We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is Ronda?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Longwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Longwood Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where is Ronda?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I was very disappointed to here that Ronda is not working her old hours at the Inn. I recently made a new reservation to stay at the Inn this coming Spring largely due to the fact that Ronda was so kind and accommodating to us in the past. The Inn is a very comfortable location, but the true heart of the Inn are the friendly people who greet you on arrival (Ronda).

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Szabatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    80
    31
    6
    12
See reviews for
56
80
31
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Western New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

I spent a night at the Longwood and was generally very happy with the accommodations. The exterior is gorgeous (English country house design) and the location is quite good. It's close to two different branches of the MBTA Green Line and also easy walking distance to Coolidge Corners. There is free on-site parking, free WiFi, and even a living room and kitchen where you can cook if you want to. There's a lovely deck outside in the back which must be very nice when its not winter.

I arrived at 5:30 in the evening and found the office closed. No problem, they had left an envelope with my name on it that contained a room key (yes, they still use real keys) on a table in the entryway. My room (number 35) was on the third floor and it was a walkup. It was a small room (one queen size bed) but it met my needs very well. It was clean, tastefully decorated and generally delightful.

Except ....

In the morning I got up and was going to take a shower. I went into the bathroom and started the water. There was very little water pressure... so much so that the water fell directly from shower head straight down. It was warm, but not hot and it took a long time to get warm (probably because the room was on the third floor). It was sort of like washing yourself in a sink. There really wasn't a practical way to wash my hair there. Good thing too, because the room had no hair dryer.

I realize it's an old building, but this really was a deal breaker for me. Other than the shower, the room was really nice. My guess is that if you are not on the top floor you while probably have a much better experience.

Room Tip: Stay as low as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jahansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123LongwoodInn, General Manager at Longwood Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
I am sorry for the inconvenience experienced by jahansen with the shower in his room.

The showers at the Longwood Inn have water saver shower heads to help conserve water. They have buttons on them which can be pushed in one direction to shut off the water without turning off the shower valve and then pushed in the other direction to turn the water back to full force. This way someone can lather their hair without the water running unnecessarily and then turn it back on again without having to adjust the temperature. Many people are unaware of this feature.

I assume that a previous guest had turned the water off at the shower head using the button and did not turn it back on again. The housekeepers are supposed to check for this as well as other things when cleaning rooms, but apparently it got missed. As soon as we became aware of the situation the shower was checked and we found that this was what had happened. The button was pushed in the other direction and the water came back on full force. The height of the room from ground level does not really affect the water pressure.

Providing a positive experience to guests is a very high priority for us. I hope that if jahansen comes to the Boston area in the future he will consider staying at the Longwood Inn again.

John Baer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Ct
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Out the front door and left, you come to shops and restaurants in a few blocks. Go right, and in a couple of blocks you come to a walking path along a stream in a safe wooded park. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eafinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed at the Longwood Inn this past July 2011. Located on a gorgeous street lined with some B&B's and inns. Only a short walk from the train and from a bunch of restaurants and shops. It was clean and cozy; very cool old house. :) We stayed on the 3rd floor and although the room was pretty small, it was decorated beautifully. We were out and about in the city most of the time anyway. One small glitch: we had requested a queen-size bed, but were given a room with just a full-size mattress that was kind of old and saggy in the middle. Not much space for my husband who's 6'2" and me who was pregnant. However, we made it work and it wasn't worth requesting another room. Everyone was nice, very laid back, and quiet. Perfect for a quick weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

When I was invited to speak at the medical center my hosts suggested I reserve a room at the inn on Longwood. I booked at the Longwood Inn - they meant the Best Western Longwood which is closer to Harvard. However i had no regrets about the error. When I arrived at 10am with 3 hours sleep, they put me right into a lovely room. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff were all super and I enjoyed the laid-back B&B-like atmosphere. There is no breakfast but fresh coffee in the communal kitchen and you could bring in/prepare your own meals... Great for a long stay. Drawbacks: no elevator to my 3rd floor room nor bellhop. I did not like the walk alone on the dark back from the medical center. Residential street - no restaurants immediately at hand. In my case the comfort, friendliness, and beauty of this arts and crafts mansion was well worth the minor drawbacks.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DrSchmincke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

This was a wonderful experience. This inn is warm and welcoming. I have been to other inns in the area where the surroundings look welcoming but the staff has been the worst. So this was a pleasant surprise. Lovely surroundings, charming rooms and inn keepers who make this a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liketotravel2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

A great alternative to the standard, generic chain hotel. Friendly, clean, great location and reasonably priced. The mansion has beautiful architectural details as an added bonus. It is important to me to be aesthetically pleased with my surroundings, and Longwood Inn absolutely fulfilled that criterion. I will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4444afs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longwood Inn

Property: Longwood Inn
Address: 123 Longwood Ave., Brookline, MA 02446
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Longwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longwood Inn is a converted 1900’s Victorian mansion in a safe, upscale residential neighborhood near many of Boston’s major attractions. With sensible rates, this is one of Boston’s best bargains. The Inn has 21 rooms and a one-bedroom apartment available nightly or for extended stays. All rooms feature free parking, telephones with free local calls, free internet access, flat screen cable televisions and air conditioning. Housekeeping services are provided. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Longwood Hotel Brookline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing