We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Setting! Good food”
Review of Cohen's Retreat

Cohen's Retreat
Reserve with OpenTable
Cohen's Retreat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #202 of 939 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: US$12 - US$36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Nestled under the moss draped majestic oaks on a five acre tract, time, space and creativity are beautifully intertwined. The result? Cohen's Retreat: a unique destination of art, food and community specifically designed for the enjoyment and inspiration of others.
Reviewed November 12, 2017

We enjoyed our meal. The fish of the day was nut encrusted grouper over mushroom risotto. Very well prepared & good flavor blends. The duck pot pie was an excellent value. The georgia shrimp and grits was very unique. I liked the flavor blend of the cheese infused grits with the smoke of the bacon and hint of sweet from the sun dried tomatoes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabby B, Manager at Cohen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Hi Holly,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us at Cohen's Retreat. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to having your join us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 160 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

We went to Cohen's Retreat with another couple on date night. What a great night. The place is beautiful, the service was excellent and the food suburb. There were four of us and we shared a couple of small plates for appetizers. The Fried Green Tomatoes and pimemto cheese hushpuppies were delicious and enough for all. Our entrees were excellent as well. Two of us had the special Redfish, one Fried Chicken and one grouper. Nice sized portions as well. 5 stars and we will be back!

Thank MGiuseffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabby B, Manager at Cohen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us at Cohen's Retreat. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to having your join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

Excellent. We went for a ladies birthday celebration!!! Lewis provided superb service. Such a treat to be treated with good southern tradition.

Thank Cheri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabby B, Manager at Cohen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Hi Cheri,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us at Cohen's Retreat. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to having your join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

The venue is very nice, and I can see why it is so popular. My food was quite disappointing. Twice the waiter brought out the wrong food, and the chicken that I had was more bone and gristle than meat. I've had better potato salad from publix. For how expensive it is, I expected a better experience.

Thank Ekaseta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabby B, Public Relations Manager at Cohen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Hi Ekaseta,

Thank you so much for visiting us at Cohen's Retreat. I apologize that your visit did not live up to your and our expectations. We are constantly striving to improve and appreciate your feedback, whether it be good or bad. We would love to invite you back to dine and give us another opportunity to host you and your guests. Please present this response for one free appetizer on us!

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017

We attended a wedding/reception here today. The staff was exceptionally helpful and attentive. They quickly directed us to where we needed to be,and answered aquestions a bout the history of the Retreat. When I was a child my family would drive by and see the old soldiers sitting on the porch and many benches on the front lawn! I was thrilled to see inside of the building, and awestruck with the history that was preserved-- original flooring from the 1930's, a wall decorated with walking canes found on the property, collections of old silverware, clocks and even old service medals displayed in a glass enclosed case. Also a mural made from silverware shaping a tree trunk, and antique photos and frames makes the leaf part of a tree. Unique! The food was particularly delicious-- tomato pie, crab cakes, pork tenderloin, seafood, etc-- wonderful
attention to variety of choices of food. We can't wait to come back next week to enjoy a delicious lunch! Cohen's Retreat is a hidden gem in our fair city! Karen

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank boutwellmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabby B, Public Relations Manager at Cohen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Hi Karen,

Thank you so much for taking your time to review your experience with us. We very much enjoyed hosting the wedding here this past weekend and hope that you will join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cohen's Retreat also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Cohen's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing