We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, Adorable, Comfy, Amazing”
Review of Longwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Longwood Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I can't say enough good things about my experience at the Longwood Inn. My girlfriend and I were in town for the Yankees/Red Sox game (go Sox!). This place was only a 3/4 mile walk to the stadium. It's in a nice neighborhood and you don't walk through any sketchy parts. It's close, but just far enough away that you're not in the game congestion. The on-site parking is free, easy, and sufficient. There is a nice little family park with baseball fields just behind the inn. The kitchen and fridge are communal, which is actually really nice. It feels very homey. This would especially be a great place for couples or families with young children. Our room had a queen bed with a futon we could have used if we had little ones. There is a Trader Joe's in walking distance, if you want to keep the food costs down while still eating healthy, and also lots of shops and restaurants close by. We kept saying that we "found our place in Boston." You can bet that we will be staying here for all future Fenway pilgrimages.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at the Longwood Inn following Opening Day at Fenway. The inn is gorgeous. The location is both charming and convenient. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Our room, while small, was very nice and the bathroom (nearly as big as the bedroom) was very nice and furnished with fashionable and modern amenities.The bed was comfortable - I loved the pillows! The kitchen in the inn was a great plus. Having brought food from home, I was able to cook up a nice breakfast in the morning, which we ate in the lovely dining room overlooking the park just behind the inn.

Fenway was an easy walk. To travel further, the "T" station is only a few blocks away. The free parking offered to Longwood Inn guests is a HUGE value, and one of the major factors in selecting the inn for our Boston weekend.

As Sox fans, we'll undoubtedly be back. When you factor in the cost of parking, the Longwood is a fantastic value. It almost doesn't make sense to drive home after a night game when the Longwood Inn is so close-by! We could not have been more pleased.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 39 on the third floor. Rooms are small, but with charming decor and modern bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddlingFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Just returned from a week long stay at Brookline Inn, my second visit, and am looking forward to the next trip. The Inn is spacious and comfortable, with ample common areas inside and out. My room, 22, was ample and very clean, with a pleasant view of the park behind the Inn. For the savvy traveler, the well-appointed kitchen is a great feature, allowing you to take full advantage of the Trader Joe's or left-overs from many restaurants within easy walking distance.

John and Rhonda were always kind and helpful, and Reina keeps the place squeaky clean.

The clientele tends to be international and mostly friendly, with many guests there for University-related trips. Public transit is convenient and a bargain.

For great value in Boston, it's hard to beat the Longwood Inn.

Room Tip: Room 22 is a great choice. 3rd floor rooms are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familia_Canela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Just enjoyed yet another fine stay at this lovely inn. The rooms are always clean and quite comfortable. Sadly, Ronda was not there to greet us as we have grown so accustomed to. Always made me feel at home during my stays. Nonetheless - it is a great place and I have recommended it to several friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 512JoanneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We were forturnate to find this wonderful and beautiful Inn. Just three blocks from Coolidge Corner & the "C" line on the T. John and Barbara were fantastic host and the cleanliness of the Inn was so nice. Our room was great and very quite and comfortable. They have a modern kitchen at your disposal. We have stay at other locations in Brookline at B&B's and hotels, but nothing compares with The Longwood Inn. They also have FREE on site parking for their guest and a washing machine and dyer. We have found a home away from home In Brookline. We are looking forward to our next visit back at the Inn. James and Sheila Sowder

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are great and quite we had rm #12 but they have three floor accessable by stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2-4-TheTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Beautiful large room, very clean, newly finished bath, but... because we booked at the last minute we got a room right off the lobby on the first floor and facing the street. It was a bit noisy and the street lights were annoying. A room in the back or off the lobby would have been better. We had issues with the mattress, it should be replaced. (rm 11). An in room hairdryer and coffee maker would have been welcome. Having parking behind building was a plus. Good location. All in all would give them a try again, hopefully they will do a mattress upgrade.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the back away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdsdNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123LongwoodInn, Manager at Longwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

If a guest is not happy with a room at the Longwood Inn we do our best to accomodate them. I do not know what day or days this guest stayed so I cannot say what options were available at the time.

Whether or not a street is too noisy or bright depends partly on what a person is used to. Longwood Ave. is not a major road going in and out of Boston but there is a fair amount of traffic going back and forth to the Longwood Medical Center at the other end of the street, mostly during rush hours. At night it tends to quiet down a lot. The windows have blinds which should block out most of the light from the street, but no blind is completely light proof. We would have been more than willing to switch the guest to a room facing away from the street if they had mentioned it to us and one were available.

The mattresses are top of the line pillow top mattresses, less than a year old. Many people find them very comfortable. For others they feel too soft, which is something we did not realize until after they were purchased. Not all of the rooms have the pillow top mattresses and, again, we would have given them a room with regular mattresses if available.

We do not keep hairdryers in the rooms because they have a tendency to disappear. We do have them available on request.

Because of local fire codes, we are not allowed to have coffee makers, irons or hotplates in any of the rooms as they are considered to be a fire hazard. We do have a fully equipped kitchen for the use of all guests here. It has a coffee maker in it and we keep a supply coffee for guests. (We also have a laundry room with a built in ironing board and iron).

I appreciate the comment about the room and bath. Over the last 7 - 8 years the owner has been doing some major renovations to upgrade the inn to make it a more pleasant experience for people. It is good to see that all this effort has not been wasted.

I hope this person will consider staying at the Longwood Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed here on a recent trip to Boston. We wanted to be near Fenway and Longwood was perfect. It was about a 25 minute walk but on a great summer day that wasn't a problem. The neighborhood was gorgeus and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. We had one of the rooms off the back so we didn't have to go into the main house if we didn't want to and we were able to park directly outside of our room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#9 of 85 in Boston
2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longwood Inn

Address: 123 Longwood Ave, Brookline, MA 02446-6625
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range: $146 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Longwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longwood Inn is a converted 1900’s Victorian mansion in a safe, upscale residential neighborhood near many of Boston’s major attractions. With sensible rates, this is one of Boston’s best bargains. The Inn has 21 rooms and a one-bedroom apartment available nightly or for extended stays. All rooms feature free parking, telephones with free local calls, free internet access, flat screen cable televisions and air conditioning. Housekeeping services are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Longwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longwood Hotel Brookline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing