We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Mercer Williams House Museum
from US$25.00
More Info
from US$35.10
More Info
from US$33.00
More Info
from US$57.00
More Info
Reviews (1,158)
Filter reviews
1,146 results
Traveller rating
526
353
182
53
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
353
182
53
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews midnight in the garden gift shop the study kevin spacey fire code tour guide book movie sunken garden art and antiques private residence off limits lovely home home tour nice tour interesting history minute tour trip to savannah
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,146 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

This tour made my day when my mom and I went. Our tour guide was very well educated in the history of the house. You enter through the carriage house (which is the gift shop) you go through the sunken garden, and into the house. You only visit the main floor - as upstairs and downstairs only have 1 exit so it is not permitted to take tour groups through. Completely understandable!

If you have read Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil and are planning a trip to Savannah... this is a MUST! The tour doesn't talk much about the book - but the history altogether in the house is fantastic to hear about.

You don't get to take pictures, but that didn't bother me. In the future when I get lonesome for this visit, I will just watch the movie or read the book. Just to say, "I was there!"

Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

To start, I do recommend this tour if you are like me and are limited on time and just want to get into one of the gorgeous historic homes. I had read the book and seen the movie years ago, so that also appealed to me. That being said, there were disappointments like: no photos and no tour beyond the garden and main floor—-also no mention of the juicier bits of the owners life beyond the casual mention that he murdered someone in one room. I get it, the family still owns it and he was never found guilty, but it’s kind of hard to ignore that history when hearing about the house and owner. The tour guide was quick and nice and we enjoyed the gift shop and area around the house as well.

Thank lowens311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

FIRSTLY, the Mercer house is a beautiful home that was lovingly restored.  The tour started in the garden and focused on key individuals who either owned or designed the structure.  The rest of the tour was mostly focused on materials, architectural features and décor that are in the home.  The tour lasted about 30 minutes and photographs are not allowed.  There is also a nice store/gift shop in the carriage house.  SECONDLY, I’ve never read the book, nor seen the movie “The Garden of Good and Evil” so I did not have the revelation as to why so many people were drawn to pay $12 to see the home.  Thus, for the record, my opinion and point of view is not based on the events that occurred in the home - but solely on the value of seeing a historic structure at the price paid.  In CLOSING,  I was disappointed that no photos were allowed (especially since the home is marketed as a tour and museum) -- we only saw the first floor and a domed window at the staircase.   If I had to do it over again, I would'nt. It really is NOT a museum.  It is a beautifully appointed home that is family owned and privately used on occasion. The experience is limited and feels restrictive.  There are plenty of beautiful structures in Savannah, only this one comes with a price.

Thank ttaylor2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are familiar with the book or movie "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" (or with Johnny Mercer) you will enjoy this tour. The docent was excellent. He gave a history of the artwork, the artifacts, and the home as well as a biography of Jim Williams. Well worth the money.

Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you love architecture and art, this is definitely worth checking out. Other reviews are accurate in that you are only getting a tour of the courtyard and downstairs which takes just over 30 minutes, but the history of this house, the art contained within, and the beautiful architecture make this a very fun and worthwhile experience. I especially enjoyed hearing how Jim Williams mixed his own custom paint colors and named them for each room. It probably is best to get there for the first tour of the morning, or buy tickets for a set tour time and come back then as there is not a lot of waiting room about the gift shop.

Thank Shanangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you read "The Book" as it's referred to by the locals, this is a must see, but there isn't much to see. The carriage house is now a lonely gift shop. From there you walk through the sunken garden. Gorgeous. Then up the rear stairs into the mansion's main hallway and finally to Jim Williams' dining room, office and living/gentleman's room. It's furnished just as it was when Mr. Williams resided there and there are pictures of him and his party guests. There was no mention of Mr. Williams' lifestyle or trial.

Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I recommend this tour if you enjoy Savannah history, and impeccably furnished historical homes - colorful past or not. This is a popular tour in Savannah because of the book and movie "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil," and most people come here just for that reason alone. If you set aside the "unfortunate incident" that occurred here, and appreciate the house for its architectural beauty, the tasteful decor and rare furnishings, and the colorful social history of its original owner Jim Williams, then you will receive much more for your tour dollar.
Our guide was thoroughly knowledgeable and obviously possessed a love and appreciation for the home. He did not dwell on sensationalism. We toured the entire first floor including the infamous study, but none of the second floor since Mr. Williams' sister is in residence there. The garden or courtyard between the carriage house and the actual home is small, and you will walk through it on the beginning of the tour. Photography is not allowed inside the house or in the garden.
Our only complaint is that tickets are purchased in the Carriage House/Gift Shop and since the tours fill up quickly, there is a fair amount of standing and waiting around in the gift shop. It would have been much nicer if waiting were allowed in the courtyard. The small shop becomes quite crowded by the time the tour begins. (There is a single restroom inside the gift shop which is very popular during the wait time.) Most people did not want to carry purchases on the tour, and waited until after the tour to do so. At that point there was a very long check out line. The lone gift shop employee was very slow in handling the transactions, and was easily distracted by incoming phone calls. It seems that there should be two employees in the gift shop to handle calls, ticket sales, and gift sales. Surely a popular attraction such as this one can afford to have two employees in its gift shop.

Thank miamifloridanative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a disappointing tour. We did know the tour would be focused on the architecture and artwork, however you only see the downstairs which is four rooms and a staircase. The guide was knowledgeable of the art so the tour is not a complete waste but definitely overpriced. The gift shop sells the Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil books, movies and soundtrack and there are pictures of the cast in the house but discussion of the events is discouraged.

Thank lisaj1072018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This formal tour allows visitors to tour the first floor of the home of Jim Williams, made famous by John Berendt's book "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil". It was not "Midnight" centric in context. But the guide did mention where the shooting occurred, the domed stairway, sitting and dining rooms-- a must see for any fans of the movie.

Note: Ticket purchase and start of the tour begins in the carriage house--- not the address of the Mercer-Williams House itself.

Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The history of this house is amazing. Tour guide was not rushing and was very knowledgeable about the house and it’s contents. Go for the tour of the house and history of its owners, and you will find out even more you didn’t know

Thank gstuyvesant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews