We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Samuel Sewall Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$157
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$319
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
US$206
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$317
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Boston(Boston)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$266
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$306
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$159
AC Hotels
View Deal
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
102
40
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
40
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesacross the streethot dishwithin walking distancebreakfast was deliciousfresh fruitupgraded roomcaring stafftwo blockssized bedeach morningcheck in was easyair conditioneron site parkinggreat place to staygreen lineparking space
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Cookies are always best! Great breakfast in new England style. Doorman is handsome and warmhearted. 5min walk to "T". However, in winter you need to ask for a heater. I will come back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Located in a quiet neighborhood a block from the "C" T-line (train into downtown Boston), two blocks from Trader Joe's, and a little over 3 blocks to a Peets Coffee shop, this B & B is quiet and reasonably located to Boston University and within walking distance to several restaurants / eateries / drugstores / shopping.
We stayed in room 7, which appeared to be the original Master Bedroom. It was quite large, with a comfortable king-sized bed and private bath with a shower (no tub). The windows open for fresh air in the night and there is a functioning fireplace in the room. All other rooms we viewed while there were pleasantly decorated and a nice size.
Our room didn't have its own temperature control, so we warmed the room (after a night of having the window open) by opening the door into the upstairs landing. I'm not sure what they do to control heat in the summer months; perhaps they have air-conditioning (??). If you are going to be staying during hot months, I'd ask before committing to staying there since Boston can get hot with high humidity.
Breakfasts are just "okay" and the dining area can be quite crowded by between 8 & 9 in the morning; however, we are extremely picky about food! The coffee is so-so (again, we are very picky; others seemed to think both food & coffee was great). Since we were within reasonable walking distance to Peets Coffee, we would go there for coffee and a scone each morning.
Staff was very helpful & pleasant, especially a young fellow named Ali who was working most afternoons.
We would definitely stay at the Samuel Sewall B & B in the future.

Room Tip: Room 7 was terrific! Any of the upstairs rooms seemed to be very quiet and all were nicely decorated. The hotel, in general, seemed to be VERY quiet even though they were close to full occupancy while we were there.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaujangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SewallInn, Manager at The Samuel Sewall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! We sincerely appreciate it.

We're indeed working with the town to create an addition to the common space, but due to this being a historic home/neighborhood, the proximity of our neighbors and their concerns regarding the noise of construction it is taking longer than initially expected. Hopefully we will to be able to offer a larger common space soon. Still, if you ever feel that you are crowded or have any other inquiries or concerns, please talk to the Innkeeper or the overnight Manager. It helps very much to hear from our guests while they are in residence.

Regarding temperature, windows are a great way to cool a room a few degrees, but we have central heat and air conditioning throughout the house. Boston can get very cold and very hot too, especially during the months that bridge two seasons, but we're ready for it! Fans are also available if you care of a nice breeze or just white noise.

We look forward to making our Inn your Home away from Home.

Sincerely,

The Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Recently spent 4 days at this marvelous bed and breakfast. Everyone on the staff and the other guest were soooo friendly and helpful. This is the best home away from home you could ever want. A few of us even had breakfast in the common area still in our PJ's how great is that!!! Super clean, very quiet and so close to mass transit, just a block away hard to believe it was so quiet. Would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: The only tip I can give is to watch the weekend rate changes according to the local activities. We had quite a increase do to the Boston Marathon. So plan the trip and make the reservations as early as possible, before the rate changes for special activities hit the Inn's system. Also let them know of any special things you may need room wise or they have access to discounts on many tickets for local attractions.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I had the most wonderful experience at the Samuel Sewall Inn: I was in town for a job interview, so it was a bit of a stressful situation. The staff was incredibly friendly and went above and beyond to make me feel at home. It was also an added bonus that the inn was so close to public transit. The room itself was very comfortable: I LOVED the bed and the Frette robe! My room (room 3) had a fireplace that I unfortunately did not have time to use. The breakfast was also good, especially the cinnamon rolls! I would not hesitate to recommend the inn to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fancy_muskrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The stuff was great - Glen, Marion, all cleaning help - great people. Breakfast is very good. No temperature issues in Room 9 - very comfy. Great location - close to Trader Joes. Check out restaurant called Lineage - near Trader Joes - excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinamoFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews