We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
172
66
9
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
66
9
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesoutdoor porchbooked last minutecoffee teahot dishescoolidge cornereach morningb and bpublic areasboston areaon dutystayed for one nightnew englandquiet at nightfirst floorold mansionlate check
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 257 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

Booked last minute as needed to be in Boston for night and all booked (or extremely expensive) as conference in town. At first blush, looks a bit tired, but all disappointment fades as treated wonderfully and even offered a large ground floor room as easier for us. Very gracious offerings available all day and nice hot breakfast.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SewallInn, Manager at The Bertram Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our hospitality and property as well as the more convenient prices. We're definitely working on some updates to keep up with the 100+ year old house and hope to work hard this winter on that. Thank you for choosing us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Astrid
Innkeeper/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017

My husband and I stayed for one night when we were in the area, flying out the next evening after a weekend wedding. We wanted to catch a Red Sox game and see some of the sights in Boston before heading home. After finding a good deal, we booked Room 5, a queen room with private detached bath. When we arrived, we were so pleased at what we found. The inn is BEAUTIFUL! The breakfast and snacks offered were excellent, the robes for our use to and from our bathroom were a great touch, the staff was so friendly, and the location and anticipation of needs (robes, Charlie cards for guest use, all-day snacks and coffee, etc.) was great. We could walk to and from the game, but the Green Line was just a block or so away anyway, and getting around on that was pretty easy as well. Our only negative was the excessive street noise -- maybe that's not unusual for Brookline, but the room had been labeled as "quiet" in the description. However, we were both wide awake with the cars outside before 7 a.m., on our day to sleep in, which was a bit of a disappointment. Nevertheless, it was a lovely room - more spacious than we anticipated, too! - and we would absolutely consider staying again.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank ki1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SewallInn, Manager at The Bertram Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Thanks so much for your honest review and for taking the time for posting it; we're delighted that you found the room and amenities to your liking and that you were able to enjoy the house, it's location and the town.
I'm sad to hear about the noise; indeed, St. Paul street tends to get busy during the morning and afternoon commutes, and even if it usually does so after 8, sometimes it's earlier.

I hope to see you again at the Inn and definitely feel free to email us or call us and we'll make sure to have you stay in a room on the other side of the house, quieter and away from street traffic.

Thanks for staying with us!

Astrid
Innkeeper/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2017

I say "not at all stuffy" because I generally don't like bed and breakfasts. I find those forced morning interactions daunting and it always feels like you are in someone's house which is uncomfortable for me. While technically a bed and breakfast the Bertram Inn gives you beautiful rooms with private baths and a lot of privacy. It feels more like an old fashioned hotel where you have an elegant first floor sitting room with newspapers and sofas and little tables around as well as a sunroom and outdoor porch. You can wander around happily. The house itself is a historic gem and decorated accordingly. Breakfast was lovely. I sat alone at a table near a window while my husband recovered upstairs from a big night out. The service was really nice -- again, causally elegant. The Inn is in Brookline, on a tree-lined street and very quiet at night--even though right around the corner are tons of restaurants and bars and the above-ground T train which will take you downtown in 15 minutes. Our room was on the 3rd floor and while great, I think the least special room b/c we booked last minute. I saw other rooms because the doors were open awaiting that night's guests and they were historically decorated, expansive, and clean. I'd for sure stay here again. We used hotel tonight and got a good deal.

Room Tip: Every room is different.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DGrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SewallInn, Manager at The Bertram Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Bertram Inn! I'm so glad you enjoyed the house, amenities and quietness of the area plus the convenience of being close to Boston and to Coolidge Corner.

We look forward to having you stay with us again! Feel free to call us directly if you have any anticipation on your trip to make sure you get the best room available for your needs and try another one of the ones we have to offer. We are glad you got a chance to look at some of our rooms, we deliberately leave open so guests can have a better sense of what we have to offer and start picking their room for their next stay


We're delighted that you enjoy your stay.

Best regards,
Astrid
Innkeeper/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2017

Have stayed at the Bertram Inn many times, sampling almost all of the beautifully decorated rooms. Love the heavy wood antique-y ambiance. The cozy bathrobes in the rooms are a nice touch. The staff are all helpful and friendly. There are always snacks and coffee/tea available, and breakfast is delicious. This is located in a nice area, where you can safely walk to shops and restaurants. We will, as usual, be back!

Room Tip: Some of the best rooms are upstairs!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SewallInn, Manager at The Bertram Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear Susan,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Inn. We're delighter that you choose us and that you enjoy our amenities and location. We feel lucky to work in such a nice place with such amazing guests!

Happy Autumn and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Astrid
Innkeeper/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

We stayed just one night at the Bertram Inn in room 10. I am so glad that we were able to spend at least one night. We Lyfted from the airport and arrived without incident. Nice view from the front. 4 steps up to the entry way. We were greeted right away and got checked in. Right off the entry way is the dining space, which has water, tea and coffee all the time. There are also snacks available at all times which was wonderful traveling with a teenager AND given all the walking we did. In addition the milk, they also have almond milk available. We walked up to our room and just loved it! The owner has kept the decorations true and beautiful. Our room had a queen bed with a walk in closet and good sized bedroom. One interesting note is they keep unoccupied rooms' doors open so we were able to take a peek in other rooms as well. They have a DVD library and so we were able to watch a movie before turning in the for the night. We did need some help with all the remotes but that was given graciously. The room has blackout shades which was a lifesaver. The night was quiet and we slept well. Next morning: breakfast. Very very good. Fruit salad, fruits, breads, egg frittata, hard boiled eggs. There is a different entree each morning. We were able to hold our luggage during our tour for the morning and came back for our bags at 3. Such a helpful group. We lacked nothing during our stay; would love to come back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SewallInn, General Manager at The Bertram Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Dear Stephanie and Emma,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience staying with us. We are delighted that everything went so well and that you enjoyed our fabulous rooms, helpful staff, great breakfast, and other amenities. If you decide to go to Northeastern University or any other school in Boston, we look forward to many more visits during orientation, parents weekends', and other school activities. We've truly become like family to many of parents and students at the area colleges and miss them after their four year adventure.
We are glad you got a chance to look at some of our rooms, we deliberately leave open so guests can have a better sense of what we have to offer and start picking their room for their next stay. We wish you both all the best.

Kindest regards,
Dia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews