We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Beautiful hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

The Marshall Hotel is a stunning building and the bedrooms are beautiful with amazing beds & linings! The location is pretty awesome too! Free wifi, a tasty breakfast and lovely staff made our stay complete.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Egibson31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,801
    542
    112
    42
    23
See reviews for
460
1,368
96
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I went to Savannah for a couple of days, and stayed at the Marshall House. We've never been to Savannah, and we wanted to stay somewhere close to everything. The Marshall House was wonderful. It is in a great location for shopping, resturants, all the historic parks and sightseeing things. Plus the hotel staff was so nice, the rooms were comfy. The only drawback was the air conditioner is alittle loud. But I will definitely recommend it to others, and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamieb436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We just got back from our first visit to Savannah and The Marshall House. The location is ideal. It was great to wake up, grab a quick bite and head out on foot to explore this magical city. Valet was well worth the money, but if you prefer there are several public parking area's within a block or two. Convienent if you do not have to run out to your car during your stay. The bed was very comfortable, bathrooms were clean and the room was small, but exactly what I expected. The original parts of the hotel were amazing and I took a ton of photos,but no paranormal experiences to report. The front desk was always very friendly and ready to help. The only negative I have is that there is no place to do laundry. There is a send out service which I suppose for most is enough, but with weight limits and all the luggage issues the airports have nowadays, it would have been nice to not have to pack as much and just do laundry as needed. We did go to a laundry facility once during our stay. The prices on the send out service I felt were quite high. Also note that not all rooms have bath tubs and our shower was small. Water pressure was great! The turndown service is great and the minifridge was helpful. There is also a CVS right around the corner if you need anything. I will definatley stay The Marshall House again and look forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior king, a bit on the small side, but had everything we needed. We even faced B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Our stay at the Marshall House was nothing short of incredible from the moment we drove up to the moment we drove off. The hotel is an older building that has been nicely restored but not to the point where the charm was eliminated. The staff was very friendly and professional - Carlton, who took care of our car and luggage was particularly helpful and most pleasant. Breakfast was very good and included just about anyrthing you would want. While we were on a quick trip, two of the couples we stayed there with came back for two more nights later that week. I can't think of a reason to stay anywhere else in Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricochet_Rabbit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The Concierge is fantastic and personable. The staff is helpful and delightful. The best experience ever in a hotel, B&B or motel. And a superb location in the Historic district of Savannah for exploring the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasualJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

It is a beautiful hotel with the charm of a B&B but comfort of a hotel. Close to everything and everyone there was so helpful!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We chose The Marshall House from all the good things said on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. A beautiful old building, nicely cared for, with a comfortable room. We liked that there were a couple of chairs, big windows, and a very good bed. Staff was very gracious and helpful, with everyone (desk staff, concierge and bell staff) knowledgeable and willing to offer suggestions for our visit. Much of what we wanted to see in Savannah was withing walking distance, which was important to us. We were very pleased, and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Facing the street is a nice view, especially if you can get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_in_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,921 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing