We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antique Auto Heavan”

Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum
Ranked #1 of 99 things to do in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This unexpected gem at Wedgewood Resort features a remarkable collection of antique cars and historic fashions, plus entertaining displays on Alaska motoring history. With over 100 vintage outfits exhibited alongside automotive works of art, visitors are treated to a visually stunning trip back to a time when cars and fashion dominated the luxury goods market. The museum's automobile collection features over 85 American-made vehicles, including beautifully restored horseless carriages, nickel touring cars, rakish speedster, elegant classics, and early racecars. From rare marquees like Compound and Argonne to well-known names like Packard and Stutz, visitors will be amazed at the beauty, innovation, and history of these rolling masterpieces. All but a few of the automobiles are driven each summer, making this a true "living museum."Home to more than 600 textiles from the 18th to the Mid-20th Century, the museum presents one of the largest historic fashion collections on permanent display in the Western United States. The exhibits include enchanting examples of men's and women's fashions, from silk bustle dresses and motoring dusters to shimmering flapper shifts and dapper tuxedos. Antique accessories including historic hats, shoes, jewelry, and more complete the scores of vintage elegance. Historic photos and videos located throughout the galleries vividly illustrate the extreme circumstances faced by Alaska's pioneering motorists. Although dreadful road conditions and severe climate were unkind to their vehicles, some of these early cars survived and several are exhibited in the Alaska Gallery. These include the Territory's very first automobile, built in 1905 by a man who had never seen a car before! At the Sourdough Roadhouse, children and adults can don period clothing and climb aboard a 1911 automobile for photographs along the Old Valdez Trail.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed January 7, 2018

One of, if not the best Museum's I have seen. Auto collection dating back to 1898, with clothes on display of the same vintage. Willie was beyond fun and probably could not be more knowledgeable. Worth seeing no question. I will visit again with my family next time in Fairbanks.

1  Thank fishhooks66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsFbx, Manager at Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you plan to visit us again! We can't wait!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"period clothing"
in 97 reviews
"old cars"
in 81 reviews
"amazing collection"
in 39 reviews
"on display"
in 69 reviews
"beautiful cars"
in 23 reviews
"pristine condition"
in 21 reviews
"classic cars"
in 19 reviews
"car enthusiast"
in 17 reviews
"mint condition"
in 16 reviews
"pre wwii"
in 11 reviews
"private collection"
in 11 reviews
"vintage clothes"
in 9 reviews
"wedgewood resort"
in 29 reviews
"audio tour"
in 9 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 16 reviews
"take pictures"
in 16 reviews
"rainy day"
in 9 reviews
Filter

165 - 169 of 989 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2018

This is an antique car museum with cars dating to 1898 through 1934. Each vehicle is in pristine condition along with mannequins dressed in period costumes. There are old photos of transportation on the walls. Excellent signage for each vehicle with a full description and important facts. They even have an onsite shop and parts to bring each vehicle back to its original glory. A must see. It took us over four hours to fully appreciate the entire place. They also had an old period convertible and period clothes you could put on and have your picture taken.

Thank kivec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsFbx, Manager at Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

It makes us so happy to hear that you spent so much time with us and had such a great time! We hope you'll make it back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

My sister took me there for my first visit. It is full of wonderful, amazing things. I am a car lover, and there are so many! Lots of antique clothing to go with the period of the cars. I could have spent a lot more time there. The staff are super helpful and very knowledgeable. Ihopeto go again!

Thank Fearless39350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsFbx, Manager at Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We think they truly make the museum unique!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Loved the museum. Willie is so knowledgeable and has so much to share about the old cars. It was neat to see his passion for them and learn new things. My kids, 13, 11, and 8 enjoyed it as well.

Thank shewmaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsFbx, Manager at Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

We love having kids in the museum! Thanks for spending some of your day with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2018 via mobile

A wonderful museum to visit with friends or family. Great collection of cars many of which were used in Alaska. The clothing displays that match the cars are also very interesting and are something for the ladies as the guys look over the cars. All staff members here are helpful and enjoy talking to visitors about some of the finer details of the cars. Definitely worth a stop and we always bring visiting friends and family here if they are looking to see a unique museum in Fairbanks.

Thank NC0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsFbx, Manager at Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Thank you for bringing your friends and family! We're so glad everyone enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing