We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived Up to Great Reviews”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
185 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lived Up to Great Reviews”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

From our first contact with the valet to our departure three days later, the Marshall House lived up to our expectations based upon previous TA reviews. Everyone was uniformly friendly, outgoing and helpful...even to being greeted with smiles upon descending the stairs in the mornings.
Although we used the valet service ($15) the first night, we used the city parking lot behind the hotel the other two nights. This turned out to be a good deal, since we got the 2-day parking pass ($12) at the Savannah Visitor Center which included the city lots. I appreciated the fact that the hotel front desk even recommended this economy measure, rather than promoting its own valet service.
I don't know why anyone would complain about the breakfast in the beautiful atrium unless they didn't like quiche. We found the spread to be just fine, especially on the day we were going to have lunch at Mrs. Wilkes and wanted to be sure to be able to do justice to that dining experience.
If there was one thing I'd change it might have been the location of our room. Our traveling partners had requested a room at the rear, away from the street noise. However, this meant having only a view of the A/C shaft. Since we were hardly ever in the room during daylight hours, it didn't matter much. If we visit Savannah again, I think I'd try one of the front balcony rooms just to say I did and see what it is like.
Everyone says how easy it is to get around the Historic Area and, yet, we were surprised to find out how close things really are. Maps make everything seem farther away from each other than they are. Between walking and using the free DOT system, getting around was a snap.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oregonpoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,841
    549
    112
    42
    23
See reviews for
468
1,401
97
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was looking for a quaint place that would have a feel of Savannah and I got it! Everything about the hotel is inviting and comfortable. The room was perfect - comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom. Pretty good breakfast - especially the quiches. And a very nice touch is the wine and cheese late afternoon hour. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Traveling alone I felt very safe in the hotel. I would certainly recommend it to my family and friends and hope to be able to return one day soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMINYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just got back from a girls' long weekend in Savannah and my friend and I could not be more pleased with our stay at the Marshall House. It was a perfect location, we valeted the car when we arrived and did not need to get in it again until we left. The House has so much historic charm while still having all the amenities you want, and the staff were all so friendly. The weekday wine and cheese reception is a nice touch and the daily breakfast is elevated beyond the usual "continental breakfast" fare with delicious quiches and southern biscuits in addition to what you would expect. The first night we stayed in a balcony room and that was a real treat, we only wish we had booked sooner so we could have had that room all three nights!

Room Tip: Book early if you want a balcony room as they are limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ashbug124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is an old and charming hotel with fantastic staff!. We were welcomed from the time we pulled up in front of the hotel until we left. Each time we left the hotel and returned, someone was usually available to open the door for us and say "welcome back". Our room was comfortable with an old fashioned claw foot tub with shower, a couple of wing back chairs and a king size bed and a flat screen tv. The breakfast was served in a lovely atrium room with beautiful potted palms. Each evening wine and cheese were served in the library. This was a lovely way to wind down your day and meet your fellow travellers. Based on what I considered was a very reasonable rate for this hotel, the service was what you would expect from a much more expensive property. The location was great - only a couple of blocks from river street and within walking distance to the city market, Forsyth park and all the lovely squares and beautiful old homes.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JALAWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Soo glad we chose Marshall House!! Everything great!! Love 6 inch pine plank hardwood floors in our room!! Old historic hotel with all the new updates... Flat screen TV, compy bed and pillows and clean!! Breakfast in garden room is yummy!! Quiche Loraine and fresh fruit delicious !! We are staying here again on our next visit!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grannylanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Renovated well in recent years, this hotel is clean, comfortable.....well, more than that: it's luxurious and lovely. The desk staff was very personable and helpful. Room was well laid out and appointed. Maybe a minor point, but not to me: the shower had perfect water pressure and was very comfortable after a long day of walking or in the morning after a few glasses of wine the night before. The hotel is on a major shopping street in Savannah, with nice stores, not the kitsch of River Street. We heard no street-noise though. The room was quiet. Afternoon wine and cheese gatherings were nice too. We felt as if we made a great choice of hotels and would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Havanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk - England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This hotel made a pleasant change to the usual modern hotels, with its quirky, old fashioned nature. The staff are very friendly and gave great service. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom had a great shower. We had a room at the back which was very quiet. Breakfast was excellent with a good range of food on offer. Also the evening cheese and wine was an unexpected bonus.In addition it is ideally located in the historic district, within walking distance of everything. Unfortunately we only had one night here, I wish we had stayed here and in Savannah for longer

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,954 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing