We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming, historic, accommodating inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Ranked #20 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“A charming, historic, accommodating inn!”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Based on TA reviews, we booked early for April. After receiving confirmation message saying "Do Not Disturb the Ghosts," we had some reservations. Decided to go w/positive vibes and gladly vouch for positive reviews. Yes, valet was pricey, but service was prompt and courteous and we rarely needed car in this walking town. Loved the Parkview room on the fourth floor with view of John Wesley Monument in Reynolds Square. Room tastefully decorated with period furnishings. Sink counter space very limited, but side window sill proved very useful. Nice touches like the complimentary breakfast, turn down service, wine and cheese, warm cookies in the evening and friendly staff added to our pleasant stay. No mysterious knocks on our door just a warm, fuzzy feeling when we left!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shimadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,528
    818
    231
    80
    45
See reviews for
400
1,502
110
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerside, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We had the occasion to spend three nights at this lovely hotel as we were visiting Savannah in January..the room was more than I had expected....the service from the doorman to the concierge was absolutely wonderful..a daily wine and cheese accompanied by lovely piano music took place late afternoon in the lobby..a pleasant surprise..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatskiMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel was a great find! We got a super price through hotwire. It overlooks Reynolds Square and is in walking distance of many historic Savannah sites. We parked overnight in the parking garage next door. The accommodations were dated but it was fitting for the Savannah vibe. The bathroom was tight. Free coffee and tea in the lobby and the included breakfast was basic. All appeared clean and the service was fine. We took the ghost tour and were informed the hotel is haunted... but nobody visited us.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TDC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We enjoyed 3 nights at the Planters Inn. What a great location! We were walking distance to the river front and great restaurants. Karen, the concierge, and the other staff were friendly and helpful. Wine and cheese daily is a nice southern touch. Our room was very pretty and clean. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: If a view is important, be sure to ask for it. It can be a bit noisy on the parking garage side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FindaKitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

The convenience of this inn cannot be beat. Located on a beautiful square in the historical district. The staff were ok, the decor could use a little freshening up. The area for breakfast was not large enough to accomadate guest, the menu was ok... All in all a little overpriced for what you get.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathyd329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Indiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

If one wants to explore the rich history of Savannah by foot, one could not do better than to stay at Planters Inn on Reynolds Square. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The best way to represent this accommodation is through brief assessments of its positives and negatives.
Positives: It has an excellent locations, which is close to the river walk and other historical buildings. For example, it is next door to the "Pink House," a fine restaurant in the historic district. It offers clean and comfortable rooms, good service, and a good breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception. The desk staff and concierge were very helpful. So, if you want a base of operations to walk around historic Savannah, this hotel will serve you well.
Negatives: Be aware - parking is not included! You will have a valet park your car across the street in the city parking garage. This amounts to $13.00 per night. Additionally, although the breakfast offers variety and is delicious, at certain points in the morning the dining space is limited. One morning, as a group of four, we had trouble sitting together.
In general: We enjoyed our stay at the Planters Inn and would definitely consider returning there. We recommend it for the above mentioned reasons and believe the positives to outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indiana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

Very friendly service and a great location for this lovely small hotel. We had a room with friends next door sharing a very nice balcony overlooking the square. Bathroom was small and the breakfast desperately needed t be revamped for international travellers, there was nothing really nutritional or savoury available but generally, I would stay there again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,625 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,260 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#11 of 113 in Savannah
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Property: Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2715
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing