We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, fun and relaxing place to spend your...”
other travellers have booked this property
Northern Lights over Moose Walk Cabin.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Northern Lights over Moose Walk Cabin.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Northern Lights over Moose Walk Cabin.
Moose Walk Cabin night view
Mom and baby moose in stream in front of Moose Walk Cabin.
Cabin entrance
Moose Walk Cabin entrance overlooking water
Front porch
Living room with water view
Dining room
Kitchen
Upstairs with two queen beds and futon--open floor plan
Upstairs with two queen beds and futon--open floor plan
Cloudy Moonlit night over Moose Walk Cabin.
Bathroom with shower/ tub and toilet
Cow moose feeding by cabin
Trumpeter swans feeding by the cabin
View of moose from picture window
Hockey and skate pond right out the front door.  .
Bring your skates--sticks, goals, and pucks provided
Turn here. You've reached Moose Walk Cabin.
Your view of the magical aurora from Moose Walk Cabin window.
Rainbow Grayling fishing is excellent in front of the cabin.  2 canoes and fishing poles are on site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fairbanks, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Rob L
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, fun and relaxing place to spend your time in Fairbanks”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Moose Walk Cabin was an excellent place for our family to base our Fairbanks activities. We arrived late in the day, but the Pangborns greeted us as if we were long-lost cousins. They told us about the cabin, introduced my children to their lovely dog and children, offered us use of their canoe and fishing gear (which we used).

The cabin itself was well decorated and had everything a traveling family would need - great kitchen, television with DVD collection, dining area, nice bathrooms and a washer/dryer. On the summer nights we stayed, 2 moose walked up the stream each evening and gave us our closest look of the trip at these magnificent animals. (We found out the reason the cabin is called Moose Walk.) The beds were comfortable and our family of 5 all found places to sleep.

I can't really say enough about our hosts or the cabin. The Pangborns are excellent hosts and made sure we were very comfortable. The cabin was close enough to Fairbanks so we could see the city, but still felt like we were seeing a part of natural Alaska. I recommend taking the canoe out and going up or down the river.

The Moose Walk Cabin is a lovely place. If you are in Fairbanks, I highly recommend that you stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The access to the waterfront and canoeing with my daughter, seeing moose
Liked least: Saying goodbye
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff K
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
676 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,366 helpful votes
“Great Cabin for Northern Lights”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in late February. The cabin was fantastic - very complete. It had everything you need for a short-term or long-term stay. The owners were very friendly and helpful. It's about a five minute drive to a Safeway and local restaurants.

Our principal reason for visiting the North Pole/Fairbanks area was to see the Northern Lights and we weren't disappointed. We saw them on two of the three nights we stayed there. The lights were extremely good on our last night. We watched them for about an hour on the frozen pond in front of the cabin. They continued for most of the night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happpycam...
portland, or
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Relaxing Cabin Stay”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Spent 4 nights at Moosewalk cabin and I only wish it could have been longer. Terri and Rod were great hosts and have stocked the cabin for comfort. The couch with recliner seats was very comfortable, a great dining room table with seating for six and a well supplied kitchen for making basic meals. Having the Keurig coffee maker was greatly appreciated plus supplied half and half. The wood stove kept the cabin extremely cozy even in -25 degree days that we had. Although, I would recommend slippers as the floor can be cold to bare feet. There is an ample supply of firewood supplies by Rod. There is also another heat source if you don't want to use the wood stove. The upstairs has two queen beds that were very comfortable and the bathroom is well supplied with a nice shower. Rod and Terri were very helpful with suggestions of activities and also generously let us borrow their snowshoes. The cabin is about a 15-20 minute drive to Fairbanks and about 5-10minutets to North Pole where there is a Safeway. The cabin sits on the Chena River slough and faces north. We drove out to more open areas to view the aurora, but you could see it from the cabin as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Extremely comfortable in a beautiful spot, really great cabin.
Liked least: Could have used a softer pillow.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardg8...
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cozy , well equipped, comfortable cabin with friendly and helpful owners”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If you are planning to come to Fairbanks area to see aurora and experience winter near the arctic circle, this is the place to stay!
The owners live nearby are very attentive and try hard to be sure your stay is the best it could be. They are a great resource on local activities or if any problems arise. He is a professional guide and very knowledgeable on all outdoor activities and she is an open, energetic friendly upbeat person who has made sure the cabin is spotlessly clean, tasteful and well equipped with everything you could need.
The cabin is very comfortable with a wood burning stove with an ample supply of seasoned wood. There is also an oil heater if you don't have the time or interest to heat the cabin with wood. Both can keep the cabin very comfortable - even in the frigid temperatures the area routinely experiences ( was minus 20 Fahrenheit nite time and minus 8 day time the week we stayed).
The location is excellent for watching aurora. The sky is dark and clear. Amazing moonlight , stars and aurora. Moose is abundant and routinely seen .The windows in the main room face north and since this is beneath the aurora oval, any activity is usually visible. Nearby are many winter activities and the owners will supply snowshoes -and there is even a wood fired sauna next to the cabin for your use. Wifi was broadband , fast and reliable.cable TV included HBO/Showtime.
We have only visited in the winter, which was really fun, but there clearly are many warm weather activities such as fishing , hiking, hunting, boating etc within a short walk or drive.
I can't describe what a cozy, comfortable well equipped cabin this is.The owners are fantastic hosts and can offer many suggestions if you are looking for an activity or need anything.
The small town of North Pole is very close and has a couple of restaurants and a full service Safeway for groceries etc as well as fuel , fast food etc.
We will be back to see aurora again and will stay at the cabin if it is available (it is frequently booked- another indication of the quality of the place). We are also planning a solstice visit to experience 23+hr daylight and this cabin would be our preference as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: woodstove, comfortable beds
Liked least: hard foam pillows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca
Reviewed January 31, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anchorage
Reviewed January 21, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IL USA
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing