We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for visiting Savannah”
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location for visiting Savannah”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The AVIA is perfectly located, two blocks from the Riverwalk (so close enough for the fun, but not affected by loud crowds and not on busy roads), one block from CityMarket, and on one of Savannah's park squares. It is within the historic district, but a modern hotel with all of the amenities. We got a 'hosting' suite, which meant a small kitchenette, dining and living areas, all in a large single room. The room was spacious, and the kitchen was nicely equipped, enough so that we didn't feel like we had to eat out for every meal (a nice option sometimes!) The decor was creative without being over the top, bed was very comfortable (if maybe a bit overstuffed), and the hotel was spotless. The athletic facility was small but adequate, with a multipurpose cable machine, small free weights and an assortment of cardio machines.
We walked all over Savannah, and I was continually reinforced that this was one of the best locations in town!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wlatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
We have received the wonderful comments you entered on TripAdvisor and want to thank you personally for sharing your positive experience with us. It is very gratifying to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,124
    667
    171
    56
    18
See reviews for
560
1,589
96
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anniston, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I recently planned a meeting in Savannah for 40 people. We checked out a a couple of hotels and the Avia was amazing! While we were there for the actual meeting, the staff were probably the most helpful and friendliest of all the hotels I have ever worked with. The sleeping rooms were spacious and new! The bathrooms were a work of art. The giant claw foot tub in the bathroom just set it all off. I only wish I would have had time to enjoy it! The lounge area was awesome. They make a "bacon snack" for the bar that is a must try while you are there. If you happen to be at the lounge, and Zack is working, do ask him for one of his famous bloody marys.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RollTidetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments you have shared about Zach and our hotel. We consider ourselves to be very fortunate to have such warm and caring associates on our team. We are delighted that you had a good experience here at the AVIA Savannah. We hope you can return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed in many lovely hotels in savannah but nothing like this!!! Service 5* comfort 5* location 5* loved everything ! This a wonderful place!

Room Tip: None needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redschweiss81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

A few years ago I spent New Years here. Really modern, comfortable rooms with clean and updated bathrooms. It's in a great location (a block away from the riverfront) that happens to be within walking distance of almost everything.

My main complaint is that the rooms are a little too dark. You don't come to Savannah to sit in your room, but I wish they'd invest a tad more in brightening up the space. I mean it's super dark--in both the lobby and the room. That being said, I'd stay again at AVIA Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent five nights at the Avia. Our room was great, quiet and on the opposite side of the construction. Staff were always friendly. A couple of items to mention. Both handles on the balcony doors were loose and fell off when we first used them. A call to the front desk resulted in them being fixed within an hour; however, this should be on a housekeeping checklist and checked before guests arrive. The complimentary bottle of water is nice but on two days only one bottle was left instead of two-housekeeping should know the number of guests in each room. Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel. We walked everywhere as the hotel is located close to everything in historic downtown Savannah.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the AVIA. We value your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed two days just before St Patrick's day. Because of that it was quite noisy because they really celebrate this in Savannah. Our room was away from the construction, but on the second floor facing the street. However despite the noise it was great to watch the crowds from the balcony. We were offered another room, but decided to stay. Location is great for walking anywhere downtown.
We had a studio room, which we would highly recommend. The bed was heavenly and the shower in the bathroom was great.
They serve a great breakfast and a reasonable price. We booked our room through Tripadvisor with Expedia and received a great rate considering they were all sold out.

Room Tip: Get a studio room. It is definitely worth the extra $. Make sure you are away from the construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutchman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay and for taking your time to leave a review. We value your business and we will certainly evaluate your suggestions. We appreciate your comments as this feedback allows us to further improve our services provided to our loyal guest such as your self.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My husband and I traveled to Savannah for a 5 night vacation from New York. We chose to stay at the Avia because of the rave reviews from TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed! When we arrived, the friendly valet staff welcomed us and took our car. Check-in was easy and the staff was friendly. There was some fruit/citrus water next to the elevators, which was refreshing after the long drive. We booked a Lux One-Bedroom room and it was perfect. As other reviewers mention, there is light music playing when you enter and there were delicious little chocolates on the bed. When I made the reservation, I requested a quiet room and that is what we got. The room looked over the pool and was as quiet as I imagine that area can be. The pedestal bathtub in the bathroom was divine and overall the space was perfect. The bed and pillows were the MOST comfortable I have ever experienced!

We enjoyed going to the bar and trying some of Zach's St. Patrick's Day alcoholic creations. We tried some of the food too and the chicken and waffles were out of this world! Our favorite part of the hotel was the fire pit by the pool, which we enjoyed nighty.

All in all, this was one of our favorite hotel experiences. The staff were unbelievably friendly-saying hello at every turn. The room and ameneties were upscale and perfect. The location is right in the middle of all the action and if you don't want that, I would recommend looking elsewhere. If you don't want noise, then don't stay in the historic district because there was live concerts and revelry all around the hotel. If you want the best hotel experiences with an incredibly friendly staff and amazing food, then please look at this hotel's consistently excellent rating and book it!!

Thank you, Avia staff, for making our vacation perfect.

Room Tip: When booking, make note that you want a quiet room away from the construction. I would recommend on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rshalligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
We have received the wonderful comments you entered on TripAdvisor and want to thank you personally for sharing your positive experience with us. It is very gratifying to receive such positive feedback and your comments have encouraged us to continue looking for ways to exceed our guests’ expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,264 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,692 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Property: Andaz Savannah
Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401-2521
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing