We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow”
Review of Planters Tavern

Planters Tavern
Ranked #25 of 954 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Reviewed February 9, 2018

This is the place to eat when you are in Savannah. The scored flounder is something people travel across the state for and with good reason. Everything is very good

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank DougPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 342 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2018 via mobile

The place opens at 5pm...get there at 4:45 for a great seat. We sat at the bar for drinks before heading up to the restaurant upstairs. They do serve the same menu here though and the atmosphere is excellent if you dig the old world feel of a cellar tavern. We most certainly did. Have a Madeira tasting (we ordered a glass of each kind to share amongst the 5 of us) and ask the bartender for a little history lesson. This place is fantastic. Will be back!

Date of visit: December 2017
3  Thank Jesshunt254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2018

We stopped here for a drink on our ghost walking tour and it was so surprising to walk down into the basement of a hotel and see what would resemble an old English pub, like the real deal. Dark, warm, cosy with live music and blazing log fires, it was the perfect place to stop for a glass bourbon. If I returned to Savannah I'd definitely want to return and eat here. Recommended!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank camerachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2018 via mobile

The Hubs and I heard about this little tucked away gem under the Old Pink House and it did not disappoint. It's very dark with low ceilings such that you feel as if you are in an old speakeasy or pirate's lair. The drinks and staff are extensive and welcoming. The food looked wonderful and we will definitely include dinner in our plans the next visit. Oh, and try the cheese straws offered on the bar.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank 394michalw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2018

My husband and I really enjoyed this tavern while we stayed next door in Planter's Inn (no relation to the tavern). While we were quite disappointed with the hotel itself, we were very pleased with the quality of food and services received at the tavern. We particularly enjoyed its Blackened Oysters that came with watermelon and apricot chutneys on top. Each of the oysters has so much flavors (tangy, sweet and yet has great roasted aroma!). We also enjoyed its choices of cocktails - the bartenders made some great Old Fashioned along with its own signature drinks like Pink Lady. It offers tight table sittings but they are a few really romantic ones with candle lit and in front of fire place. My husband and I always sit on the bar because we are bar flies :) but would definitely like to try one of those tables. We also enjoyed dining upstairs (sat at the Study) on New Year's Eve. Each room offers so much ambiences and characters, we hope to return next time and try a different room. The tavern is a perfect late night meal or early bite or even a dessert place (did I mention its Praline Basket? Out of the world!) in unusually cold winter night followed by a snow storm!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank SungwonNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Planters Tavern also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Planters Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing