We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really great Hampton Inn.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
Ranked #24 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
256 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Really great Hampton Inn.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is the nicest Hampton Inn that we have ever stayed at. The rooms were beautiful. The staff were wonderful. Location was great. Breakfast had lots of choices.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    403
    148
    64
    21
See reviews for
412
411
39
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Claxton, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We had four rooms at this hotel for February 11-February 12. The hotel was very clean and nice. However, the parking was not great. You had to park in a lot way behind the hotel and the charge was $8.00. The reason I gave only 2 stars was because of all the noise in the hotel. We were in room 226. It was obviously right beside a busy highway. We heard traffic all night. We didn't sleep at all. Starting around 7am the next morning, it was the same thing. The hallways were loud. Everytime a door slammed it echoed through the room. Next it was housekeeping knocking on every door nears ours saying "housekeeping!" They were really loud as well.

All in all, if you just need a clean place to stay, I am sure this would be fine. If you want a quiet relaxing weekend, this is not the hotel for you. It was also a pretty long walk from all of the restaurants and shops downtown.

Room Tip: avoid near the highway. We heard traffic all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaKaye79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Our family of 5 wanted to get away for New Years and decided on Savannah. We've stopped by a few times for dinner and a quick walk around a few times on our way to or from the Carolina's/Tennessee, and really wanted to get back and get a better feel for the city.

As this was an unplanned trip, the rates for hotels on Bay Street were a bit higher than we wanted to pay, so we opted for the Hampton on MLK. After reading many posts that indicated the hotel was far from the river and in a 'sketchy' area, we were a bit concerned. Our fears were quickly laid to rest after we arrived and headed for a walk down Bay St. and the river. Yes, it is 4 or so blocks away, it is on the fringe of the historic district, and the first time we were walking we felt a bit uneasy, but we encountered no problems at any time of the day or night. Folks are folks, and if you pay attention it's no different than any other major city.

I read one post that stated there was not enough places to sit in the breakfast area. We were there for 5 nights over New Years (Wed - Mon). Even with the hotel sold out Friday and Saturday there was always a place to sit. Now, will you get a table for 2 or 4 to yourself, probably not, but there was always space at a few tables and we just asked if we could sit if the seats were open. It was a great way to meet new people, talk about where they were from, and trade Savannah sightseeing tips.

We had 2 rooms (king for us, double for the 3 kids) and both rooms were clean, comfortable, and straightened up daily, even on New Years Day.

Now, would we rather have stayed on Bay Street? Absolutely! but it would've been $400 more for the 2 rooms we had for 5 nights and for us it didn't justify the cost. Now that we're back we still feel the same way, and would stay there again under similar circumstances.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
652 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We picked this hotel because it offered the best price I found in the historic district. Okay, it was on the edge of the historic district. The reviews I read about it in advance said it was in a "bad neighborhood". That didn't really bother us, and we found that wasn't entirely true anyway. We arrived on Saturday and stayed until Thursday which was St. Patrick's Day (I saw that rates went UP drastically starting Thursday to the weekend). The week we were there was also the 100th anniversary of the Girl Scouts (founded in Savannah). The hotel was packed full of girl scouts, bands in town for St. P. Day and there was also a wedding reception at the hotel. Whew! The room was okay, no complaints there, but if we didn't get down for our free breakfast early there was slim pickings for food. If we did get to breakfast early it was often too crowded to find a table to sit down and had to wait in line to get our food. There was no restaurant or even a bar in the hotel which we thought was strange. On Wednesday nite there was a very strong and gagging sewer smell permeating the first floor and even outside next to the hotel. As far as location, walking was easy to the river, museums or anywhere else in the historic district. We really enjoyed our time in Savannah and merely tolerated the crowds in the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and had a nice view of the bridge to South Carolina. Check for big events h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworld012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed here New Year's Eve weekend. The rooms were nice and the front desk staff were just so friendly and helpful. We routinely stay in Hamptons and the housekeeping was not up to the usual standard here. There were telltales signs of less than diligent cleaning---something smeared on wall in bathroom, dirty faucet at bar sink. Otherwise, the hotel was great. It is not really in the historic district. You have the cross a major four lane road and walk several blocks to be in the historic district. But it is just a block from the Visitor's Center and you can catch a trolley there with all day on and off tickets to eliminate the location disadvantage.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I typically like Hampton Inn's as they are clean and comfortable. My issue with this hotel is not the quality of the hotel it is the location. MLK is on the fringe of the Historic District and is quite frankly on the edge of a not so great neighborhood. If you want a Hampton that is in the Historic District stay at the other one on Bay Street.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Jarvis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

This hotel provides a good value in Savannah. The rooms are clean and the lobby is nice. The included breakfast is very good. The location is adequate; the river district is a reasonable walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuzzDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
Address: 603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Savannah
#17 Business Hotel in Savannah
#22 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Savannah Historic District is near Savannah's famous River Street, City Market, SCAD, and more. Rest easy in the comfort of your room and wake up to a hot free breakfast each day before exploring historic Savannah. On a hot day, choose to take a swim in our outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Historic District
Hampton Inn Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing