We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, great hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spanish Moss Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savannah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spanish Moss Inn
Ranked #23 of 33 Savannah B&B and Inns
Arlington
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great location, great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Although they live off-site, Sam and Elena are terrific hosts, ably assisted by housekeeper Rosario. The building is over 200 years old, but the renovations are tastefully modern. Soft music plays and wine, cheese, and fruit are laid out every evening. The inn was between chefs, so breakfast was peovided at the excellent b. Matthews restaurant in the next block. Put your car in their garage and walk all over town, to see the sights, soak up the atmosphere, and enjoy the restaurants. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Bay Street is one of the busiest in town, especially for trucks. The inn provides earplugs on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginiatravelerstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    11
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indian Harbour Beach, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 15th anniversary. We had taken a cooking class that day, so arrived around 6 pm. Upon arrival all the inn parking spots were taken up, but we easily found street parking a few doors down (which is free on weekends). We were warmly greeted by Sam and Evelyn, and then Sam told us about the great sights in the city to see while we enjoyed wine and a wonderful spread of breads, cheeses, fruits and chocolate. Our room, the dormer room, was very comfy, quiet and extremely private as it is on the third floor by itself. We were able to easily walk to enjoy the nighlife downtown that night and not having to worry about transportation. In the morning, they sent us to a wonderful restaurant for breakfast compliments of the inn. This is a wonderful place to stay in Savannah!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank realityaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We just finished a stay at the Spanish Moss Inn and we were more than thrilled with our selection of this B&B!! The accommodations are emmaculate, tastefully decorated and more than spacious. Attention to detail was evident in every area. The classical and jazz music playing at all times in the parlor was very relaxing, it definitely set the tone for the Inn, and the evening hors d'oeuvres were phenomenal! The coffee buffet set out each morning was also a nice touch. Sam and Elena were very hospitable, welcoming and helpful. We stayed in The Mariners room which we loved and felt like it was our own cozy space for the weekend. The location is perfect and is within walking distance of Savannah's historic district.

The only negatives we encountered was hearing the conversation quite a bit of the couple in the room next to us. We were able to sleep well though despite this since they didn't stay up late either and we sleep with a fan running anyway! Also my husband accidentally locked us out of the room our first morning, with our cellphones in the room, and because the owners are not on site we had to borrow another guest's phone to call them. Thankfully the housekeeper showed up for the day and let us in about 20 minutes later-:). A suggestion may be to have a telephone available, up in the main part of the house, for guests to use in cases of emergencies.

Despite the above mentioned issues I cannot stress emphatically enough how much we enjoyed the Spanish Moss Inn and I highly recommend it to anyone staying in Savannah! We are already planning another trip to Savannah in the fall and will definitely choose the Spanish Moss Inn for our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at this B&B February 18 & 19, 2012. The room was excellent with period furnishings and a working fireplace! Large, clean, and luxurious. The bath facilities were also very good with new fixtures throughout. The house is a Savannah landmark, relocated to its present location on Bay Street in 1968. It is close by almost everything. We parked our car in the garage and walked everywhere. The host is gracious and knows the city well. We will return to Spanish Moss Inn when next in Savannah.

Room Tip: We booked the "Gold" room that was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We had a lovely stay in this tastefully decorated, relaxing B & B. The Spanish Moss Inn is perfectly located in Savannah's historic district, and within walking distance of many sights, restaurants and attractions. We did a lot of shopping around for the right "Southern vibe" and cost, and prices at the SMI are notably lower than comparable accommodations in the area. Having spent 2 nights at the Spanish Moss Inn, I can't say exactly why their prices are lower, as the experience was very pleasant. We just lucked out, I guess!

Each afternoon, wine and cheese (and more!) are served to guests who spread out across the inn's beautiful public spaces for conversation and conviviality. The rooms at the Spanish Moss Inn are well-appointed, and details related to guest comfort have clearly been thought through. Very comfy beds, high quality sheets, earplugs by the bed, bottled water, music playing in the room upon arrival, etc, etc, etc. The rooms are all unique, & decorated with beautiful antiques. For those of you who do not care for typical B&B decor of lace doilies and floral patterns everywhere, you will enjoy the tasteful atmosphere at the SMI. Breakfast was tasty, although I'm not sure they currently have the amazing gourmet chef in the kitchen that other reviewers have commented on. One morning we had breakfast together with other guests, prepared in the inn's dining room. The other morning, the owners both had to work and we were sent down the street to a lovely cafe where the service was excellent and the food was some of the best we had in Savannah. It was nice to have two different breakfast experiences that weekend.

We would definitely recommend the Spanish Moss Inn to others who are visiting Savannah looking for that "Southern vibe"!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahamas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

I picked the Inn from a list on the internet and until we arrived was worried about my choice especially as my husband & I were travelling with 2 other couples. The worry was a waste of time. We arrived early and the owner, Sam Ferriera went out of his way to accommodate us until we could get into our room. As we were the youngest in our group we took the Attic Room which was up 3 short flights of stairs. The room was fantastic. The only downside would have been the street noise early in the morning but as we choose the Inn in part due to location it wasn't an issue. Our friends stayed on the second floor (Gold Room) and in the Garden Room. All room unique. The whole Inn is exceptionally clean & well maintained. You can tell it is a labour of love for the owners, Sam & Elena. Every evening we had a 'cocktail hour' with wine, cheese platter etc (after a big lunch it was all we needed fofr supper). We will definitely stay there next time we are in Savannah.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bono51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Absolutely beautifully done. Stayed in the Garden Room which was wonderfully cool during the hot temps at the end of Sept. Sam, the inn keeper was gracious and helpful and all of the little touches were perfect. Breakfast was excellent and the only thing disappointing was the Savannah weather that either wanted to soak us or roast us!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennox'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#27 of 111 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Downtown
Oglethorpe Lodge
Oglethorpe Lodge
#51 of 111 in Savannah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Moss Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Moss Inn

Property: Spanish Moss Inn
Address: 425 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1207
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are now know as an airbnb accommodation. You can find us at, "Sam and Helen's airbnb," in Savannah. This is our home, please take care of it. Our home is an intimate and comfortable setting only for guests. Thus we ask all visitors to respect the security and privacy of others, and the property. Thank you. We would like to share some information about our inn with you. Each room has an outstanding king sized bed with a quality Kingsdown mattress and a private bathroom per room. Upon arriving you will see that our 207 year old home has been finely refurbished and renovated. We enjoy welcoming visitors for relaxation in the heart of historical and beautiful Savannah. The Dunlap-Eppinger house was built in 1808 on the corner of Jefferson and Hull St., and in an effort to preserve one of Savannah's historic homes it was relocated in 1968 to Bay and Price St. We are located on the eastern corner of the historic district, and within walking distance of the historic squares. Most guests walk across the road to Emmet Park and Savannah River, and venture out to the local cafes, southern restaurants, and shops. If your considering a walk, bike ride, or drive to Forsyth Park it's less than 1.5 miles away!! During the morning light our living room, dining room, and sun room fill with warmth and reveal Federal Era architectural details such as the dentil crown molding, wood floors, paired fireplaces and plenty of reading spots throughout the home. You will see Emmet Park and glimpses of Savannah River from our inn. Walk across the street and down a few steps to Savannah River Street where you might dine or sight see. Our location provides the ease and comfort that you desire while on holiday in this historic downtown area. Make Savannah your getaway destination by treating yourself to a stay at the Spanish Moss Inn! Our home was rescued and restored in an effort to preserve Savannah's historic homes. Come relax by your wood burning fireplace within the elegant yet family setting and enjoy the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spanish Moss Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing