We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Glorious Stay in Savannah, Ga.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #15 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“A Glorious Stay in Savannah, Ga.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I have just arrived home from four glorious and thoroughly enjoyable days in Savannah, Ga. We chose to make our home away from home the Ballastone Inn, located in the heart of the Historic District. Having stayed at the Ballastone about fifteen years ago on a previous visit to Savannah, we knew we could not go wrong with this again. The new manager, Jennifer, and her staff, were extremely professional, knowledgeable and helpful in advising us as to where to go, what to see, where to eat. Amy, our day concierge, helped us with parking our car, unloading and carrying luggage to our room, providing us with extra water, towels, etc, whenever we asked. The breakfasts were excellent and portions were most satisfying. My compliments to the chef for the wonderful Belgium Waffles. Afternoon tea and evening Hors d'oeuvres were great as well. For your money, you could not find a better B&B anywhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Hannah" but would prefer the "Sorghum Cane" as it has a King a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    65
    28
    20
    20
See reviews for
62
466
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were well taken care of. From the afternoon tea to the after-dinner chocolates and port (all complimentary) to the delicious breakfast, the food was wonderful. We stayed in the spacious China Room Suite. The staff was helpful for every need, both in and out of the B&B. The location is right in the middle of the Historic District, so many shops and restaurants were within a short walk.

Room Tip: Not a room tip, but arrive early as off-street parking is limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

There's not much new that can be written, but here goes. Firstly, the staff at this place was outstanding. They were friendly and went out of their way to be accommodating. Breakfasts were always delicious and had a variety daily. We had a room on the top floor and were pleasantly surprised that they had an elevator so we didn't have to haul our bags up flights of stairs. The only downside is that the parking is limited. It was never a big problem for us, but certainly something to note. Savannah is a very, very walkable city and we used the car infrequently. This is what you expect from a B&B, quiet (except for the street noise), comfortable, welcoming, and good food - and the location is PERFECT for all historical district.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyCinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was, by far, the most wonderfully managed inn I've ever experienced. Both Melissa and Amy are caring, warm, lovely women who truly take care to see that their guests are pampered beyond belief. My eyes feasted on the beauty in each and every room -- I also feasted on the delicious breakfasts, iced tea and other goodies offered each day. I loved every minute of what became the highlight of my trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank remarkstaffing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Yes this Bed and Breakfast caters to your needs and gives attention to detail. It boasts a beautiful entrance and be sure to look up at the entrance hall ceiling!! The food is displayed elegantly for afternoon tea and cocktail time. It is quiet and sophisticated. We stayed in the Savannah Room which was sufficient. Just a bit stuffy- I couldn't open the windows and would have liked more air circulation ( I did leave feedback for the owner), also our room was not ready at 3pm and we waited in the courtyard- a beautiful garden and fountain in such a narrow space. We were offered complimentary drinks because of our wait. A very Lovely Bed and Breakfast indeed!!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank montemarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This B&B rates at the top of the list for great experiences. The staff are courteous, helpful, and most accomodating. The rooms are comfortable, with all the little extras - turn down service with chocolates, luscious bedding, and a great afternoon tea. There was even lovely classical music playing in the bar. The breakfast was delicious. This is the true Charleston experience. We rented bikes from Perry Rubber around the corner and rode to every gorgeous square - incredible. We ate dinner at the Olde Pink House, again only a short walk away, and it was wonderful. We had only one night in Savannah, but I know we will come back one day.

Room Tip: Rooms that don't face Oglethorpe Street are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeaniemcrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fripp Island, sc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

A truly wonderful experience! Jennifer and her staff were gracious, accommodating ,and helpful. The Inn is beautiful and the rooms are large. They provided everything to make your visit special. We could not have chosen a better location. It is easy to walk to most of the sites and fine dining is close also. From the breakfast, to tea, to hor'deourves- it was all first class!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing