We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Mercer Williams House Museum
from US$25.00
More Info
from US$25.00
More Info
from US$25.00
More Info
from US$35.10
More Info
Reviews (1,193)
Filter reviews
1,193 results
Traveller rating
550
372
185
53
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
372
185
53
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews midnight in the garden gift shop the study kevin spacey fire code tour guide sunken garden art and antiques book movie danny hansford private residence off limits lovely home pipe organ nice tour interesting history minute tour
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 1,193 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic collection of antiques from all over the world and different periods. Disappointed you only get to tour main floor and not upstairs ballroom conversion or basement restoration work shop.tour guide was knowledgeable on items on display.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank kboatman2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2018

I have taken guests to visit the Mercer Williams house in every season of the year since it has been open to the public. It is not an exceptionally large mansion but it is a beautiful home. The tour consists of a brief tour of the outside garden which is not tended well and a directed tour of the four rooms and half bath of the downstairs. It is a brief tour for the cost. My biggest beef is that this house is dirty. From the windows, to the doors to the woodwork and then to the dusty interior with dirty chandeliers, etc. I understand that repairing the outside rod iron is costly. Painting a home like this is also costly, We were told repairs were not done because the house would have to be shut down for tours. Perhaps. Cleaning can be done in the evenings when the house is not open. There is no excuse for the condition this house is shown to the public. This home should be sparkling. It is the way it is photographed for promotion and I assume it was maintained this way when Jim Williams lived there.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank extrastuff2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2018

I always have to visit this beautiful house when I am in Savannah. As always enjoyed the decor and the story of the house.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank nunlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018

I had been really looking forward to having one of my favorite books, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, come alive. But as fabulous as the home is...and it is...it is very much an art and artifacts tour and very little about Jim Williams or the extraordinary saga that played out there.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank Robina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018

Beautiful home and wonderful if you read "the book". Guide was very very good. I was disappointed we couldn't go upstairs to see the pipe organ but they had pictures. I'd do this tour again.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank NicoleAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews