We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Christmas Eve lunch”

Jalapenos Mexican Grill
Ranked #222 of 962 Restaurants in Savannah
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

Typical Mexican for a tourist/shopping area. Food and drinks were good. They were reasonabley priced and tasted like what I would expect for this type of setting. The place was very clean. Our server was friendly and attentive.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank cindycY7364MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 44 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2017

My buddy has a saying: "On Friday nights, restaurants need fast and competent; not friendly but inept." I don't know if it was the person taking our order or the folks in the kitchen, but they messed up so many things on our order and simply forgot to bring out some items.

The food, however, was decent considering it's a restaurant right on the main "tourist" street in Savannah. Vegetarians should order the black beans because the refried beans have pork.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EssayFromAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 24, 2017 via mobile

Fun atmosphere in the heart of Broughton Street, but the Mexican food is more of the fast food variety - cheese wiz type nacho cheese quickly made the nachos soggy, margaritas from a pre-mix, salad came with dressing from a package, rather than anything homemade or Mexican for that matter. That said, the food items came out fast, hot and were very edible, making for a fun stop during a Broughton shopping binge. We sat at the bar where there were a few TVs and took in some football. I can picture this as a fun pre-game stop for the younger set before a night out in this great town, but if you are looking for legit Mexican or real dining, there is plenty nearby more pleasing!!!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank NHJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017

We visited for a late lunch here . The place was spotlessly clean and reminded me of some of the dinners we have visited in the past with a little less atmosphere . The restaurant was quite quiet when we went in and most of the staff were sitting at the back of the restaurant eating meals . We figured if the staff eat the food it's a safe bet to sample the food ! We got complimentary chips with a dip when we were seated and ordered Tacos de Carnita s and Ground beef Mexican Quesadillas . Both dishes were hot, cooked fresh to order and full of flavour . The service was a bit lacking as the staff seemed to be more interested in eating themselves rather than attending customers. The food was good and we would eat here again but only for a lunch !

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alans214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2017

Service was off and on and the food was almost tasteless. Fajitas don't need to be spicy, but they should have more flavour than that. Seems to a student hangout.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank JazboOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jalapenos Mexican Grill also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Jalapenos Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing