We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Samuel Sewall Inn
Ranked #11 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Charlton, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I enjoyed two nights at the Inn recently and could not have been happier. The room was beautiful, quiet and very clean. The breakfast was amazing...every day a different hot entree. The staff was professional and extremely helpful. The location was so convenient to everything in Boston. The green line train was a mere block away. Thanks so much for the perfect getaway!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    37
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
70
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Cookies are always best! Great breakfast in new England style. Doorman is handsome and warmhearted. 5min walk to "T". However, in winter you need to ask for a heater. I will come back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Extreme North Coast of California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Located in a quiet neighborhood a block from the "C" T-line (train into downtown Boston), two blocks from Trader Joe's, and a little over 3 blocks to a Peets Coffee shop, this B & B is quiet and reasonably located to Boston University and within walking distance to several restaurants / eateries / drugstores / shopping.
We stayed in room 7, which appeared to be the original Master Bedroom. It was quite large, with a comfortable king-sized bed and private bath with a shower (no tub). The windows open for fresh air in the night and there is a functioning fireplace in the room. All other rooms we viewed while there were pleasantly decorated and a nice size.
Our room didn't have its own temperature control, so we warmed the room (after a night of having the window open) by opening the door into the upstairs landing. I'm not sure what they do to control heat in the summer months; perhaps they have air-conditioning (??). If you are going to be staying during hot months, I'd ask before committing to staying there since Boston can get hot with high humidity.
Breakfasts are just "okay" and the dining area can be quite crowded by between 8 & 9 in the morning; however, we are extremely picky about food! The coffee is so-so (again, we are very picky; others seemed to think both food & coffee was great). Since we were within reasonable walking distance to Peets Coffee, we would go there for coffee and a scone each morning.
Staff was very helpful & pleasant, especially a young fellow named Ali who was working most afternoons.
We would definitely stay at the Samuel Sewall B & B in the future.

Room Tip: Room 7 was terrific! Any of the upstairs rooms seemed to be very quiet and all were nicely decorate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaujangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SewallInn, Manager at The Samuel Sewall Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! We sincerely appreciate it.

We're indeed working with the town to create an addition to the common space, but due to this being a historic home/neighborhood, the proximity of our neighbors and their concerns regarding the noise of construction it is taking longer than initially expected. Hopefully we will to be able to offer a larger common space soon. Still, if you ever feel that you are crowded or have any other inquiries or concerns, please talk to the Innkeeper or the overnight Manager. It helps very much to hear from our guests while they are in residence.

Regarding temperature, windows are a great way to cool a room a few degrees, but we have central heat and air conditioning throughout the house. Boston can get very cold and very hot too, especially during the months that bridge two seasons, but we're ready for it! Fans are also available if you care of a nice breeze or just white noise.

We look forward to making our Inn your Home away from Home.

Sincerely,

The Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield Twp
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Recently spent 4 days at this marvelous bed and breakfast. Everyone on the staff and the other guest were soooo friendly and helpful. This is the best home away from home you could ever want. A few of us even had breakfast in the common area still in our PJ's how great is that!!! Super clean, very quiet and so close to mass transit, just a block away hard to believe it was so quiet. Would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: The only tip I can give is to watch the weekend rate changes according to the local activities. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland park, nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I had the most wonderful experience at the Samuel Sewall Inn: I was in town for a job interview, so it was a bit of a stressful situation. The staff was incredibly friendly and went above and beyond to make me feel at home. It was also an added bonus that the inn was so close to public transit. The room itself was very comfortable: I LOVED the bed and the Frette robe! My room (room 3) had a fireplace that I unfortunately did not have time to use. The breakfast was also good, especially the cinnamon rolls! I would not hesitate to recommend the inn to my friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fancy_muskrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The stuff was great - Glen, Marion, all cleaning help - great people. Breakfast is very good. No temperature issues in Room 9 - very comfy. Great location - close to Trader Joes. Check out restaurant called Lineage - near Trader Joes - excellent!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinamoFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I'm not normally a B&Ber. I tend to prefer the cold distance and heartless nature of a hotel. Nonetheless, the Samuel Sewall Inn offered the best value in Brookline, so we booked it for a weekend. Our room was large but the temperature was a bit of a problem. The room was extremely hot, leaving the option to open a window to the 20 degree Boston night! Their advice their guide to close the vents didn't help a whole lot. The result was a really hot room that was very cold next to the windows! The beds were just okay and the remote to our TV didn't work (we never called down about it, so I can't complain too much).

Enough nitpicking. They had a small selection of snacks downstairs and drinks (including homemade cookies). It's located next to the T near a nice shopping district. In what little interaction I had with the staff, they were friendly and it was nice and quiet. Just avoid upstairs rooms in the winter!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samuel Sewall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samuel Sewall Inn

Property: The Samuel Sewall Inn
Address: 143 Saint Paul St, Brookline, MA 02446-5247
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samuel Sewall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Boston, the Samuel Sewall Inn serves as an oasis from the hustle of downtown Boston. Located two miles from the heart of the city and one block from public transportation, guests are able to remain close to the cultural and business centers of Boston yet return to the tranquility of a bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Samuel Sewall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samuel Sewall Hotel Brookline
Samuel Sewall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing