We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable”
Review of coal yard charlies

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
coal yard charlies
Ranked #29 of 86 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed January 3, 2017

Great burgers , good service with a smile .Never have to wait for your bill.
I would recommend it Also they have specials and Tuesday's prime rib .

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank amgallay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 29 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

If you love homemade bread, then don't miss Coal Yard Charlies. The bread bar, that is with the soup and salad bar, can be a meal itself. Usually three different types and so delicious!
They offer a large menu selection and various specials. It was hard to choose.
Prices were affordable, staff was pleasant, good location, good size portions and the food was very good.
We are repeat customers and will definitely go again.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 1L0ve2Trave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2016

I really enjoyed the soup and salad bar. The soup sounded like something I would not like but I tried it and it was delicious.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank kristen033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2015

Great food, great price. It gets pretty busy at lunch, so you might have to wait a bit. Consider take out? Atmosphere is good. The tables aren't too close together so I don't feel like I'm eating with the next group of people too.
Salads are good, but I am partial to a juicy bacon swiss burger.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hilwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2015 via mobile

Went for a late night dinner and was very satisfied with our meals and salad bar items! The place is old and the main room needs some work! Tables are slanted do to the floor and furniture needs updating! Food prices are reasonable! I recommend not getting there too late as they dismantle the salad bar promptly at the advertised closing time! It would have been nice if the wait staff would do a "last call" to those coming in at a late hour wanting to enjoy more of the salad bar items a second time!! Good food, good prices and overall good dining experience!!

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank RP329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to coal yard charlies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing