We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My husband and I arrived before check in and they took our name and cell number as we could not check in early. When we did check in I was not too happy to hear that we did not have a king size bed. The clerk asked another man behind the counter as I am a Priority Club member and he said "Are you staying more than one night?" . I replied no but I had just left an HI Express and we were going to stay at another this week which he replied - we do not have any rooms with a king size bed. We stayed in a small room (queen size) and it was okay. Smaller than usual for a room but maybe that is what is expected in Savannah. I am happy to say that we love Savannah and the location, but may stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanEBNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for feedback, we apologize for the lack of availibity of room type and do hope that you would visit us again.

Renee Laurie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,381
    664
    121
    35
    23
See reviews for
536
1,059
67
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

After having a horrible experience at a local B&B where we were treated as as annoyance. We left abrupty and had to find accomodations quickly. We chose this Holiday Inn Express.
WOW< I cannot say enough about the ridiculously awesome service received at this INN>

Beginning with the Valet whom are warm and welcoming. To the desk clerks and the breakfast.
After settling Inn we decided to go walk around and look for a place to eat.
We were greeted by the valet by NAME!!
What are ya'll hungry for and I can tell what is a really good to choice for tonight.
Came back much later.
Well, where did ya'll have dinner by name again and was it good as they also made great suggestions for activities and places for us to eat the next day.
I have stayed at Holiday Inn express many times before, but this was above and beyond anything I had ever experienced.,
I just want to thank them for making our experience visiting Savanah so wonderful.
I would call this a luxurious B&B and no need to go to any other so called B&B in the area.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have a view that have a small balcony. That was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Parking is a bit complicated - city parking garage next door - but just park the car and use the Savannah Pedicab service to get around.

Friendly staff.

Updated but some rickety issues that are unavoidable with restored buildings exist: electrical outlet unsecured, old central heating/cooling rather than individual units in rooms.

Fair to middling view from top of roof where there is a small pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here for a long birthday weekend celebration in Savannah. We were greeted for late night check in by Gregory who was just awesome. We were given a nice river view room as requested and we got a late night dinner recommendation. Gregory went out of his way to be hospitable and acknowledged my birthday by buying us drinks! Bartender Becki was also just great and hospitable, she makes killer drinks too! She remembered our names and even my actual birth date! These two were really nice, felt like visiting friends. Our room was neat and clean. The location is perfect right across the street from the riverfront. Many bars, restaurants and historical sights in easy walking distance. Reynolds Sq is 1 block away. We didn't need a rental car at all. We will return soon! Thanks Gregory and Becki!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBFINCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The hotel was excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel was beautiful. The location was great, right across from river street. We walked everywhere. The breakfast was good. We had a single queen room. While the room was small it was well appointed. The bathroom was beautiful. Oddly enough the shower left us feeling like the soap was still on our skin. Not sure what was up with the water.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife booked a room for us for my 50th b-day this past Friday, and we got one on the 7th floor. Great view of the river as well as the distant horizon. Perfect location, close to the Riverwalk area as well as the Historic District. Like many others do, we left the car in the ramp and walked it. Actually saw fireworks Friday night from our window, and was able to catch the sunrise the next am. Plenty of ship activity in-between to view.
The staff, from front desk to valet, was helpful, courteous, and did a nice job of making us feel welcome. I would definitely stay here again; and as we like visiting Savannah that likely will happen.

Room Tip: If a view is desired, hit the higher floors to see over the trees/buildings down onto the River. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranger17S2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

The hotel was conveniently located within walking distance to everything. The rooftop pool made a great place to watch fireworks over the river. Elevators a little in need of a better cleaning. Our bathroom floor needed a little better cleaning, but overall a good deal.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank deastonwyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 111 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,723 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 111 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing