We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An English hotel in Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Ranked #22 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Placerville, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An English hotel in Savannah”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Everything about this hotel made us think we were in a small, charming British inn. Well, not the accents. Great location. Very helpful staff. Extremely pleasant setting. We would stay here again if we returned to Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treywash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,511
    803
    228
    79
    44
See reviews for
390
1,481
109
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We were here for one night when our trip was extended by a day and we needed a place to stay before moving to a previously-booked property. How we wished we'd stayed here for the entire trip! Everyone - from the valets, to the bellhops, to the front desk staff, to the concierge, were warm and friendly and provided outstanding service. The location is great and the hotel is lovely - the lobby is comfortable, the room beautiful, the bed ultra-comfortable, and we loved the extra touches, like the wine-and-cheese reception and finding our ice bucket filled when we returned from dinner. And the value couldn't be beat, as we discovered when we moved to the other higher-priced property. We highly recommend this inn and we'll be back!

Room Tip: Splurge a little bit and get a parkside room. It's a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missy4151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Planters Inn is simply the best hotel/inn I have ever stayed at. Our room, #602, faces both Reynolds Square and Congress St. From what I gather, it is a bit larger than some of the other rooms. It contained a large 4-poster bed, of superior comfort, and the usual amenities.

The inn offers a complimentary breakfast, which was of higher quality and greater selections than other hotels. Planters also offers complimentary wine and cheese between 5pm and 7pm in the lobby, complete with a pianist.

Staff was totally friendly, helpful and always ready to assist in any way possible.

Located on Reynolds Square, Planters Inn is ideally located in the Historic District. Two squares over to the City Market entertainment area; a block and a half from commercial Broughton, a short two blocks from busy Bay, and a quick down hill staircase to River St. (River Street hint: if you find the up stair climb daunting, walk to the Hyatt, and in the parking area behind city hall, in a cement colored tower, is a free elevator to take you back up to Bay Street level.) What great location!

To be honest, Savannah is such a great city, that I don't think you could go wrong in any of the Bay Street or Historic District hotels/inns. My experience with Planters Inn was both memorable and exceptional, and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Although a bit more expensive, the rooms that overlook Reynolds Square are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kjosker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Have stayed there twice and had wonderful long weekend getaways there. Rooms were lovely, a bit small but comfortable. No king beds available. Desk staff were extremely welcoming and very helpful with suggestions for dining and touring. Complimentary beverage and snacks were well presented and tasty. Breakfast was well done and varied. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJtransplant116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Lovely decor in the a-bit-small rooms and bad view of parking garage but overall ambience very nice and Southern/Williamsburgy. Great breakfast in a nice room, pleasant lobby with a wine social hour. Wasn't sure I would like having to valet park but the price was reasonable and the great valet guys brought the car quickly. Easy walk to most attractions. On a pretty square just a block from the river. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: a few rooms in front face the pretty square but most look right at the parking garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, NC
Level Contributor
188 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I spent one night here with a friend. The front desk was very helpful in arranging a trolley tour for us with pick up and return to the front door. The service staff was very courteous and quick. The wine and cheese at 5:30 was a nice break after a day of walking. Our room was very, very nice! Very clean, tastefully decorated, plush bedding and lots of towels in the bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was kind of standard -- nothing special there; the usual toasts, cereals, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea, juices, all served buffet style. Fine but not special, but not enough to keep me from returning to this very nice inn in a great location! Just minutes from the riverfront.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metrochik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My wife and I, along with my In-Laws, spent three days, two nights at Planters Inn from Monday 3/19/12-3/21/12. Overall we had a wonderful time and would most likely stay here again.

The Good:

Location: Located right in the heart of everything, within walking distance to most sites, squares. We were able to walk to everything without any issue (Savannah is a GREAT city to walk in!)

The Staff: Professional and very friendly. Extremely helpful - both of our rooms had issues with the in-room safes - they were fixed immediately. Overall, all of the staff we interacted with were excellent, and made us feel welcome.

The 'perks': The breakfast was a step above continental, but done well and more than adequate. Fresh fruit, grits, hard boiled eggs, toast, waffles and french toast, oj and coffee, yogurt, pastries, and three cereals were available each morning and were kept well stocked throughout. Free copies of the USA Today and the local Savannah paper were dropped off to our room each morning. The wine and cheese in the afternoon was a lively and lovely affair. A computer is available to print out boarding passes, etc.

The Decor: The lobby is lovely, clean with high ceilings and decorated nicely. You could easily hang out there and read a book, etc.


The Not-So-Good:

The room: The room was clean and well appointed, overall.

We were given a room on the third floor facing the parking garage. You WILL hear noise from it - it didn't wake me, but did wake my wife from a sound sleep.

The bathroom was adequate: the toilet was rather loud when flushed, but VERY powerful and efficient. The shower was okay - water pressure was fine, but it had one of those old adjustable shower heads that never seemed to give you the stream exactly how you'd like it. Hot water was never an issue.

The main room was on the small side, but being in a older hotel, I don't consider that a drawback, it's just the nature of the building. Three large windows brought in a lot of light into the room - it was very bright and cheerful, and the curtains did block out all of the light when it was necessary.

The furniture was nice, but a bit worn. one of the chairs squeaked badly when you sat on it. The dresser/TV hutch was nice, with the first drawer opening to become a writing desk. The TV was an old 32" tube - probably could use replacing, but we weren't in town to watch TV.

Included in our room was a coffee machine, but the wall the table was placed on had no place to plug it in.

The four poster bed was nice, but the mattress needed to be replaced, it was sagging in the middle and was very soft and squeaky.



Overall:

Despite the shortcomings, I would stay here again if the mattress was new and I was able to secure a room opposite the parking garage. The staff experience, location, and overall charm made this a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank builttophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Property: Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2715
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing