We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Room--Great Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Ranked #30 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Horrible Room--Great Bar”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed last week at this hotel. I really expected a nice room--we upgraded to a 'king suite'. Apparently our definition of 'suite' differs from theirs. I think Mr. Kessler needs to stay in each level of room personally. Our room was totally uncomfortable--it just wasn't functional. There was a huge shower, but no tub. Now I like to soak in a tub after walking all day and most suites offer this amenity. The bathroom vanity was a counter with so little storage--pretty much no storage. The toilet room had plantation shutters that looked right onto the river. You had to make sure you had the shutters slanted just right so people couldn't see in. Another pet peeve--no fan in the bathroom. The desk had drawers that I suppose are supposed to double as a dresser for clothing but it certainly wasn't big enough for 2 people. Also, the room was so dark I never could be sure my makeup was applied properly. Having said all this, the bar is great. Spectacular view and the service is great. The bar was a nice reprieve from a really uncomfortable room. Mr. Kessler can surely do better than this.

Room Tip: Get definitive information about your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    259
    136
    58
    29
See reviews for
147
604
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hellertown, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Cannot say enough about this hotel. The service, ambiance and overall decor of this hotel is exemplary. There was absolutely NOTHING that we did not love about The Bohemian. If you are traveling to Savannah or just traveling through you really owe it to yourself to stay at the Bohemian Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phlynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I love this hotel. The rooms are spacious and beautiful, and the location is incredible. We were able to walk almost every where we needed to go. The staff was the friendliest I've encountered. In fact when we left we had two waters sitting in our cup holders for the ride home. When we walked out the previous day we were given a bag of snacks and at night cookies were left for the 3 of us. We had a street front room, but there was very little noise in our room unlike other hotels I've stayed in. I've seen complaints about the cost of valeting, but every time I've traveled to cities you had to pay that much or more per day. Also, the hotel restaurant was a little pricey, but so is almost every other restaurant in Savannah. Every where we went we paid that much or more. The food at both restaurants was very good though, so you got what you paid for. I do wish it had a pool, but they offer a shuttle to a sister hotel if you want to swim, so you can't really ask for more than that. If I ever go to Savannah again, I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a river front room if you can because it has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jss1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Expensive, yes. Location on River, the best. It has 75 well appointed rooms, it's beautiful and there is NOTHING on the river that can touch it. The only other modern hotel on the river is the HYATT (blah) the rest are these bed-bug-in-your-breakfast joints that are not for the faint of heart. However, we where not bowled over by the service, the staff tries to please but only goes so far. To their credit they are NOT tip hounds either. But they can come off as lackadaisical at times case in point.. Three housekeeping nits: a bobby pin left on the floor by previous guest in plain site was never swept up same deal with some long brunet hair in the bathroom, we used our water glasses and one of two wine goblets on the 1st night but glasses where never replaced 2 nights later, our paper cups got replaced though. That was puzzling. The food and food/drink service in the restaurant and roof top bar was very good. Not cheap/not chintzy and eatable for Rocks. The rooftop bar (Rocks On The Roof) suffers from it's own success.. it is often overcrowd during prime time with non-hotel guests (they even have a bouncer checking IDs for the obviously young) the drinks are good but pricey as are the appetizers. The experience there was more expen$ive than any meal/drinking during my stay. As long as you don't pay too much..It's the best and nicest "rivah" stay in Savannah, and no ghosts to boot! BTW we asked for a KING corner room selected during booking and specified that in instructions, we did not get it and NO explanation was offered, we could only assume this was attributed to booking through Expedia and NOT paying the TOP rate.. our double queen had a large shower but NO bathtub, we like showers so that was not an issue. Richard C. Kessler is owns this hotel NOT Marriott BTW as some of the other reviewers have said.

Room Tip: River Side for view. You can ask for the best (KING) but no guaranty
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I must admit, I am not a fan of the South. However Savannah always sparked some interest to me. I thought of going there with Dean, my partner, while we were visiting my parents in Florida. We all whent for a three-day-get-away.

I picked the Bohemian hotel owned by Marriott (not a fan of owners). Loved it. I travel, and I can be a travel snob... but, what a nice surprise.

Take a trip to Savannah and enjoy there inhabitants and there rich history and thriving economy.... and, if you like fried food (come on!,,, we all do) baby you have arrived!

That poor "Waving Girl" ... Go there and find out!

Room Tip: Face "the river" it's alive 24/7 with multi ton ships
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armando5908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The location is nice just by the river. Short walk to town and very central.There are a lot of restaurantes and bars just around the corner. The people are friendly, but the service is realy slow !! It can take 20 min just to get the bill to pay for lunch. The rooms are confortable, but book a room overlooking the river.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjell magne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We have had dinner & drinks over the past two years at the Bohemian, and this year we booked our rooms here to celebrate a special occasion. The staff and valets were extremely friendly, and our room with a river view was worth the extra cost. The Kessler Collection is part of the Marriott Autograph Collection portfolio, and they delivered on our high expectations. I know we'll be back!!

Room Tip: Book a river view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ATLpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are pleased to hear we helped make celebrating your special occasion memorable. We look forward to future visits!

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,989 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 113 in Savannah
2,763 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection

Property: The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Address: 102 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1109
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing