We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks County, Pa
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I spent three nights here the last week in March. We found it to be everything we wanted and more in a bed and breakfast. We asked for a room change to the courtyard and Erin, at the front desk, could not have been more gracious and accommodating. The staff is friendly and professional and eager to help in any way they can.

We enjoyed the wine and cheese and the dessert and coffee each evening in the parlor with other guests exchanging restaurant reviews and places of interest. Breakfast each morning was good and it was delightful to eat in the courtyard near the fountain.

We will come back to this charming inn and historic Savannah again!

Room Tip: The upstairs courtyard rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    182
    54
    27
    11
See reviews for
135
681
49
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We were taking our first trip to Savannah and wanted to get the full historic visit, so we opted for a quaint Bed and Breakfast on Historic Jones St. The Eliza Thompson House was a beautiful home with great big trees draped with Spanish Moss running the street in front of it. Upon entering the front door to check in, we were greeted with a big smile and, after being checked in, were accompanied to our car and Brandon, one of the staff members, carried our bags up to our room.

We had a 3rd floor room overlooking the courtyard. The view was picturesque, with iron railings and hanging moss over a good sized courtyard. The fountains in the courtyard added to the beauty of the B&B. Our room was on the small side, which was anticipated, (we opted for a smaller room) but there was ample room for the two of us.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful during our entire stay.

One of the nice extras was the offering of a wine and cheese hour every evening and dessert and coffee at night.

There were some minor housekeeping issues (some of the baseboards were a little grungy, and the window sill needed a good scrubbing) and the bed was a little on the firm side, but not uncomfortable.

The only shortcoming we noticed was the breakfast. It was a buffet style breakfast where several of the items were stored frozen and reheated (biscuits and hash browns). The egg dishes also seemed pre-made and reheated (especially the Eggs Florentine we had on the last morning). The food was fine, but with everything else that we had experienced at the B&B and the price we paid for it, we were expecting a little more variety and a little bit more southern elegance.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would probably stay again given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms open out to the street, request one with a courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeypaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land O Lakes FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and I eloped at the Eliza Thompson House. They were very accomodating and so pleasant. Everyone was helpful and I had a great experience. We got married in the front parlor. It was a private and intimate ceremony. The room we stayed in was lovely. The breakfast buffett was great and the cocktail hour was so welcoming! Perfect Savannah visit!! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house were amazing! We stayed in the J. Stephen Room. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed here for St. Patrick's Day weekend. It was the right choice. We usually stay at the DeSoto Hilton, but the 3 day minimum was a turn off. We've stayed here before and each time it is a good experience. The larger rooms are inside the original house, but the carriage house rooms are private and the courtyard outside is soothing. Our room was decorated but not in the fussy way of some B&Bs. The location is good not just for St. Patrick's day, but weddings especially at St John's or the Cathedral. Probably a good choice for SCAD graduation. Jones is a quiet street and with 1million visitors in town, it was a great retreat. Breakfast was good and staff is personable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We booked this B&B online, and hoped for the best, and we got it. It was absolutely charming, friendly, and well located for us to walk around historic Savannah.

Room Tip: our room was on first floor, 2 queen beds; we asked for the 2 beds, and got it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaA2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape cod ma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We first stayed at the Eliza Thompson House in the late 90's. We returned several years ago and then just this past Feb. We are still in love with the Inn, it's keepers and it's wonderful charm from the rooms to the fantastic courtyard. Their wine and cheese reception in the evening is so nicely presented and gives guests time to share touring suggestions.

We are looking forward to our next trip and naturally we will stay here. Thank you Missy Thompson for letting us be guests in your charming old inn!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capebogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Loved the Eliza Thompson House. Excellent staff. Comfortable room. Great services, especially the complimentary hors d'oeuves and wine in the evening and dessert and coffee at night. Great breakfast - freshly cooked and well presented in comfortable and attractive surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCarolinaGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing