We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #35 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed h er e overnight to meet with some friends. This motel definitely takes you back to the 60's. Beautiful retro motel that plays 50 and 60's music in the parking lot, retro furniture with a red dial phone. The room is very quaint, clean and comfortable, not a hotel size room, but better. The staff is great, coffee hot and good and Krispy creams are fresh. Location is walking distance to music, food and shopping. I will stay here every me I visit savannah, which is about twice a year. Brings back fond memories of vacation as a child and a time of innocence.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank waltakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2017

Can't say enough about the staff - from both the night and morning front desk to the cleaning crew - everyone was so friendly, helpful and even caring! It was touching actually. Loved the funky color scheme and the outside music. Great location with a very easy walk to downtown/riverfront. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank watermanjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

I was initially under-impressed when we rolled in but over time, the place really grew on me. The rooms are perfectly appointed - someone put a lot of thought into them - and include a small refrigerator, plenty of outlets, great mid century modern styling and the king was gigantic and very comfortable. The small lobby has plates, bowls, cutlery, cups and a microwave. Breakfast is not really breakfast but donuts, juice, coffee and milk (bring your own cereal). Who doesn't love Krispy Kreme but a bit of a stretch to advertise breakfast as included. Annoying having to pay to park in the parking lot right outside your door and the spaces were SO tight we were worried about our normal size rental car getting damaged. But after all this griping, still a really good value and a memorable place to stay. Make sure you use the free DOT bus that will take you all through downtown Savannah from Forsyth Park to the riverfront; there's a stop right across the street.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JAN222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

The Thunderbird Inn was awesome! From the free moonpies, RC Cola, popcorn, coffee, and lemonade to the nostalgic feel of the rooms and property! Beds were very comfy, showers need water pressure, but overall a fantastic experience!
We were right on the cusp of the historic district and within walking distance to everything! Will come back again! Oh! Parking was only $7.50 a day!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tawnee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We would definitely recommend the Thunderbird. It is clean, inexpensive, in a good location and the employees are friendly. Exceeded our expectations for a motel in this price range. It does not offer a breakfast but does provide crispy cream donuts, coffee, tea and juice.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank grammycarolann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We had easy access to the historic district from our hotel, the popcorn in the lobby was a big hit for us each afternoon. Even when the hotel was full, we didn't hear our neighbors to much, just the kick on of the AC units!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank O3861YPandreag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

This is a fantastic inn, close to free bus into Savannah. We arrived at lunchtime and were able to leave the car so we could go into Savannah. The staff were extremely helpful and the room spotlessly clean. We loved the retro feel and although on a busy road we were able to get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lesleyw676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yamacraw Village
Holiday Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $187 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing