We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant service witha smile”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We searched many hotels in Savannah using trip advisor reviews. We are glad we picked the Marshall House. From the moment we walked in the door on Sunday afternoon until we left on Friday we could not ask for better service. The suite we had was fantastic, tv in both parts of the suite, fridge for water and milk. Check in was a breeze and check out took less then 3 minutes. Breakfast in the atrium had everything available in a pleasant surrounding. We have already recommended The Marshall House to our friends. Location in the historic district is a great plus. You can walk to almost anything you want like many restaurants and river street as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,319 - 2,325 of 2,850 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

The moment we walked in the lobby, we knew it was going to be a great experience. The staff was great, the room was perfect, the wine and cheese every night was splendid and the continental breakfast started the morning off just right.

Their location is perfect and close to the river walk and great restaurants. We walked everywhere.

The only negative was the cost of valet parking each night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Marshall House is the perfect location for exploring by foot. Our room was wonderful, loved the old restored wood floors, doors, trims, fireplaces, etc. Each floor had a different theme of pictures… great idea!
The breakfast was very nice in a courtyard-ish room and the evening wine/cheese was a great way to relax and meet other guests before dinner.
All of the staff members, the front desk, maid to the valet were friendly and helpful… very detailed.
We love staying in such a historic building, it’s a must try!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeDe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We choose Marshall House based on Trip Advisor and I have to admit, it lived up to the reviews. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready so we dropped off our car and luggage and took off to explore Bull St. by foot. Once we got checked in, we relaxed in our room for short time then took off again to explore. Marshall House is the perfect location with small but beautiful rooms. Breakfast was very nice and the wine/cheese was a nice way to relax before dinner. All of the staff members, from the front desk to the valet were friendly and helpful. The only thing, if you want a bath tub, make sure you ask as most of the rooms only have a shower!

Room Tip: If you want a bath tub, ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PhebesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We love staying in historic buildings if we have the opportunity, especially when visiting such a historic town as Savannah. We were not disappointed with our stay in Marshall House! Loved the old restored wood floors, doors, trims, fireplaces, etc. They beautifully combine the old with the modern by giving you such a luxurious bed, linens, tastefully hidden refrigerator, wi-fi, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roadbuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a 'Junior Suite' which was small, as we expected at the price we paid. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room and bathroom well appointed. At the price we paid we were very happy with the room. The hotel itself was even better. What a beautiful place! From the wine & cheese welcome in the fancy but comfortable area off the foyer to the covered naturally lit inner courtyard where breakfast was served, this place is wonderful. Staff was VERY pleasant and know how to treat a guest. Be prepared to pay extra for parking, whether you use valet or park yourself. Not a biggy, once you're downtown Savannah, there's not much reason to drive anywhere. Marshall House is right in the middle of the historic district, and we were charmed by the city and it's history. We tried to get a 2nd night here, but the only room available was quite a bit more cash, so I decided to check out some other options, which led to an even better night!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drudell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I spent one night at the Marshall House before we continued on to Hilton Head.
Each staff person was extremely friendly and helpful. They really cared that your stay would be a pleasant one. While the building is old it is quite charming and very well maintained. We had a very comfortable sleep and enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the morning. We would not hesitate to stay here again on the next trip to Savannah.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grandmakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 114 in Savannah
1,127 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,130 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 114 in Savannah
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,990 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $181 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing