We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #11 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Location is within easy walking distance of City Market and River Street. We arrived about 12:30 pm, obviously room was not ready, but they let us store our luggage and called my cell when our room was ready. All the staff was friendly. Morning continental breakfast was the best I have had in a long time... Scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, and the normal toast, muffins, and cereals.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank JennJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,815 - 1,821 of 2,545 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Convenient location…after parking our car in the garage behind the location…we never moved it until our departure. Everything was within walking distance. This location is very nice and a great value. I have stayed at more expensive hotels and would choose this location over them any day. Rooms and lobby areas very inviting. Very Clean. Very nice and helpful staff. When in the Savannah area again…will return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebrookshires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

If you want a place that is not over the top expensive(except for extra room cost for it being an event weekend), close to history and shopping, and close to the trolley( walk 2 short blocks) this could fit your bill. All the employees were wonderful. Bellman Eric was a jewel with information and so helpful in setting up the room. He was the first person to help us and set the tone for how nice all the employees were. Our room was large(2 beds) and clean and the housekeeping staff was excellent. Breakfast was okay- there were at least hot and cold choices in the morning- no fruit except bananas. Parking was $15 daily- and even if you are Holiday Inn priority you will pay unless you are the top level of the club.Had mini frig and microwave in room- so we saved leftovers and had them one night. We were facing the river- a good view- and would stay there again when in Savannah.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Thanks for you kind words and the leadership team has passed your compliment to our bellman!
We are delighted that you found our guest rooms so comfortable and well maintained.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Renee Laurie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel is clean with a great staff, but our room had without a doubt the most uncomfortable bed I have ever tried to sleep on. Fair warning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

CCF77,

Thank you for your stay, and providing feedback. I'm sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received, but pleased to see the staff was a highlight of your stay. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is my fourth stay at this Holiday Inn Express. You cannot beat the location if you're seeing the city sights. We park in the public garage next door and forget we have a car. The staff here is extra helpful and always treats you as if they want to to come back. Public areas are a knockout with their beautiful heartpine floors! There's a great rooftop pool, hottub and patio overlooking the Savannah River and Factor's Walk.

My rooms here have never been anything less than spotless, very comfortable and attractive. The carpeting on this last stay showed some minimal staining but I expect that, given the high level of quality here, will likely be replaced soon.
Breakfast is of course terrific, with its signature cinnamon rolls. We even had a nice string quartet playing for the breakfast crowd one morning! A nice totally unexpected surprise.

The room rates here are up there, but definitely not out-of-line for this choice location. The amenities and convenience offered here are totally worth it. I look forward to returning here.

Room Tip: There is some road noise; ask a for south-facing room if this bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dpohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Excellent hotel in the heart of the historic district, within steps of the famous views, shops, restaurants, nightlife,of River Street, and a block or 2, or 3, from some of the best eateries in the country, including Paula Deen's Lady and Sons.Clean, well-maintained facility. The best part is the staff...warm, friendly, always willing to help. We've been there for small training events 2 years in a row...can hardly wait to go back again!

Room Tip: An awesome view of the Savannah River are upper floor rooms facing Bay Street...lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Thanks so much for the great review! We are so happy to hear that our great location worked so well for all your activities during your stay and we look forward to having you back soon!

Renee Laurie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel was in a great location. The staff was courteous, and helpful at all times. Everything was kept super clean. I loved the rooftop pool and observation area. Our first stay at a Holiday Inn Express. I will definitely consider them in other cities, now. And the one is Savannah is a definite for our next visit there.

Room Tip: We got room 601 on the way down and room 501 on the return trip from Florida. Loved this room becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElaineK801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,894 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 115 in Savannah
3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $178 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing