We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, landscaping, rooms....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sophie Station Suites
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The nicest place at which we stayed during our 14 day trip!
Clean, large,modern rooms; nice restaurant; great location.
I loved the landscaping; I will always remember the gorgeous flowers all over!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scouternurse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

Sophie Station is convenient to the University, Airport, and the southwest side of town. Fairbanks has limited options to begin with and what I've found is that Sophie Station is not beautiful, and not the world's most comfortable but it is extraordinarily clean, has very good customer service, is reasonably priced, and has a few nice amenities (e.g. all rooms are suites with kitchens).

I've stayed at SS twice. Both times I've stayed in a large room that includes a full kitchen with a full size fridge, stove, and cookware, a living room with a large flat screen HD TV, and a large bedroom with another TV. Even the bathroom includes a large vanity and closet.

The hotel is not stylish and the bed isn't all that comfortable. The bedding is typical polyester hotel bedding that's less than beautiful. However, I have rarely seen a hotel that appears to be as well maintained as SS. The rooms are amazingly clean and everything (furniture, bedding, electronics, etc..) is in perfect condition.

Finally, the service has always been perfectly pleasant with courteous staff and shuttle drivers. Overall, SS is just the kind of place that works for me in Fairbanks - very clean, large rooms, and competent service. I should also mention that the restaurant and bar are clean and nice with decent food options. SS is my hotel of choice in Fairbanks.

Room Tip: I prefer an east view room with the trees visible. Several rooms look out over the parking lot so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Air_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Over a period of what must be close to 10 years now, I have stayed at Sophie's (traveling on business) and I honestly cannot think of a negative experience. The hotel is clean, rooms are comfortable and the staff friendly and accomodating. The lounge is a great place to wind down after a hectic day and the restaurant is fantastic. The food is consistently above average, staff goes out of their way to accomodate and the head chef obviously loves what he does because I've never had a mediocre meal. As someone who travels thousands and thousands of miles each year it is always nice to come back to Fairbanks and Sophie's Station, kind of like coming home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank g c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I have stayed at this hotel for the last 2 years off and on and in the last year or so the food menu has gone sooooooooooooo bad that I go off site to eat. I used to like to eat in the bar since Dan and Joe(the old guy), always gave me such good service. I complained to Darryl the boss but he told me that i needed to be more acceptable to change. He needs to be fired. It's not about what the food guy wants, it should be about what the people who stay at the hotel want. Bring back the good menu and good people who work in the lounge. Lately it's just that old guy and the newbies who dont have a clue. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!! The service sucks lately.

Room Tip: the rooms are nice but the food and service have gone downhill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Sophie Station in Fairbanks is a centrally located hotel with great amenities. Close to UAF, shopping and the downtown area make it a perfect place to stay. The one bedroom suite is perfect for privacy when required. The availability of a full kitchen certainly lightens the load of eating in restaurants on extended stays. Zach's restaurant is the perfect compliment when you do want to eat out.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McTiger57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed in Sophie Station one night on our way to Denali.

This was the best hotel we stayed at while in Alaska. The room was a suite with a full kitchen, living room, balcony and separate bedroom. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast at the hotel was good and reasonably priced for Alaska (where food is pretty costly).

Unfortunately we couldn't spend more time in this Exellent hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gmatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

It was nice to have the extra room, and a kitchen, but there's no food at all - the coffee pot is no different than in a hotel, with only one bag of regular and one bag of decaf coffee. Two teabags, a few bags of sugar and some s&p, so it's not like renting a condo at all. You can walk to a Safeway and Fred Meyer - just down the road.
We were on the 2nd floor, and could hear people walking about above us during the night. Ask for a room on the 3d (top) floor to avoid this. The bedroom is separated from the hallway so that makes it quieter - we didn't hear any noise from the hallway. Everything was very clean and staff was helpful. The wifi worked well. The shuttle took over 15 minutes to pick us up from the airport.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 3d floor to avoid noise above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
6.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.8 km away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,243 reviews
2.3 km away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
0.9 km away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
4.5 km away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophie Station Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophie Station Suites

Address: 1717 University Ave S, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: $117 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sophie Station Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophie Station Suites will impress you with its spacious suites and exceptionally clean accommodations. Wonderful dining options offered for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. Zach's Restaurant offers signature entrees and fresh crisp salads. The Express Room Lounge is a great place to watch sports on the 80" HDTV. Minutes from the University district. Great value for a large suite with a separate bedroom and private balcony. Beautifully landscaped with flower gardens surrounding the hotel facade. Luggage handlers and elevators available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sophie Station Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophie Station Fairbanks
Hotel Sophie Station
Sophie Station Suites Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing