We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding facility, with over the top staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding facility, with over the top staff”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Every aspect of this fine B&B is outstanding. Spotless rooms, and helpful staff. They were eager to answer questions, and make suggestions for dining, and shopping. We love to walk, and enjoyed the stroll to the river, and several restaurants we would have never tried, had it not been for their guidance. We look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Can't imagine a bad choice of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    188
    56
    28
    11
See reviews for
147
715
53
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Eliza Thompson House was the perfect backdrop for a romantic weekend my boyfriend and I spent in Savannah. The rooms were comfortable, nice breakfast in the courtyard each morning and wine in the study in the evening rounded out the stay nicely but what made this B&B a standout was the staff. The service was stellar. Thanks Eliza Thompson House! We will be back!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd Floor off the courtyard are delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I just returned from Savannah. We stayed 3 nights at the Eliza Thompson House. We found every aspect of the Eliza Thompson House to be comfortable, clean and friendly. I can only echo the many positive reviews that so many others have written about. Erin at the front desk is very pleasant and helpful. Nell was only there one night during our stay, but was equally pleasant and helpful. We stayed in the main house, room 130. the room was very large and comfortable. it was also quiet and on the second floor. Breakfast each morning in the court yard was buffet style. We loved sitting in the courtyard and enjoyed breakfast. If you travel to Savannah I would definitely recommend the Eliza Thompson House.

During our stay in Savannah we also went to the Savannah Theater and saw "The Beat Goes On". I would highly recommend this show for an evening of great entertainment and fun. Dont miss it!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We were lucky enough to get the last room available on April 1 for our stopover in Savannah on our way home on a long trip to Texas.

This helped turn Savannah from just a stop/see place to one of the most memorable visits on our journey.

The B&B is very conveniently located: Once you park, you probably won't need to move your car again as all of the historic district is within easy walking distance for anyone reasonably fit. (A category into which we just qualify!)

The room (124) was very pleasantly appointed, comfortable and with everything we needed. The bathroom was a little dark, but then one does not spend much time there.

The evening wine & appetizers and the later dessert are very classy touches. The food is real, not just something put out for the effect. The wine is good. And there was plenty of everything. Had I not wanted to try the beer at the Blue Moon, we would not have had to go anywhere else to end up replete.

The breakfast was not exceptional: The fritatta was tasty and sausage fine, but the fruit salad was largely still frozen in its serving bowl. Lots of juice, coffee, bread, cereal, however.

All in all, an excellent choice for staying in downtown Savannah. We would certainly come back.

Oh, yes: If you are really fortunate, you will get the one free parking space (without a meter) out front. We serendipitously lucked into this spot when we first arrived, and then again when I came back after having the oil changed in the car. If you get it, you don't need to get the $12.00 parking pass!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLicharson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was my fourth stay at Eliza Thompson House. Feels like home. It's a great place to stay for authentic Savannah. Kevin and Nell are always so helpful. I'll be back soon!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shtadlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I did a search of nearly all the hotels in the Historic District and ended up at the Eliza Thompson house. The price was comparable to other hotels, but the perks beat them - free breakfast, wine and cheese around dinner and late night coffee and dessert. The location makes walking to any attraction easy. Service was also great and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USTravel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My friend and I had a delightful two night stay at the Eliza Thompson ... the Inn was lovely and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The refreshments were plentiful and tasty. The courtyard and access to the rooms via the balconies was pleasing and handy. The gardens and trees were beautiful. We had no concerns at all and were thoroughly pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahillmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,752 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,302 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,079 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing