We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed here for late Valentine Day”
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #14 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed in Scarletts Retreat and it was comfy and lovely. Love the jacuzzi. The breakfast was very good. Only disappointment were the hors d'oeuvres--not what is shown on website. At 4 p.m. tea time, we only had lemon bars and plain scones w/cream--no sandwiches or other pastries as advertised. At 6 p.m. they only had cucumber spread and crackers plus mushrooms stuffed with green onion stuff which smelled terrible. You could smell that odor when you walked in the bar room. Glad we stayed but we would NOT go back.

Room Tip: Scarletts room has a good view, plenty of windows, street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ourseniortravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband surprised me with a romantic getaway at the beautiful Ballastone Inn. We started our day at 4:00 with high tea. It was very elegant, and we enjoyed sitting in the parlor drinking our tea and savoring the scrumptious scones and tea sandwiches. The China Trade Suite was gorgeous.The king size four poster plantation bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! The sheets must be 1000 count! I could of stayed in bed all day after experiencing such a wonderful night of restful sleep. It was a heavenly experience. My husband and I loved listening to the lovely classical music as we sipped our wine and nibbled on the delicious appetizers in the parlor. The owner, Jennifer Salandi was there that evening mingling with the guests and making sure all the guests wishes came true! The staff working that weekend was Melissa and Amy. They were both so friendly and always accommodating. By the end of our stay we felt like we had made two new friends. I can see why tourists fall in love with Savannah, and the Ballastone Inn is definitely one of the reasons. The southern hospitality we were shown, and the way we were pampered makes me want to return for another special occasion in the future. As we were leaving we were handed a box of "Savannah Smiles" lemon girl scout cookies as a departing gift. What an added touch! This Savannahian is still smiling from her wonderful experience staying at the fabulous Ballastone Inn. Thank you Jennifer, Melissa, and Amy for making our Valentine's Day weekend such a special memory that we will cherish for a lifetime. I can see why the Ballastone Inn Bed and Breakfast is a Diamond Collection Property. It is a shining example of southern hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We brought 12 ladies here for a girl's weekend and we had a fabulous time. The Inn was beautiful and cozy, the food was great and the staff were so hospitable and just nice. They cater to your every need and do it with a smile. It rained for most of the weekend while we were there and the Inn provided umbrellas for each one of us to use - such a small thing, but made such a difference!

If I ever go back to Savannah, I definitely want to stay at the Ballastone. You won't get better service anywhere else!

BTW, their beds were amazing. Almost every single one of us ordered a set of their sheets before we left!

Room Tip: I would prefer to stay in the third or fourth levels. Any of those rooms would be great. Never saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I had a thoroughly enjoyable two days at the Ballastone. A perfect location and such a lovely "European style" venue are hard to come by. The staff was generous with their attentiveness and the opportunity to escape the hustle and bustle of a larger/louder accommodation was most welcomed! A nice glass of wine, friendly conversation in a beautifully decorated mansion and solitude....what more can you wish for? We'll be back....soon!

Room Tip: Try and get a room that does not front the street, although the jr. suite next to the street was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Our stay in Savannah was made all the more pleasurable because we stayed at the Ballastone Inn. We were made to feel completely at home - as if we were in our own living room - and the staff was universally friendly and helpful. Jennifer, the owner, is a delight.

Room Tip: Our room, Savannah, was perfect for our needs however it could possibly benefit from another lamp as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAM6071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

With all due respect for the young staff members at the Ballastone who made great efforts to counteract the negatives, we post this review for two reasons: First, we were not informed before our arrival that BRAVO TV was filming a "reality show" on the premises; cameras, cables, TV personnel, actors had occupied the entire downstairs area and guests were unable to enjoy the ambiance of the Inn. Secondly, on our last morning my guest and I had breakfast there, including sausage patties which I did not like and so left uneaten. Within 45 minutes of departing the Inn my companion became violently ill in the car and ended up in the Emergency Room at an Atlanta Hospital where she spent two nights recovering from food poisoning. The Inn denied any responsibility, and offered no apology for either egregious inconvenience. Savannah, on the other hand, is a delightful city and highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MazurkaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeeSavannah, Manager at Ballastone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for choosing the Ballastone. We wish to dignify both of your points. Our goal at the Ballastone is to provide flawless and incomparable service to all guests. Because of our reputation, we are inundated with requests from television broadcasters. For the few requests accepted, we set strict guidelines to which television crews must adhere. We demand that filming does not impede upon the comfort of our guests. The television crew was asked to respect our guests’ privacy and comfort. Unfortunately this television crew began to consume the Inn . We immediately restricted them to the front parlor of the house. Although many of our guests were enamored by the crew, we profusely apologize for any distractions or imposition to the tranquil ambience of the Inn . Your complimentary invitation to return to the Ballastone remains open.

Regarding the second point, our chef takes deliberate caution during preparation of all meals served at the Ballastone. For this reason, we expressed great concern for this anomaly. On the morning our chef prepared sausages, 27 of our 32 guests consumed the chef’s special. This included the sausage. Upon notification that one of our guests was ill, we immediately contacted all guests who had eaten breakfast. Absolutely no other guests experienced sickness or discomfort. Due to the isolation of sickness , we informed the guest who had become ill that the source of her illness was not the Ballastone. After she informed us that she had consumed dinner at a local restaurant on the previous evening, we encouraged her to notify the restaurant of her condition. It is most likely that the illness resulted from a source unrelated to the Ballastone. Again, our chef takes excessive measures to fastidiously ensure the safety and cleanliness of all food products.

As you can see from the other reviews, this is an irregular situation, so hopefully you will change your mind about returning. We would love for you to see the rest of what Ballastone Inn has to offer.

Kindest Regards,

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting the Ballastone March 1, 2012 and what a delightful experience it was. The owner, Jennifer, shared Savannah history stories and had some wonderful suggestions on what to do. The staff was both charming and helpful and the Inn has an elegant European-style appeal. In the afternoon I did the trolly tour and found that the Ballastone was even part of the historical tour!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank travelingsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,341 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,130 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range: $355 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing