We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent all around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #17 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Va
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We brought 12 ladies here for a girl's weekend and we had a fabulous time. The Inn was beautiful and cozy, the food was great and the staff were so hospitable and just nice. They cater to your every need and do it with a smile. It rained for most of the weekend while we were there and the Inn provided umbrellas for each one of us to use - such a small thing, but made such a difference!

If I ever go back to Savannah, I definitely want to stay at the Ballastone. You won't get better service anywhere else!

BTW, their beds were amazing. Almost every single one of us ordered a set of their sheets before we left!

Room Tip: I would prefer to stay in the third or fourth levels. Any of those rooms would be great. Never saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    62
    28
    19
    18
See reviews for
57
441
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I had a thoroughly enjoyable two days at the Ballastone. A perfect location and such a lovely "European style" venue are hard to come by. The staff was generous with their attentiveness and the opportunity to escape the hustle and bustle of a larger/louder accommodation was most welcomed! A nice glass of wine, friendly conversation in a beautifully decorated mansion and solitude....what more can you wish for? We'll be back....soon!

Room Tip: Try and get a room that does not front the street, although the jr. suite next to the street was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Our stay in Savannah was made all the more pleasurable because we stayed at the Ballastone Inn. We were made to feel completely at home - as if we were in our own living room - and the staff was universally friendly and helpful. Jennifer, the owner, is a delight.

Room Tip: Our room, Savannah, was perfect for our needs however it could possibly benefit from another lamp as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAM6071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

With all due respect for the young staff members at the Ballastone who made great efforts to counteract the negatives, we post this review for two reasons: First, we were not informed before our arrival that BRAVO TV was filming a "reality show" on the premises; cameras, cables, TV personnel, actors had occupied the entire downstairs area and guests were unable to enjoy the ambiance of the Inn. Secondly, on our last morning my guest and I had breakfast there, including sausage patties which I did not like and so left uneaten. Within 45 minutes of departing the Inn my companion became violently ill in the car and ended up in the Emergency Room at an Atlanta Hospital where she spent two nights recovering from food poisoning. The Inn denied any responsibility, and offered no apology for either egregious inconvenience. Savannah, on the other hand, is a delightful city and highly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MazurkaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeeSavannah, Manager at Ballastone Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for choosing the Ballastone. We wish to dignify both of your points. Our goal at the Ballastone is to provide flawless and incomparable service to all guests. Because of our reputation, we are inundated with requests from television broadcasters. For the few requests accepted, we set strict guidelines to which television crews must adhere. We demand that filming does not impede upon the comfort of our guests. The television crew was asked to respect our guests’ privacy and comfort. Unfortunately this television crew began to consume the Inn . We immediately restricted them to the front parlor of the house. Although many of our guests were enamored by the crew, we profusely apologize for any distractions or imposition to the tranquil ambience of the Inn . Your complimentary invitation to return to the Ballastone remains open.

Regarding the second point, our chef takes deliberate caution during preparation of all meals served at the Ballastone. For this reason, we expressed great concern for this anomaly. On the morning our chef prepared sausages, 27 of our 32 guests consumed the chef’s special. This included the sausage. Upon notification that one of our guests was ill, we immediately contacted all guests who had eaten breakfast. Absolutely no other guests experienced sickness or discomfort. Due to the isolation of sickness , we informed the guest who had become ill that the source of her illness was not the Ballastone. After she informed us that she had consumed dinner at a local restaurant on the previous evening, we encouraged her to notify the restaurant of her condition. It is most likely that the illness resulted from a source unrelated to the Ballastone. Again, our chef takes excessive measures to fastidiously ensure the safety and cleanliness of all food products.

As you can see from the other reviews, this is an irregular situation, so hopefully you will change your mind about returning. We would love for you to see the rest of what Ballastone Inn has to offer.

Kindest Regards,

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting the Ballastone March 1, 2012 and what a delightful experience it was. The owner, Jennifer, shared Savannah history stories and had some wonderful suggestions on what to do. The staff was both charming and helpful and the Inn has an elegant European-style appeal. In the afternoon I did the trolly tour and found that the Ballastone was even part of the historical tour!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent one night in the Ballastone, and I wish I could spend at least a week there.

Every single staff member is courteous and accommodating to the point where it's almost (but not quite) overdone. You feel so comfortable it's almost dangerous.

The breakfast, high tea, happy hour, and sherry at 10pm are all high quality and make you feel rather spoiled. The chef who prepares the breakfast is a lovely woman who makes delicious fare. The rooms are decorated wonderfully, and each is different. If a room is empty, guests are invited to explore so that they can get a feel for what different rooms are like. The Inn is in a very convenient location, and when you step outside you are right in the historic district with everything close at hand. The staff will, of course, help you with any suggestions or reservations you may want.

If you want to spoil yourself or your significant other, I highly recommend the Ballastone. It is the best B&B I have every stayed in.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is supposedly haunted! Also, rooms higher up in the courtyard will get more light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maltballfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Had to carry our own luggage a block away to a city parking deck that was a seperate cost from the already over priced room in 95+ degree weather. The lady who runs the inn is very pleasant and welcoming but let her know if you would like privacy because she can be invasive. Also the staff will inform you that they have filmed so called spiritual orbs dancing in the lobby after dark.

Room Tip: Shop around for better accomodations
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cooltravelingguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,721 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballastone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing