We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in a fantastic city”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in a fantastic city”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just got back from a girls' long weekend in Savannah and my friend and I could not be more pleased with our stay at the Marshall House. It was a perfect location, we valeted the car when we arrived and did not need to get in it again until we left. The House has so much historic charm while still having all the amenities you want, and the staff were all so friendly. The weekday wine and cheese reception is a nice touch and the daily breakfast is elevated beyond the usual "continental breakfast" fare with delicious quiches and southern biscuits in addition to what you would expect. The first night we stayed in a balcony room and that was a real treat, we only wish we had booked sooner so we could have had that room all three nights!

Room Tip: Book early if you want a balcony room as they are limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ashbug124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,956
    559
    115
    42
    25
See reviews for
502
1,475
103
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is an old and charming hotel with fantastic staff!. We were welcomed from the time we pulled up in front of the hotel until we left. Each time we left the hotel and returned, someone was usually available to open the door for us and say "welcome back". Our room was comfortable with an old fashioned claw foot tub with shower, a couple of wing back chairs and a king size bed and a flat screen tv. The breakfast was served in a lovely atrium room with beautiful potted palms. Each evening wine and cheese were served in the library. This was a lovely way to wind down your day and meet your fellow travellers. Based on what I considered was a very reasonable rate for this hotel, the service was what you would expect from a much more expensive property. The location was great - only a couple of blocks from river street and within walking distance to the city market, Forsyth park and all the lovely squares and beautiful old homes.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JALAWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Soo glad we chose Marshall House!! Everything great!! Love 6 inch pine plank hardwood floors in our room!! Old historic hotel with all the new updates... Flat screen TV, compy bed and pillows and clean!! Breakfast in garden room is yummy!! Quiche Loraine and fresh fruit delicious !! We are staying here again on our next visit!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grannylanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Renovated well in recent years, this hotel is clean, comfortable.....well, more than that: it's luxurious and lovely. The desk staff was very personable and helpful. Room was well laid out and appointed. Maybe a minor point, but not to me: the shower had perfect water pressure and was very comfortable after a long day of walking or in the morning after a few glasses of wine the night before. The hotel is on a major shopping street in Savannah, with nice stores, not the kitsch of River Street. We heard no street-noise though. The room was quiet. Afternoon wine and cheese gatherings were nice too. We felt as if we made a great choice of hotels and would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Havanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk - England
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This hotel made a pleasant change to the usual modern hotels, with its quirky, old fashioned nature. The staff are very friendly and gave great service. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom had a great shower. We had a room at the back which was very quiet. Breakfast was excellent with a good range of food on offer. Also the evening cheese and wine was an unexpected bonus.In addition it is ideally located in the historic district, within walking distance of everything. Unfortunately we only had one night here, I wish we had stayed here and in Savannah for longer

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Marshall House in early April 2012. We were on our honeymoon & it was a first visit to Savannah for both of us. We booked the Marshall house online because I wanted to stay in a haunted inn. The hotel is centrally located near everything in Savannah & the river is a few streets away. We did valet & never needed the car again. The staff was wonderful and very friendly. Loved the breakfast and evening wine/cheese. Room was nice and clean - small - but it was just the 2 of us, so very cozy. Felt like we were staying in a big old house back in time with our own room to retire to after the evenings festivities. Very rich with history!! We were on the fourth floor (423) which is supposed to be the most haunted floor. Supposedly some of the housekeepers wont go in this room b/c it's haunted. We heard odd things like footsteps shuffling in the room and bottles being rearranged in the bathroom on the shelf at 3am. Also had the plastic wastebasket liner russtle in the night but no fan or AC blowing on it. Supposed to be a cat ghost there. Second night something jump up on the end of the bed (just like our cats at home do). Maybe cat ghost knows cat lovers when he sees them?? And something bumped the edge of the bed & kept pushing on the corner of the bed like someone sitting or kneeling on it. Also had a small object move from where it was placed after 5 mins while our backs were turned. This place is definately haunted. Very nice place to stay though- so much charm. Loved it and want to come back again!!!!

Room Tip: Stay in room 423 if you want to experience hauntings, but be prepared - it's at the very back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jennefer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

the hotel is ideally located in the historic district. Our courtyard suite (Juliette Gordon Lowe) was perfect for our visit. hotel staff is friendly & helpful. Breakfast buffet is great way to start the day. wine & cheese reception is basic, so don't go out of your way for it. Concierge is extremely helpful with dinner suggestions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2klever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,280 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#10 of 113 in Savannah
1,215 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing