wonderful job tying in the timeline of the history of the city with its architecture, and was spot on in showing us small intimate details of each building that we had not noticed. Highly recommended.

Thank launcher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018

Great tour. Jonathan directs you to examples of the different types of architecture in Savannah. He is really knowledgeable about all of the details. I loved the way that he was able to tie together the styles and how they evolved over time. Answered all questions. Terrific!

Thank dcschnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend this tour for anyone interested in understanding how Savannah was developed and it’s incredible architectural history.  Jonathan was outstanding!  He made the tour so easy to understand and brought the history of Savannah alive for us. It is clear that Jonathan’s depth of knowledge about Savannah’s history and architecture was barely touched on this tour. He is so smart!  Highly, highly recommend this tour for anyone!

Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2018

We are now building geeks, thanks to Jonathan! We had been to Savannah a few times previously, but had never taken a tour. We didn't want to do a touristy tour where everything is scripted, but then I came across Jonathan's highly-rated architectural tour. It was fabulous; he certainly knows his stuff but makes all the details very accessible to the rest of us, combining the social history of the area with the resulting building trends. My husband and I spent the remainder of the afternoon walking around the historic area, trying to figure out the age of the homes based on what we learned. We highly recommend this tour!

Thank Julie Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews